We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toftly View - Yorkshires Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage - Toftly View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage - Toftly View
Save
You added The Old Vicarage - Toftly View to your Saves list
Newton upon Rawcliffe, Pickering YO18 8QD, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Toftly View - Yorkshires Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have just got back from a 3 night stay at Toftly View and CANNOT fault it at all. Barbara and Neville are the most welcoming, attentive and charming hosts - going far beyond the normal "call of duty" for a B&B owner with regards to attention to detail. The room (Church View) was pristine and our every need was tended to. Breakfast was superb (as were Neville's cakes!), the recommendations (pub, walks, places of interest) were excellent. Toftly View has nothing but excellent reviews for a reason. It is brilliant in every way!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This time we stayed at Neville & Barbara's other property in Pickering which is Toftly Retreat. We stayed 4 nights at the lovely cottage for 2. Bathroom to die for with a wet room. Music surround in every room. Very enclosed private garden with its own hot tub. We loved how all the birds visited in the morning, absolutely lovely. Every mod con you could think of was there to make your stay perfect. Fruit in the bowl, bacon, sausages etc for breakfast for at least two days. 5 minutes walk into town to get buses to all the major cities surrounding. Really loved the stay. Thank you again for making us feel so special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Barbara and Neville Hobbs were amazing hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful rooms and a breakfast that was second to none. Perfect situation in the lovely Yorkshire Countryside. The Hospitality tray in the room was really thoughtfully prepared. No little cartons of milk to struggle to open but a fresh cool bag with a container holding milk - changed daily.
Cake and tea were complimentarily provided in the lounge. Neville's lemon drizzle cake is to die for. We will not hesitate to stay in this lovely find on another occasion and would recommend it as a place to stay to everyone who enjoys the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Old Vicarage in ' Room with a VIew'. We found the accommodation excellent with lovely views across open countryside. The breakfast was also excellent with a good choice and using local ingredients; we particularly enjoyed the baked fruit. When returning after a day out it was lovely to be greeted with a pot of tea and some of Neville's excellent cake in the lounge. Also when returning in the evening fresh milk in a cooler bag was provided in the room together with toftly treats - a really nice touch.
The guest house is a about a 10 minute drive into Pickering. There is a local pub in the village called 'The Swan Inn' which serves basic but good homecooked food.
The guest house is close too many places of interest, Pickering, Helmsley etc.
We can recommend the Old Vicarage without reservation and whenever we are visiting North Yorkshire this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Seldom did we feel so welcome. Barbara and Neville Hobbs are exemplary hosts; they treat their guests like they would like to be treated themselves when away. Everything is done to create a welcome and friendly atmosphere.
Situated in the Yorkshire-countryside this B&B has 4 guestrooms.
Our Blue Room was well furnished, crisp, clean and cosy. Barbara stocked the room with everything a guest/a friend could possibly wish for. Neville is a excellent cook who provides a traditional Yorkshire breakfast and really knows his way with baking cakes.
Barbara and Neville love the area where the live and have lots of suggestions how to spend your days in this beautifully rural part of England.
Quite unique these hosts and their B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night break at The Old Vicarage! Chose to go there because of all the other great reviews and we weren't disappointed. Everything was ten out of ten: welcome, house, room, views, comfort, food, hosts...The attention to detail is stunning and you feel really spoiled by all the little extras: cake on arrival, chocolates in room every evening, bathrobes, lovely toiletries and a good bag to take home! We loved meeting the family and I loved meeting Stanley, the gorgeous labradoodle. We can't wait to go back and we have already been telling family and friends to book!

Room Tip: There are 4 individually decorated rooms -each with own personality and view - we were in the Blue R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Had our first visit last year and could not wait to return. First visit was a new experience not quite sure what to expect but was excellent. Our return visit was all the more pleasurable as we were able to fully appreciate all that this excellent B&B has to offer. Our host Barbara and Neville were the perfect host, breakfast was excellent setting us up for our days walking, rooms were just as good as we remembered them with everything you could possibly need for the weekend and those special treats finished it off a treat. Hoping to return for a third time next year. This B&B really has to be experienced, if you are reading this review don't take our word for it. Go along and see for yourself, you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage - Toftly View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage - Toftly View

Address: Newton upon Rawcliffe, Pickering YO18 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only four miles from Pickering, perched on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park the Old Vicarage at Toftly View welcomes guests with 5 star luxury plus homemade goodies and treats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage - Toftly View Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage - Toftly View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.