We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Midland Hotel - Morecambe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Midland Hotel - Morecambe to your Saves list
The Midland Hotel - Morecambe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really enjoyed 2 nights at the Midland using kgb deals which meant our stay was about half the normal price. The hotel is beautiful - it's like stepping back in time - fantastic foyer with spiral staircase and lovely room with quirky features ( took a while to find the hidden toilet !) Loved the retro music and the staff were great ,efficient and friendly. Morecambe is a bit drab -we took a train to Lancaster and had good day there as the weather wasn't good enough for our planned walk along the coast to Heysham. Definately watching out for the kgb deal next year .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear ElaineandChris40

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your stay at The Midland.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    371
    99
    55
    29
See reviews for
214
957
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in March 2013. Such a fantastic hotel. We stayed 2 nights Friday Saturday. This Art Deco certainly lives up to it's name with many quirks and features. The history behind the hotel and how it's was restored certainly gives it a very special feel. Parts if the original decor remain and the hotel is reminiscent of the 1920 and I could imagine walking down the grand stairway to the charleston. The food is excellent and the service second to none. We eat in both the restaurant and the rotunda bar and have no complaints about either. Best of all the staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. We were served by a family of a mum and her boys who all worked there, such lovely manners.
Usually when we do hotel stays we select one with leisure facilities, the midland doesn't have this but you can use their sister hotel in Lancaster. We decided not make the journey to this and instead took a brisk walk on the seafront.
Overall an enjoyable stay and will definately return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Tina M

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay and for your kind comments which I will share with the team as a whole, and those mentioned in particular.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent one night here as a special treat for my daughter's birthday. Our art deco themed room was really spacious with a balcony giving us a fabulous sea view over Morecambe bay . The beds were very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Bathroom was clean with a powerful shower , some lovely smelling toiletries and enough big fluffy towels.We also had a laugh trying to find the toilet when we first went into the bathroom as it is cleverly concealed in a sort of cupboard with the wall pulling out to become the bathroom door so keeping the art deco panelling across one wall.
We had afternoon tea in the terrace restaurant which again has fantastic sea views and we really enjoyed the dainty sandwiches , warm scones and selection of cakes. There was so much we didn't actually clear our plates which must be a first for us two and the staff did offer to pack the rest up for us.
My daughter and I had booked a relaxing pamper day in the spa and that turned out to be really good value as lunch in the terrace restaurant was included along with 4 treatments so making it a really special day all round.
I really cannot find anything negative to say about the hotel itself at all but there are reasons why we would probably not go back.
The first is that at the other hotels we have stayed at for the birthday treat weekend we have enjoyed the full 'spa ' experience with access to a swimming pool, jacuzzi , sauna etc and the 'spa ' at the Midland is really more like a beauty salon albeit a very nice one .
The second reason is our disappointment at the resort of Morecambe . I have not been for many years and I was suprised at how run down it seems to be, We went for a stroll in the evening and the only interesting feature was the view over the bay towards the hills of the Lake District. I don't know if it livens up a bit in the summer season but when we were there [ March ] it was dead. Where are the tearooms / coffee shops , bars ,individual character shops ? We had to use google whilst walking on the prom to find somewhere to buy some chips ! At the
seaside !
I am sorry to be so negative but it really put us off returning to what is a really nice hotel in a beautiful scenic setting that is sadly let down by the resort.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with sea view even have binoculars provided !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mary J

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Midland.
We are always delighted to provide information on recommended places to eat and visit in both the local area and further afield and I do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent stay from the moment we stepped through the doors. Beautiful property offering stunning views. Clean rooms with quality fittings, comfortable bed and super shower. Food excellent, staff very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Sea view, watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear WestcliffeBlackpool

Many thanks for an excellent review of your recent stay at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

afternoon tea at the midland on sunday, wonderful views polite staff ,food really nice. There was a party on in the next room which made it really nice music good but not sure everyone was happy about that. just a shame there was a huge cobweb dangling above us, but will be going back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear greatholsagain

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our third time visiting The Midland and each time has been great. We checked in really early and so, understandably, our room wasn't quite ready. We dropped our bags and the friendly receptionist called us about an hour later to say the room was ours. We booked a standard room but were lucky enough to get a corner in room 121, this had 3 windows, one of which gave a great view of the bay. Room was spotless as always, with the usual complimentary selection of teas coffee and biscuits, bathrobes, and quality toiletries.

It would be a waste to stay at The Midland and not try the restaurant for dinner, great quality food with top marks to the chef and his/her team for creating some dishes which would rival those of Michelin starred establishments. The menu has changed slightly each time we have visited so has never proved boring.

It has to be said the there isn't a lot else which brings us to Morecambe, but the Midland has made a destination in itself. If you like a walk you could spend the day walking along the bay and the canal to Carnforth which is a really nice walk (about 2 hours each way), or to Hexham which is about an hour along the coast in the other direction. There is a tourist office directly opposite the hotel for some other suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear SheldonB14

Thank you for taking the time to review your third and most recent stay at The Midland.
I was delighted to read that this was just as enjoyable as your previous visits and hope to welcome you back for a fourth stay very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from a birthday treat off my boyfriend. I had no idea where we were going or staying. On pulling up to the hotel I wasn't sure what to think, but from the minute we walked in I got it! Fabulous hotel, like no where I've ever stayed before. Amazing room, amazing views and top notch food. Definitely up there with one of the best hotels I've stayed in. I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear missbeeb

Thank you for a very positive review of your recent birthday stay at The Midland.
I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Midland Hotel - Morecambe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel - Morecambe

Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland Hotel - Morecambe 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Midland Hotel - Morecambe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland Hotel - Morecambe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.