We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orange Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Orange Tree
Save
You added The Orange Tree to your Saves list
Rosedale East | Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8RH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a special place to spend a weekend. Edward and Helen are the teachers of yoga and meditation, and I learned that they are sister and brother. Their parents were there to help as well. The catering was done by a local chef, and therapists came to deliver spa treatments on the Saturday. The centre is clearly a labour of love for Edward, Helen, and their parents, and you can feel it. The yoga classes and meditation workshops were excellent. There is stunning scenery all around, with beautiful walks. The food was to die for. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
17
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Superb weekend, great creative vegetarian food, relaxing spa treatments, envigourating jacuzzi. Not to be missed and certainly will be back. Staff are friendly and talented. Nothing comes close to how relaxing and special the whole experience is, including the other guests when we were there. Just excellent.

Room Tip: Downstairs three bedded room would be our first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just back from a chilled out weekend with friends, enjoyed the lovely vegetarian meals, great workshops with Edward and Christine who make you feel you are a special person. Lovely hot tub and sauna and holistic therapies to relax you and ease any tight muscles you have or pamper yourself with beauty treatments too. First time doing the gong relaxation workshop brilliant think I fell asleep and woke up really refreshed. Great group of people this weekend very friendly and cheerful. If you are looking to be relaxed and chilled out cannot recommend the Orange Tree enough. Big thank you to Edward and all the staff for their good work in the running of the Orange Tree as I have been coming here for the last six years. To me it heaven and come here to recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton of Campsie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from another amazing weekend retreat at the Orange Tree. This is probably my sixth visit and to me nothing else comes close. A group of us travel down from Scotland but it is so very worth the journey.
The welcoming atmosphere, cosy rooms, workshops, fabulous home made food, therapies are just amazing.
Edward and his staff are just so lovely.
It is just like a "Big Hug" of a weekend. PERFECT :)
Thank you Edward once again and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I love the Orange Tree and as usual came back from this relaxtion weekend feeling as if I'd been away for a week not just a weekend. The vegetarian food is lovely, treatments amazing and the morning workshops of a combination of tai-chi, relaxation, meditation and yoga were excellent. The gong relaxation was a revelation. A huge thankyou to Edward and all a the Orange Tree who made our stay such a pleasure.
It is indeed one of Yorkshire's hidden treasures.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We first visited The Orange Tree when Sue and Graham owned it and fell in love at first sight, with the setting, with the relaxed atmosphere, with the fact there is no TV, no mobile phone signal....with everything. We have returned several times and with Edward at the helm, it is even better than before, even though I wouldn't have thought that was possible. We have just returned from another 24 hours in this very special place and enjoyed a full body massage with Debbie, a yoga and gong meditation with Edward and a dip in the hot tub in the garden with beautiful sunny views across Rosedale. I cannot praise The Orange Tree highly enough. In a short time, we totally recharge our batteries and cannot wait to return again...and again....and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a lovely place to visit....we came here for my sisters birthday, received a very welcoming atmosphere, fab Vegi food and lovely treatments. I'm a lactose and wheat free vegetarian and usually eating out is a struggle, bu not at the OrangeTree!! The home cooked food was great, and I was especially impressed with all the alternative food they had made for me...thanks Orage Tree would def recommend ...will be bringing my husband next time for a romantic foray! 5/5 from me and the whole Smith tribe x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orange Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orange Tree

Address: Rosedale East | Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Orange Tree Hotel Pickering
The Orange Tree Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orange Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.