We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Balmoral Guest House to your Saves list
The Balmoral Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Morecambe B&B and Inns
barnsley
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A 2 night Deal Monster break, from walking into the venue we were impressed with the clenliness and comfort of the accomodation.
We were in room 11 at the top of the hotel with a fantastic view over Morecambe bay..
Breakfast was of a very high quality and equally well presented..
If we visit Morecambe again we will check availability at this establishment first.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a great view but be aware 3 flights of stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
106
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
longridge lancs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I only stayed at The Balmoral for one night and I was very impressed. I was made to feel very welcome and it was very clean warm and comfortable. I had a lovely cooked breakfast next morning from a very good menu choice. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great room with sea view and facilities. Clean and airy. Great welcome and best poached eggs on breakfast both days! Would definitely come again - thanks :-D
Perfect location for Lancaster and Lakes trips!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Four of us visited Morecambe to watch a football match and decided to stay overnight. My husband chose The Balmoral Guest House at random, but we are so glad he did. This is a gem of a place - the welcome was first class, the rooms are very well fitted out, with everything you could need and the breakfast was superb. We had a sea view from our room, the guest lounge and dining area are extremely comfortable and all-in-all this is somewhere we would definitely recommend and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: A sea view is nice, but not essential. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Balmoral on a two night Groupon deal and decided to time our visit for my Birthday; we received a lovely warm welcome on arrival, had a room with a wonderful view of the bay, the room was spacious, bed comfortable and the en-suite shower was really nice - hot and powerful!
Breakfast was absolutely superb both days (Lee cooked one, Rob the other - both equally brilliant quality!) - cereals, juice, toast and a full English - kept us going until evening!
We enjoyed hours of lovely walks along the promenade and completely chilled out; The Balmoral really did feel so homely and welcoming, we felt like we'd been there far longer than 2 nights - thank you Rob & Lee for your hospitality, we'll return in future and recommend you to family & friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

What a brilliant establishment Rob and Lee are running. Very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was well cooked by Rob but will have to return to sample Lee's, as he maintains
his is better! Were made to feel very welcome, they couldn't do enough.
Only complaint, they kept my husband up till 2am as they decided to have a quiz, thank you boys.
Bar was well stocked and a nice end to the evening. If you are there on a Friday night the Clarendon does an excellent meal deal.

Room Tip: Had a sea view but all rooms were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

wonderful hosts great company .the beds were so comfortable .good food and easy parking
lots of places to eat nearby well stocked bar .we were very comfortable and warm
thanks to rob and lee .see you soon.tansy and bobby

Room Tip: front rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Guest House

Address: 34 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is open all year round and well established and family run, offering excellent cuisine and comfort; and is ideally located for all the amenities of the resort. The guest house is tastefully furnished throughout, with installed double glazing. The thirteen bedrooms comprise of single, twin, double and family rooms; all have tea-making facilities and also have shaver points. Most bedrooms are available with a shower and toilet en-suite. Of course guests have access to our guest house at all times - there are no restrictions. Bedroom and front door keys are supplied to guests upon arrival. Our breakfasts are cooked fresh and within the guest house; and are given compliments on a daily basis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Balmoral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.