We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beansheaf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beansheaf to your Saves list
Beansheaf
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Malton Road | Kirby Misperton, Pickering YO17 6UE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We'd planned to stay in Whitby but not having booked anything and it being a bank holiday we were disappointed. We'd stopped off the the Beansheaf en route just for a coffee and thought it seemed nice so we gave them a call. We got the last room available - lucky us.

It's a lovely hotel with wonderful staff - all very friendly and (a rarity these days) people who genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs and take a pride in providing good service.

The room was nicely decorated, the origami towels were in the shape of a dog - complete with black nose and eyes.... and the complimentary hospitality tray had a lovely selection of herbal and fruit teas, as well as J20 (they think water is boring) and nice biscuits! What more could you ask.

We had intended to go into Pickering for dinner but settled in with a good bottle of wine and a couple of Bombay Sapphire G&T's and the meal certainly didn't disappoint. My only negative comment (and it is being picky... ) is that the serving staff clearing tables close by were a little over enthusiastic with the Pledge and it did smell very strongly of polish whilst we were still eating.

I'd certainly recommend the Beansheaf to friends - and would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, nice furnishings and comfy bed - excellent hospitality tray!
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was all good.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
54
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Well, all i look for in a hotel is a clean, comfy bed and something nice for tea! And i got both! What i also got was a lovely, personal and friendly service and my 6 year old son received some special attention too!

The rooms are very clean, newly decorated with superb bathrooms and a flat screen TV. The towel in our room was in the shape of an elephant, there were chocolates by the bed and 2 J2O's free of charge! Lovely extras!

Something that sticks in my mind was the size of the chips! They were obviously made fresh and were big and chunky and perfectly cooked! We stayed here after a day out at Flamingo Land which is only 5 minutes down the road, less money and more comfort than the on-site caravans! I would recommend staying here to anyone who is visiting Flamingo Land, children are certainly made to feel very welcome! The only downside was that we were staying in room 1 and the vibrations from the coffee machine in the breakfast room kept waking me up at night! So if you get room 1, make sure they turn off the coffee machine at night!!!

All in all, a lovely stay, i would definately come again!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

Found this by chance. Looks a little uninspiring from the outside but the welcome couldn't have been friendlier. Nice, pleasant room - very comfortable and with plenty of bits and pieces. Loved the origami towels. Very impressed by the food - hearty Yorkshire breakfasts and good value, tasty evening meals. When we asked about the single malts on offer, the manager disappeared and returned with a further three choices! The place is very well located for visits to North Yorkshire moors and towns. An ideal winter break - we'll certainly be heading back. Only complaint: very warm room and bathroom felt cold by comparison!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Stayed the Beansheaf first week in September and had a fantastic stay. Stayed in the four poster bedroom and it was brilliant, huge bathroom, comfy bed and j20's in the room. We were going to eat in Malton but saw the menu at the Beansheaf and changed our minds and the food was very good. Could have been an average motel type accomadation at the side of a busy road, but the management have decotated it beutifully and the staff are so helpful it was truly a great stay! Reccomend to anyone wanting to visit Malton or Pickering.

  • Liked — Freindly Staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beansheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beansheaf

Address: Malton Road | Kirby Misperton, Pickering YO17 6UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beansheaf 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beansheaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beansheaf Hotel Pickering
Beansheaf Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beansheaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.