We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So thoughtful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage - Toftly View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage - Toftly View
Save
You added The Old Vicarage - Toftly View to your Saves list
Newton upon Rawcliffe, Pickering YO18 8QD, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So thoughtful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is for TOFTLY RETREAT! We spent four days over the half term at Toftly Retreat, the one bedroom self catering cottage in Pickering centre. We had the most amazing time. The cottage is immaculate and includes lots of thoughtful touches like the bose soundsystem that works in every room, the pasta and rice and other staples that saw us through, wine chilling in the fridge and even a home made (delicious) lemon drizzle cake! The bed was so comfortable and the shower even more so! A beautiful hideaway within walking distance of everything you could need. The added luxury of a hot tub made it extra special and I will definitely be going back! A perfect couples holiday cottage and the price was perfect too! Thank you!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Booked a reservation 14 months in advance having read the reviews on this site and couldn't wait to see what all the fuss was about!!. Barbara and Neville were the perfect hosts, could not do enough for us. "Feel free to poke around" said Barbara and we did. Everything we needed was provided including those little things that make you truly feel you are at home. Fantastic breakfast with home made bread, afternoon tea with cakes baked by Neville, those cute little chocolates in our rooms made by Barbara's daughter, daily weather reports for us walkers just to mention a few, I could go on. You really need to experience Old Vicarage for yourself. This venue very much deserves it 5 Stars and Gold Award and much more. Already planning to go back next year!!! GG&DG

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I've had to sneak this review in with those of the Toftly View guest house because for some reason Trip Advisor won't let me review a one-bedroomed accommodation. So to be clear, this is a review of TOFTLY VIEW, a self-catering cottage in Pickering owned by the same couple as The Old Vicarage.

We enjoyed three nights here in August, and all we can say is WOW! Tucked away in the centre of Pickering, this converted bungalow is very special - superbly furnished and equipped to the highest standards, including a central music system throughout the kitchen, bedroom and bathroom... and what a bathroom! The paved garden offers various places to sit and relax and a hot-tub for warmer weather.

It's an easy walk from here to anywhere in Pickering yet, once you're behind the wrought-iron gates, you feel completely tucked away. This is just a perfect place - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I've never read such consistently glowing reviews of a place, and there is good reason; everything about Toftly View is just incredible. Neville and Barbara are the coolest, sweetest, most considerate, hard-working, generous, and thoughtful hosts. They've made every aspect of Toftly View unbelievably welcoming and charming. This place can't be beat for food (never been so overjoyed with a breakfast), cleanliness (spotless), location (adorable town center has a duck pond, great trails through the moors start directly on the premises), or value (really can't believe I could afford to stay in a place so lovely). Don't miss a chance to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

From the welcome to the farewell the experience is perfect. The rooms have everything you would want and more. Service attentive but not overbearing and not a speck of dust in sight.
The breakfast is wonderful with home grown fruit and a comprehensive range of cooked options. Well worth its 5 stars and gold award.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I wrote a review of a B&B in Bath that my wife and I stayed at earlier this year, and I thought that was good (it was very good) - this is even better!
Location is marvellous - an old country vicarage in a quiet picturesque village on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors, but not in the wilds. Nice pub is 5 minutes walk - serves good beer and good pub food. Also try the Fox and Hounds at Siinington 4 miles west of Pickering. The house iteself has been beautifully restored by the owners and whilst it has all mod cons,including the latest high tech bathrooms, it has been done with good taste that fits well with the age of the building. We stayed in the Room With A View, which is the largest room - a very spacious room with a large bay window overlooking the valley. Excellent bathroom with Grohe fittings.

The breakfast is amazing - range of cereals, fresh fruit on offer included fresh strawberries, cherries and even kumquats - now how many places have you stayed that offer them!? Fresh yoghurt, home made jams and marmalade, and a fried breakfast to beat them all - one tip - if you order an extra rasher of bacon you get the whole through cut rasher, back and streaky, so it's twice the size - amazing. Perfectly cooked and as big or small as you like. The home made cake is legend - especially the lemon drizzle cake...delicious.!
We were made extemely welcome by the hosts and their son and daughter who run a hand made chocolate business, and you will find these in your room free of charge by the way - very nice too. What stands out here is the attention to detail - from the well-stocked library to a laptop computer in the sitting room to plenty of toiletries in your bathroom and even a cooler bag in your room with fresh milk for tea or coffee - nice touch and a change from those UHT cartons! What else can I mention? Wi Fi of course, plus a 20 minute walk (albeit rather steep) to Levisham Station on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, where you can catch a steam train to Whitby or Pickering - what more could a man want? Bliss.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEDFORDSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and at home. The hosts were wonderful greeting us on arrival with Homemade Cakes and Freshly made Tea or Filter Coffee. Each day upon our return, there was always the same welcome and a freshly baked cake in the Drawing room waiting for us. At Breakfast we were offered cake to take out for during the day - it was so hard to refuse as they were so yummy! We even had cake gift wrapped on departure day to take home with us.

The Breakfasts were everything you could want - from a vast range of Freshly prepared Fruit, numerous choices of local produce and organic fare. Fresh milk was left in your room at night to use in the morning, together with handmade chocolates and biscuits! Nothing was too much trouble, even when we asked for a bucket of water to wash down the dust from the back of our car, after taking a Forest road by mistake on return it was produced without fuss!

The whole Vicarage was immaculate and of a very high standard. The views from the Blue Room we stayed in were beautiful. A very cosy and relaxed atmosphere in an idyllic village.

The Village pub was friendly and there is a range of pub games available; bar billiards, cards, darts, dominoes. The "pub grub" was lovely although choice limited, and the quality great with very generous portions. I would certainly recommend the homemade Steak and Ale pie! There are plenty of places in Pickering and surrounding areas to choose from and all tastes catered for.

All in all, I would certainly recommend this place to anyone - whether a walker, hiker, or just there was the sites and views, well worth a trip. Spread the word!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage - Toftly View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage - Toftly View

Address: Newton upon Rawcliffe, Pickering YO18 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only four miles from Pickering, perched on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park the Old Vicarage at Toftly View welcomes guests with 5 star luxury plus homemade goodies and treats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage - Toftly View Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage - Toftly View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.