We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a realised dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland Hotel - Morecambe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland Hotel - Morecambe to your Saves list
The Midland Hotel - Morecambe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“a realised dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had looked orward to this trip for a long time, it proved to be everything i had hoped for. The hotel was in a stunning position, clean and staffed by people who seemed proud to work there.Tho some of the town looks somewhat shabby, it is worth walkig a bit to find the wonderfull sculptures which are dotted around. It is not all about Eric Morcambe !

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little xtra to see the sea, I had a brilliant view of the Stone pier and slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Bob B

Thank you for a very positive review.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    369
    98
    55
    29
See reviews for
213
954
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stunning hotel. Warm, friendly staff. Superb end-top-floor luxury room (302) with hot tub on huge private balcony. Vast bed. Wonderful views over the bay. Dinner excellent. Good breakfast. Very interesting tour of hotel by the concierge. Easy access to many historic houses and to the Priory at Cartmel.

Room Tip: Top floor suite especially good - can recommend 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Teresa R

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in room 302.
I was delighted to read that this was enjoyable and hope to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thank you to the Midland Hotel for a wonderful afternoon tea for my partner's birthday.

All in all a lovely afternoon, very efficient and friendly staff, fabulous food in a an amazing setting what more could you ask for.

I called this morning to book as we hadn't decided what we wanted to do until last night. The lady asked me if I had any dietary requirements and I said yes, I know its very short notice so will understand if they have difficulties. She said they normally need a bit of notice as they order the food in but she would speak to the chef.

We arrived at 3.15 and were shown to a table with amazing views of the bay in the beautiful sunshine. I mentioned that I'd spoken to the hotel in the morning about the gluten free options. Two towering cake stands arrived one for each of us and mine was all gluten free with an amazing selection.

The service, care and attention to detail is something that is in short supply these days. The last time I was in the hotel was around 25 years ago at a ball and the hotel has been tastefully and beautifully restored. Its absolutely fabulous and we are thinking of booking a stay for a couple of days later in the year and look forward to coming back. I'll also be back with friends for afternoon tea... lovely. Would highly recommend the Afternoon Tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear lindylouXK8

Thank you for reviewing your visit to The Midland for afternoon tea.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.


Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Always wanted to stay in this hotel when I found out it was being restored. Wow! I was not disappointed. It was like stepping back in time as soon as you walked through the front door. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very quirky and some of the gadgets were fantastic. We had champagne on ice in our room and a beautiful view over Morecambe Bay. We had dinner both nights, and both nights the food was gorgeous. Breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: Any of the sea view rooms a great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Judith A

Thank you for a great review of your anniversary stay at The Midland.

I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights in April. This art deco hotel is well situated with wonderful views over the bay , enjoying wonderful sun sets from the fabulous restaurant, whiuch serves delicious food with attentitive staff. Only crticism was (room 107 ) the double bed is quite small . however the staff very efficiently moved all our belonging to a better room

Room Tip: Avoid 107 , unless you like to be VERY close !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear snowyrob

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back very soon

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The iconic Midland.The very essence of old fashioned style and great service.The staff are all very friendly and helpful.The restaurant food is second to none,and what can I say about the hotel itself?The rooms are all clean and comfortable and the public areas are beautiful,stylish and elegant.Step back in time to an era when it really mattered what people thought,but with a modern twist.We love it and will return as much as we can!The views are to die for as well.This was our 6th.visit and it was just as good as the first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear 687 PatM

Many thanks for a great review of your latest visit to The Midland.
I was glad to read that you are still enjoying your stays with us and please do not hesitate to contact me prior to a future stay so that I can ensure this is just as memorable.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A really very nicely set-up hotel. The restoration work undertaken has been done sympathetically, the charm and ambience well retained from the original 30's build. We enjoyed fine weather, and glorious views across the bay from the restaurant during the evening meal. Book a table early 7-8pm to enjoy this, space may be limited.

The Rotunda bar provided pleasant more casual dining, where the food queality was as good as the main restaurant. Try the Tapas selections! One board is good for 2 as a starter. Staff were attentive, hotel and rooms very well appointed. Bedrooms with sea view balcony worth seeking out. Look for a room down at the ends of the corridors as nearer the stairwell any ground floor party noise drifts up quite loudly until midnight and may disturb.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view worth paying for. Ask for those towards ends of the corridor away from central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Nordicstar284

Many thanks for a great review of your recent stay at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland Hotel - Morecambe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel - Morecambe

Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland Hotel - Morecambe 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Midland Hotel - Morecambe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.