We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygiene issues and dog hair found in breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Manse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Old Manse Hotel to your Saves list
Old Manse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hygiene issues and dog hair found in breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

There were a few issues that were a little bit concerning to us during our stay. They were mainly around hygiene in the dining area in the conservatory at the back of the house. The blinds which run throughout the sloping ceiling of the conservatory had lots of dead insects which were clearly visible when the light shone through, I appreciate that these furnishings cannot be cleaned every day but with so many it felt that they hadn't been cleared for quite some time.

Also the tablecloths weren't exactly spotless, there were some stray hairs on them - each morning, not great really. And the worse thing was that there was a dog hair found in my breakfast - no it wasn't wire wool, and yes I could have complained but I had lost my appetite there and then and wouldn't have eaten another thing from that kitchen.

These issues really let our whole experience down. The house is actually nice, with ample parking at the back and guestrooms were well furnished. The house is well located and a short walk to town. Staff were courteous and pleasant, and they gave us a pot of tea on arrival which was nice. The kettle provided in our room left a lot to be desired though - see photos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
I have already responded to this complaint it keeps appearing - the reviewer seems to
delight in complaining, I have already answered his queries in several e-mails. somebody who
stayed in April and complained in July and then again in September same complaint has a grudge. Our blinds are clean tablecloths changed twice a day and furnishings professionally
cleaned - the blinds were down in April for redecoration. I have cpomplained to trip advisor about this review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    37
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
101
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having stayed one night over halloween last year, we had no doubts about staying again at the Old Manse after a day trip on the North Yorks Moor railway. We asked to drop bags in early and found that our room had been made ready for us even before 11am and we were able to use it and park the car at the back. Valerie and her team are extremely helpful and polite, and the breakfast was delicious and well above average. Last time we had the room with the 4 poster, which was already booked this time, but the room we had was clean and tidy with plenty of space, and very comfortable. We travel a fair amount, and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review - we do appreciate you taking the time
to write one. It was lovely to see you both again - even the weather was kind.

Take care Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were orgianally supposed to be visiting The Old Manse in March through a Groupon promotion, however unfortunately we had to postpone our trip to due family circumstances. We rang Valerie to tell her my in-laws would be staying instead of us, however she was so kind and said we could visit at anytime, so we re-arranged our trip for our anniversary in August. Both of us were so greatful for this and couldnt wait to visit.
Upon arrival we were greated by a lovely young lady who showed us to our room-which was very spacious with a lovely view of the garden. She gave us the directions to town -which is a 5 minute walk away with all the local attractions.
Valerie and her staff are all so friendly and kind, which really made our stay all the more enjoyable.
The Old Manse is spotlessly clean and the food was outsatanding (breakfast and dinner) and nothing was too much trouble. Have already reccomended here to several family and friends and only left on thursday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we were thrilled to receive them, and so was
Katie, who showed you up to your room. It was lovely meeting you both, and I hope this year
will be a good one for you and your family.

Take Care,
Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A party of us stayed in July and were pleased with our choice. It is in an ideal position for visiting the North Yorkshire Railway as it is a short walk to the station, leaving behind your car in the secure car park.Our rooms were fairly large with good views over the countryside. We had tea and biscuits on arrival and a good nights sleep as it was very quiet.The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. Breakfast was excellent. A huge choice and amazing quality in a wonderful sunny conservatory.
The gardens were very pretty with good patio furniture and would have been nice to sit in if the weather had been better.
I only had two complaints which I should have voiced but couldn't locate the owner at the time.One was a high chair that had old food smears on the side of the tray and the fabric was mouldy where attempts had been made to wash it. The other was a large pile of dog dirt on the lawn which wasn't too nice with a toddler running around.
The owners and staff were very nice and friendly and but for these two points,which could easily be addressed, it would have had 5 stars. However I always try to be truthful with reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write a review. I have taken note
of your comments and can only apologise for these slips in our service to you. I will take
the matters up with the staff involved. We did have a guide dog resident during your stay
and this may have been the cause of the second cause for concern, thanking for bringing
them to my attention. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbernauld
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A return vist to the Old Manse and it did not disapoint, the rooms were were very clean and well presented, and Valerie and her staff once again could not have been more freindly or helpful.
The food was fantastic yet again, Valerie offers an amazing range or very varied and imaginative options for all 3 courses as well as a huge breakfast selection, far better than many of the big city hotels I have stayed in on business !

All in another great break and I can not rate Valerie and the Old Manse too highly

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel tend to be cooler, although those at the back have views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
It was lovely to see you all again, I am glad you enjoyed yourselves, hope things were ok
when you got home. We were thrilled to receive your review. Hope we will see you all
again. Take care Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 nights at The Old Manse. It was suggested to us by my sister in law as we were visiting Pickering for her Ruby Wedding celebration.
My husband was very pleased with the off road secure parking and we were both delighted with the welcome we received after a long and tiring drive in awful weather. Having been shown to our room a tray of tea was brought up to us and we were told about times of meals, and where to find the road where our relatives lived.
The room itself was not large, but spotlessly clean with everything we needed, likewise the shower room.
Breakfast was excellent. A buffet of "starters" and juices then whatever one wanted, from the menu, cooked. I have a very small appetite, but my bacon, mushrooms and tomato was exactly what I wanted and was delicious.
All the staff were helpful and friendly, so it was rather like staying with friends.
Luckily the weather improved so we were able to sit outside and admire the wonderful honeysuckle.
All in all an excellent stay and we look forward to visiting The Old Manse again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we enjoyed meeting you both and hope we
have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is small but the welcome very big. The twin room was nice, although another chair would have been useful although no room for it. Bathroom lovely and clean, goodies plenty. We had booked half board and can honestly say that the evenong meal was excellent, and very plentiful. It was quality in all areas, delicious, served beautifully, and plentiful. The staff are very friendly and caring. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Secure parking is a real asset.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we enjoyed meeting you, and thank you for taking time
to write such a lovely review. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Manse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Manse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.