We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Headway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Headway Hotel to your Saves list
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Headway Hotel
Marine Road | East Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Morecambe
derbyshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

we have just returned from this hotel ,we had an enjoyable stay the rooms were very clean ,just wish they provided small bars of soap and shower gel etc but that is a small niggle towels were changed every day so all in all very nice ,it was good to have serve your self breakfast a selection of bacon eggs sausage or black pudding one day we had hash browns beans and real tomatoes not tinned the staff were vey friendly and helpful (hotels down south please take note ) morecombe is a little jaded lots of charity shops !!! but aren,t all towns the same a few closed shops too all in all a nice brake if we ever went back to morecombe would stay there again

Room Tip: we had a sea view room which was over the functtion room so it was quite dont know about those on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The check-in was quick and easy. Room was ok, a bit dated but really clean and fresh towels every day. We had a see view room which was nice too. The bar in the hotel could have done with a bit more choice, we were a bit limited as there wasn't much to choose from.

The best thing about the hotel was the food - very fresh and delicious. Breakfast was good as it is self service and plenty of choice and some choices rotated each morning. The evening meals offered plenty of choice and all were served quickly and efficiently. All four of our party enjoyed the food and thought it was of a very high standard.

It is a shame the hotel is so far out of town - we struggled to walk to and from town easily and it took about 20 minutes to walk there. It would be good if the hotel could put on a people carrier once or twice per night to accomodate the guests.. we would happily have paid for this service as a taxi cost about £5 one way, so we were told.. too expensive for us.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. They were happy to help us if we had any questions and all had a pleasant manner about them, except for one female at the reception desk who didn't even smile or give us a nod any of the times we passed. Each and every one of the young gents in the dining room was friendly and efficient.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenrothes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a holiday with Glenton. All of the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and check in was quick and smooth. Our room was at the rear of the hotel so no sea view. It was quiet however being away from the road.
The room was spacious and although a bit dated was very clean and comfortable,what more can you ask for. The meals served were of a good standard and the best we have had on a coach holiday.A plus point was on arrival we were asked to select our choice for dinner and to name any other guests we wished to be seated with. This resulted in tables for 2,4,6 etc for the duration of our stay,most considerate.
The location of the hotel is some way from the centre of Morcambe but a bus stops outside the hotel every 15mins or so not a problem. A taxi is about £4 into town.
I have read another review which described the Headway as "terrible" Utter rubbish this is a pleasant and well run hotel. Pay no attention to what can only be a malicious review.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor above function rooms can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day break at the Headway with Caledonian Coach Travel. The check in was very quick and porters took cases to the room. Room was very hot but with 3 people in a room and the very hot weather that was to be expected. The food was very good and very well managed. Breakfast was fab and was self service. Entertainment was very good Monday and Tuesday, especially Tuesday with Frank and his accordion what a guy, I wish he had been on for another night. Wednesday and Thursday wasn't that good not really music to dance and sing along too. Staff are very very friendly and very obliging. Woluld definitely stay again. Was originally booked into the Broadway when we got there we were told staying in the Headway. The only problem with this is that the Headway is not in the Caledonian brochure!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The rooms are adequate, clean and tidy. Lovely views over the bay and quiet considering the hotel is situated on the front. The downside was, no coach parties in - therefore no chef on = no food available not even a sandwich. A long day on the road, just to be told there is a mini mart just around the corner for a sandwich. The hotel is situated away from the town, therefore a short drive if you want proper food, a disappointment to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

After reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive about staying here but it was a last minute decision so......
The hotel is a little dated but this some how adds to its charm. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast wonderful - just enough. The views from the hotel are exceptional and are worthy of a five or even ten star rating! Plenty of hot water and rooms lovely, clean and spacious. My only gripe - in the reception and corriders was a stale smell which could be overcome by just opening some windows and well placed air freshners, but our room and our friends room were fine.
We travel to Morecambe several times a year as we're hoping to move there and we'll definately stay at the Headway Hotel again. Thanks to all the staff (especially the guy who was on reception last night who gave us the recommendations).

Room Tip: Room 110 quiet & good views. Room 108 exceptional views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England .. UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is rated 3 * therefore don't expect 5* luxury conditions.
The rooms are adequate, the beds comfortable, the food excellent and the staff very polite and efficient. As a bonus the views over the bay are spectacular. My only complaint was on the evening of the televised England football match against Sweden. A golden opportunity to have a large screen TV in the bar area and the bar would have been well used I am sure. Instead, an "entertainer" was brought in, all the men and most of the ladies left to watch the football in their bedrooms. Those that remained I expect danced round their hand bags in a circle whilst the "entertainer" notched up the volume. The noise was so loud one could not hear the TV commentary of the football in the bedroom on the first floor.

Room Tip: Keep away from the first floor sea view rooms, or take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Headway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headway Hotel

Address: Marine Road | East Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Headway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.