We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Horse Farm Inn
Save
You added White Horse Farm Inn to your Saves list
Gill Lane, Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Rotherham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over the long bank holiday weekend. The views from our window were amazing and the hotel staff were welcoming and friendly, especially those in the restaurant. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Our room was a bit lacking in style but was possibly the most spotless room we've ever stayed in. Overall, a lovely, relaxing break.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a superior room or don't leave booking until the last minute, like we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    1
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for just the one night on a superb deal - bed/breakfast, free drinks on arrival and a free bottle of wine with our evening meal. The inn has fantastic views over the dale and our room was very clean, with contemporary furnishing, and a fab ensuite bath/shower room. The offer was for a superior room but they'd all been allocated so we were in a standard room but it was very comfortable and quiet and had it's own outdoor balcony/seating area. The staff here are among the friendliest bunch I've ever come across! We felt like we were locals - the bar and restaurant was extremely busy that evening but the staff took time out to keep coming over to talk to us and made us feel very included. Our evening meal was superb, as was the breakfast. A few hundred yards downhill is the village of Rosedale Abbey and there are some lovely walks round and about. We travel to Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay quite often, and now we know the White Horse is there we know where to stop off for a very warm welcome and tasty lunch. Highly recommended - we're already looking forward to going back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just had a really lovely 2 night stay at the White Horse Farm Inn. We were well looked after by everyone who worked there and made to feel really welcome.The food was delicious too and we even got treated to some live music on the Saturday night by a local band. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Short stay for walking weekend. Comfortable double room with views over the dale. Fabulous food - some of the best pub food we've ever had in restaurant annex off the bar. Friendly staff, great ambience. what more could you want ?Keen to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights just after Easter. views from room 3 were beautiful overlooking the valley. Overall the room was very nice with a huge bathroom. The Cleanliness of the room was satisfactory but let down by numerous cobwebs. The only other down side was the bed which was squeaky with a terribly soft mattress. The small niggles did not spoil a wonderful stay with staff which could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is excellent and I would recommend dining as the food is not only of a high quality but very reasonable. Would highly recommend the pork stack, yum yum.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunsfold
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights on a fantastic deal. The views are lovely and the food excellent - we ate in every night- and the staff most welcoming. The Black Sheep beer is one of the best in the country says my husband who certainly made the most of it! Very near to Farndale which is full of wild daffodils but sadly they were not quite out yet due to the weather. We had a very interesting day out in York and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights very warm and friendly people meals to die for and breakfast so delightful...really enjoyed our stay even the snow did not put us off we will be back, outstanding staff who looked after us well....Thankyou so much.....

Room Tip: The room we had was double with on suite a delight.... Front of house with great views to the moors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Horse Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm Inn

Address: Gill Lane, Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Farm Inn is a 16th Century Country Inn, set on a hillside with panoramic views over the village of Rosedale Abbey, surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors. The bar and restaurant are full of old world charm and character featuring a roaring log fire. The bar offers a wide selection of traditional hand pulled ales, fine wines, and malt whiskies. Traditional Yorkshire Fayre is served daily, both in the cosy bar and the stylish restaurant. The extensive menu specialises in local game, fish, and organic meats. All meals are cooked to order using only the finest ingredients. We also have a wide variety of vegetarian options and are able to cater for any special dietary needs upon request. Located in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, a trip to Historic York will only take one hour by car and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is a mere 19 miles away. The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.