We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel
239 Marine Road, Morecambe, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed overnight on a short break and have been before. The room (9 on the 3rd floor) was a lovely size and had fantsatic views onto the sea and sand. The room is also good for people with children as it links to another room with twin beds.
They have a restaurant, but couldn't fit us in on the night we stayed due to a large party, but they did speak to the people who have a bistro across the road to make sure that we got a meal there - excellent service we thought!
Breakfast was good and they even managed to give my husband gluten free toast without having had prior warning - double brownie points for that!
Only negatives - up 3 flights of stairs and no lift. Also, when you arrive it points you to a reception up some stairs, but the door says private- so it's a bit confusing.
All in all, a lovely place to stay for a reasonable price in a great spot overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
32
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Excellent accommodation and service. Staff very friendly and willing to accommodate requests. Looking forward to returning next year. Views of Morecambe's famous sunset from room 3 - not to be missed!!! Room was first class, very large with en-suite, perfect furnishing.

Room Tip: Any room facing the sea for view of sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I stayed here at the weekend and thought it was lovely. It is so handy, right on the seafront, and the views are amazing. There is a car park right opposite the hotel too, which is handy.

The room was spotless, decorated really nicely. Breakfast was perfect - lovely coffee. Polite friendly staff. I would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Crown is ideal for non-drivers. It's a 7-10 minute walk from Morecambe train station. It's right on the seafront, opposite the famous Eric Morecambe statue. It's a tall/skinny building with rooms on three floors (no lift). Rooms are a decent size, with full/side view of Morecambe bay. Furnished in modern style (neutral tones). Comfortable and clean enough, but not luxurious. Bathroom looked a bit worn. And I would have liked plumper pillows and a firmer mattress. Breakfast was great though. We had the full English. Overall, a decent night's stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Just come back from a weekend away in Morecambe, stayed in numerous hotels in morecambe this is not the typical small hotel room, it is very roomy modern and clean with all modern facilities in a prime location. The breakfast and service was excellent and on the strength of that I have booked again....Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very disappointed. Was expecting a lovely,modern up to date hotel. £170. paid for the weekend.
Breakfast less than average, 1 egg,1 sausage,1 piece of bacon, half a tomato and lukewarm beans. Toast hardly toasted at all. Coffee like mud.
No one offered to carry cases upstairs for us. I asked for something different for brekky and was met with a blank stare. Chef was in a bad mood, hungover from the night before.
Downstairs toilet, attached to the restaurant was poor. My feet were stuck to the floor on the floor covering.
Great position tho for hotel.Very big bedroom. Marvellous views across the bay and in great proximity to the shops also.
Would NOT go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea, Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed here about four years ago immediately after a major overhaul and really enjoyed our stay. So, when it came to visiting family in Morcambe again we had no hesitation in booking the Crown again. Unfortunately the good standard of accomodation we previously experienced first time around has been allowed to deteriorate. There are gaps in the joints in the wallpaper, paint is cracked and flaking, the floors flex and creak, the toilet seat was loose and chipped / cracked; all in all tatty. There are also lots of paper notices all over the walls in the hall and rooms telling you that you will charged £100 if you smoke or £25 if you loose your key. Most none smoking hotels just politely ask guests who break the rules to leave; that's infinitely preferable to having notices threatening retribution all over the walls and I'm a none smoker!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 239 Marine Road, Morecambe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Morecambe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.