We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivers Mill

Vivers Mill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vivers Mill
Save
You added Vivers Mill to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Mill Lane, Pickering YO18 8DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I have been using this hotel for the last decade or so and have always received excellent service. This visit proved to be no exception to the usual high standard of service.
We stopped in room 4 on this occasion which, as usual is large, spotlessly clean and well maintained. The hospitality tray was topped up each day and the breakfast is always perfectly cooked with a good variety of cereals and main courses to choose from.
I shall be returning again and would recommend you to stay if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived on a very cold Good Friday to a lovely warm welcome from our hosts. The whole weekend was the coldest we have ever experienced over many Easter breaks to North Yorkshire. The guest house was warm as toast and the filling breakfasts set us up for the days on the Moors chasing Steam Trains. Roll on our next break here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent place to stay, warm and friendly welcome from the owners which continued throughout our stay. Luxurious room with everything we needed, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, anything we wanted and any amount. All cooked to perfection. Would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend for anyone else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

From the first contact and swift response via e-mail I was impressed with Vivers Mill and the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts. I received a reply later the same evening confirming their availability and with the usual check-in and check-out times, and when asking about the possibility of arriving earlier and leaving some luggage and vegetarian breakfast options they were very accommodating!

We received a warm welcome on arrival, showed round the old converted mill, asked what time we'd like breakfast in the morning and given the key to the door - from there on we were free to come and go as we pleased! It so happened that the night we were there we were the only people staying, and so we were offered the largest room in the house (4 beds for two of us!) at no extra cost!

We spent the day on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway (the mill is only a 10 minute walk from the NYMR station) and came back to a very comfortable bed and high quality furnishings and linen. The hot chocolate and free biscuits were a nice touch in the room, and it was lovely and peaceful all evening, no disturbances at all! The breakfast in the morning was excellent - cereals, juices, yoghurt, tea and coffee for starters whilst our host cooked our breakfast to order, and cooked it to perfection! The dining room was a lovely space, featuring the old water mill, and with lovely decor and crockery. An excellent overnight stay, I'd recommend it without hesitation!

Room Tip: Room 8 is the largest room in the house - one double bed and two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Vivers Mill is full of character. We stayed for 7 nights the B&B is central to a lot of the Yorkshire sites and places of interest. Our room was very comfortable with great facilities. We had lovely big breakfast each day it was always consistantly good, the eggs were always cooked to perfection, every which way. Hosts friendly and pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The true test of a B&B is a warm welcome without being intrusive. We had a wonderful couple of nights despite the weather - well furnished bedroom, comfortable sitting room to relax in and a great breakfast to start the day with in a room overlooking the original mill machinery.

Really pleasant owners - we'll be back and have already told friends to make a detour.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Wonderful old converted flour mill, within easy 10 minute stroll of the centre of Pickering. Quiet, peaceful location. Rooms very clean with attention to detail, hosts very friendly. Super base for touring the attractions of North Yorkshire. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivers Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivers Mill

Address: Mill Lane, Pickering YO18 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivers Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Vivers Mill Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivers Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.