We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cawthorne House

Cawthorne House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cawthorne House
Save
You added Cawthorne House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
UNITED KINGDOM
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

stayed at Cawthorne for the first time for the 60's weekend - have laready booked to go back again! Fabulous welcome to homemade banana cake and tea - wonderful room, the biggest bed I have ever seen - so comfortable it was very hard to get up in a morning - the breakfasts are to die for - best of everything. Jayne and Steve welcomed us into their beautiful home - it was by far the best B&B we have ever stayed at. Jayne has thought of everything - every little extra touch is very thoughtful and special - we had a lovely stay and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBarrow, Owner at Cawthorne House, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi there Shirley and John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review....and such a glowing one at that! (Thank goodness!) Steve and I also want to thank you so much for the card and gift you left behind. It was very kind of you - the little butterfly has already found a home in 'your' room :)
I look forward to seeing you both again in October...

with our very warm wishes

Jayne and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

this is our second visit and will not be our last we had the same room as before it is such a great place to stay Jayne the owner is so nice n friendly and rooms are beautifully decorated breakfast is scrumptious and Betty the dog is the most friendly and cutest dog ever dont want to leave but must but cant wait to come back again. xxxx

Room Tip: super king bed large room n large walk in shower en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBarrow, Owner at Cawthorne House, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Tracey,

Thank you so much for once again writing a warm and positive review about Cawthorne House. It was lovely to see you and Geoff again and we hope it isn't too long before we welcome you back to our home.

Take good care of yourselves

Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We found this B&B thro I know Yorkshire website, ( I think). Cawthorn is an an immaculate period house very cosy, our room was lovely nice decor and really clean! Steve and Jayne were lovely really welcoming, along with the dog Betty who was gorgeous and our breakfast was superb, on the downside, traffic noise, as it was on the main road and didn't have double glazing, and our bed was really hard, but all in all we enjoyed our stay. It is literally minutes from Flamingo land too as this was how we spent our last day. Pickering was lovely too, we didn't have time to do the steam train journey but plan to do so on our next visit as the trains we saw were really impressive, and We visited Helmsley on our way down which is a little Gem of a place just past Sutton bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house if possible just for the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneBarrow, Owner at Cawthorne House, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Tracey,

Thank you so much for once again writing a warm and positive review about Cawthorne House. It was lovely to see you and Geoff again and we hope it isn't too long before we welcome you back to our home.

Take good care of yourselves

Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently. We were a party of 4 couples and everyone was of the same opinion regarding high quality of furnishings in each room. The breakfast selection was excellent with juices, fresh fruit bowl cereals and full English cooked breakfast. Fantastic sausages! The owners were also extremely helpful and next time we are in the vicinity we shall certainly book in again. Much better than some hotels and centrally positioned for lots of eating choices.
What more can I say! Only minor downside was rooms at front a little noisy as on a busy road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The host Jayne was very welcoming and made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. Have the full English breakfast. Second to none. The home made flapjack and shortbread yummy!
Would advise that if eating out in pickering to be aware that unless takeaway most pubs stop serving food at 9pm and restaurants close at 11pm

Room Tip: Kirkdale room at the rear over looks the lovely courtyard. Very quiet. It was an emaculate room well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by Jayne who made us feel very welcome . we felt like guests in her home instead of paying customers . what a welcome change . Breakfast set us up for the day which is what a full English breakfast should do . We found her lovely dog Betty a lovely addition as well as we had lost our own dog a short while ago . We would be returning to Cawthorne in the future Jackie and Gary Holmes

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

a very enjoyable week end made more so by Jayne and the entire family . If you need to relax and a wonder around the town its ideal . We will be going back again . A delicious breakfast , and very high standard rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cawthorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cawthorne House

Address: 42 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cawthorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jayne and Steve would like to welcome you to their home, Cawthorne House, a recently renovated and luxuriously appointed Victorian Grade II listed building, situated within walking distance of the town centre of Pickering. All 5 rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, hospitality trays and are individually furnished to the highest standards. We accredited by the UK Tourist Board and are 4star Silver award winners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cawthorne House Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cawthorne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.