We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Welcome to North Yorks: The Manse is a Gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Manse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Manse Hotel to your Saves list
Old Manse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Welcome to North Yorks: The Manse is a Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I visited The Manse in late-February and had the very best introduction to North Yorkshire hospitality that I could have hoped for. Valerie and her team made me very welcome when I arrived after a lengthy journey, and I felt at home right away. The Hotel is spotless, warm (on a wintery February evening), perfect for a good night's sleep, and the breakfast was lovely. The breakfast room/restaurant is a highlight: a sun-filled conservatory which overlooks a very attractive garden. Overall, a lovely stay!

Room Tip: I had a spacious twin-room which as well as large front windows, had an east-facing side window givi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review - we were thrilled to read it.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    36
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
99
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We took two of our elderly neighbours to lunch at the old manse. The food was delicious ,all local products ,the service was perfect and we were not rushed and were allowed to choose our own pace. This isexceptional service on leaving we were met by the owner and she asked if we had enjoyed our meal ,the rating says it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really do appreciate
it. I glad you enjoyed the food I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

A group of 20 had Christmas lunch here today. All the staff were extremely friendly and obliging. We were given use of a ground floor bedroom for coats and extra bathroom facilities.The food was delicious with a choice of starters which included a trio of prawns, prawn cocktail, king prawns tail on with chilli sauce and breaded spicy prawns with a mint dip. The pate was also well received. 3 roasts were available all served with yorkshire puddings and a salmon en croute ( I chose this as a light option!!) which would have fed two and a small child. The vegetables were plentiful and included the best roast parsnips I've had in ages - really crispy outside and soft and tasty within. The sweets were innovative and not too heavy - I tasted a friend's chocolate pudding filled with black cherry sauce and there was also a trio of sweets available if you were undecided. The whole experience was so well received we are booking for next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write, I was thrilled to read your lovely
review. A very happy Christmas to you all.

Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirriemuir
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Better late than never,,,we had a lovely stay at Valeries in the summer,as usual it was first class,best breakfast and very nice room. A nice room but would have prefered more of the windows to open and maybe the gardener could start work a bit later 0:) We will be back again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review - I was thrilled to receive it.
Will try and get the gardner to start a bit later - and lets provide you with a room with more windows. Take care and Happy Christmas Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is a gem! As soon as you enter the front door you are welcomed into the living area for tea and biscuits. The staff are warm, welcoming and very friendly, you come away feeling you have known them for years!
The food is superb, breakfasts are unbelievable with every choice you could possibly imagine, and vegetarian evening meals amazing - always 3 choices for veggies every night, and always different - you wouldn't want to go out for the evening with this choice.
Warm, comfortable and peaceful and ideally situated for the Pickering to Whitby railway. My room had a lovely view over the rear garden and orchard. Lovely, to be warmly recommended, and I would definitely return when in this area. Roaring log fire for after dinner makes it a perfect end to the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Comfy room with nice views over garden. Clean and tidy. En suite was prectly adequate with great shower. Breakfast cooked freshly. Dinner is excellent - how can it be so hard to pick one from three for each course? Lovely.

Room Tip: Opt for 2nd floor at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again to the Old Manse
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What an incredible place. The best B and B we have ever stayed in. Valerie honored a Groupon voucher almost a year after purchase as we could only stay on a Saturday, she could have easily refused. All of the staff team were incredibly friendly and this was natural and not a customer service trained fake friendly either. The whole team could not do enough for us, a totally personal service. It was the most relaxed, friendly place we have stayed in, we felt really at home.
Afternoon tea was delicious with more tea than we could drink, hot scones, cake and some beautiful Lavender jam. We made the most of the open fire in the communal lounge and were made very welcome with the fire regularly checked and extra logs put on.
The 3 course Evening meal was lovely and Valerie couldn't have done more to ensure we enjoyed it. There was even a little quiz thrown in for good measure.
Breakfast was wonderful, with more options than we could eat, fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast, endless toast and drinks.
When we asked to book again for next year we were even taken to the room so we could see it before confirming our choice.
Thanks you to Valerie and all the team there, we couldn't recommend you enough and see you in the new year!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in on the top floor might not suit everyone due to the sloping roof, but we thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review we were thrilled to read. it and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Kind regards Valerie


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Manse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Manse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.