We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Inn to your Saves list
The New Inn
Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed ovenight at the New Inn, the room was comfortable with a pleasant view of the car park. The evening meal was good although we felt the menu a little unimaginative. Breakfast in the morning catered well for our needs. Unfortunately the brewery tour started at 11:00 for an hour so we had to give that a miss and apparently it was already fully booked - pity as the beer brewed and sold at the pub was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky1111Rocky, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing The New Inn for your overnight stay. I am glad that you had an enjoyable time. We are just in the process of completing our more extensive summer menu, so if you are ever over this way again I hope you get the chance to try some new dishes & join us on one of our guided tours of the brewery!
Kind regards Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    52
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
25
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were staying in the area and decided to drop into the New Inn on our way back from a day out on the NYM Railway about 5pmish.
We were attracted by the word - family on the main sign.
When we walked in the family room was all sealed off and the curtains drawn.
We then went to the bar. My family stayed (all under 14) near the door whilst I went to the bar to order some drinks.
It was like walking into the pub in the movie - "American Werewolf in London".
Everything stopped.
The group of men at the bar started staring at me and the barmaid in particular.
I was left fealing very uneasy.
I was then advised by one of my boys that that there was a small sign on the door saying that children under 14 were not welcome in the bar.
We took the drinks outside and drank them at the outside table at less than 5 deg C.
The girl behind the bar didnt say anything when I went to the bar.
We then left.
I appreciate the customers were the one that made us unwelcome but if I knew what the welcome was going to be like I would have turned the car round and left.
This was half term holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky1111Rocky, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit.
As a family run business, with 3 generations living and working on site we welcome everybody and try to make sure that everyone has a positive experience. The Conservatory/ family room that you mention unfortunately does tend to be closed at this time of year, we tend to open it Easter onwards along with the bar that we have down there. We do however have a cosy upstairs restaurant that is open to everyone year round, a little lounge close to the bar that a lot of families use, as well as a pool & games room. Well behaved children are more than welcome in the bar at any time.
We can sometimes be a confusing building, but we have helpful and friendly staff who are happy to help, you just need to ask.
I hope that sometime in the future you will come back and get a chance to experience our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. We had the room in the cottage, which was very clean and comfortable. We were shown around the brewery and had a friendly and informed tour by our guide, as well as a chat with the brewer. Afterwards we spent a cozy few hours in the bar, sampling the excellent ales they brew. Dinner was good, breakfast wonderful. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Purchased a Groupon Voucher for the brewery tour with hubby and two friends. Arrived early to have lunch which was very good but over priced. Starters very small and expensive. Main meals freshly cooked again a little pricey. Tour pleased I did not pay full price but we all enjoyed it our guide was pleasant, very informative and gave a little banter. A free pint and a bottle to bring home made it great value. The two men in our party enjoyed tasting all the real ales on offer starting before we went on the tour.A good and pleasant day out.Staff very pleasant and welcoming. For a pub in an isolated place it was very busy both for drinkers and meals being served on a lunch time.
One last comment the whole place could do with some redecoration and a painting outside.The out side gives the first impression to people as what to expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The main attraction is the extensive range of beers (and a lager) brewed on site. if you can't decide then ask for the samples - 3 x third pint selections. Food is home cooked and well priced. Staff friendly and informed on the beers and local area. Also has a pool table. Dogs & children welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very warm welcome on a cold, snowy night!
Excellent dinner, for about £10 for a main course (specials cost more). I had the scampi, which was a generous portion, served with a good-side salad and wonderful home-made chips.
My husband went for the (unusual!) pork pie, black pudding, mushy peas, apple sauce, salad and crusty bread! He absolutely loved it!
I would thoroughly recommend this place. An unpretentious village pub with lovely staff and really good food.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went for Sunday dinner last week and chose to sit in the bar area. Extremely warm welcome from staff and locals alike. Chose a couple of cheeky pints of the home brewed ale. They tasted fantastic, my wife had white wine which she said was vile so switched to vodka instead. Had steak and ale pie which was crammed with steak and ale as you would hope! My wife has duck which was cooked to perfecion. The food is not cheap, but i dot mind paying for quality food, which undoubtedly this was. Thank you, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a traditional, relaxed, family run pub based in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors. We pride ourselves on offering quality food, drink and accommodation, with an atmosphere you can escape to and thoroughly enjoy. We offer a delicious, varied menu, which is made with mouth-wateringly good, home-cooked food from the best local ingredients. You can be sure of good pub grub whether you fancy a bite to eat at lunch or an evening meal in our bar or restaurant. If you would like to extend your stay and enjoy our relaxing atmosphere for longer we offer both B&B, and self-catering accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Pickering
The New Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.