We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to returning here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of August Guest House

August Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
August Guest House
Save
You added August Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Plane Trees | Rosedale, Pickering YO18 8RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Looking forward to returning here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night when attending a wedding at Danby Castle. I have to say I liked the stay here more than the wedding venue.

Michael and Mary are welcoming and very good company with an excellent sense of humour. The room is comfortable, the breakfast probably better than any hotel, so what more could you want?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hi, my son Ian and I have stayed with Mary and Michael for the past three years, and would not contemplate staying anywhere else. We are assured of a really good welcome, and the conversation will more or less carry on from the previous visit. Certainly home from home, if not even better. Ian and I walk to the village (good walk there, up-hill, getting rid of excess calories, on the way back), each time Michael has made reservations for us at the local pub. We certainly cannot speak highly enough of Mary and Michael, or the accommodation, certainly first class. Thank you both, and hope to see you again the first week of August in 2013. Regards to you both, Ched and Ian Quarry

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely comfortable and really quiet. Very peacefull and tranquil for a good nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at August Guest House for one night this week, after a long drive down from Aberdeen. Michael and Mary made us extremely welcome, and our room was spotless. Breakfast next day was excellent too. The Davies excel at what they do and are everything that is good about this country's tourist industry.

We would not hesitate to use this Guest House again

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After a longgggggggggggggg walk in the wind and rain, we were picked up promptly by Mr. Davies. He came into The Lion to get us, sparing us more time spent in the rain. He acted as a tour guide as we drove to the guest house. After cleaning up, he took us to a local pub and went in with us to tell the people that they should call him when we were done with dinner and he would come back for us. The house was lovely with a lot of nice touches.....a nice lounge with books, pictures, TV, etc. The bathroom was great, too. The food was great, served in a sun room with a lovely view. We had tea upon arrival. Our packed lunch lasted us for two days. Just wonderful memories of our night at The August Guest House!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived at the Lion Inn (on the Coast to Coast) in pouring rain! Michael turned up really promptly to collect us and was totally unphased by the fact we were all absolutely soaking. Mary put all our wet things to dry over the Aga and made sure we had tea and biscuits at once. They arranged dinner at the local pub and drove us there and back - no bother. Breakfast was superb as was the homemade packed lunch. In the morning Michael happily drove us to the starting point for the walk and was kindness itself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The August Guest House is a fine B&B to stay at on your C2C hike. Michael will pick you up at the lion Inn and drive you back in the morning. He will also bring you to a pub of your choice in the evening for dinner. The rooms are very nice and big. I would stay here again if I get back to this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Warm welcome by Mary and Michael. Hosts attentive and good hospitality, breakfast and packed lunch excellent. Prompt pick-up from walk and drop-off the following morning.plus return transport to pub for evening meal. Great service. Nice to sit in garden on a suuny evening and observe the bird life.We slept well in comfortable bed with good ensuite. The room itself was quite compact. Pity about the drifting smell of cigarettes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to August Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Guest House

Address: Plane Trees | Rosedale, Pickering YO18 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Hotel Class:4 star — August Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
August Guest House Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage August Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.