We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chip Shop in the World ... no exaggeration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potter Hill Fish Shop

Potter Hill Fish Shop
13 Potter Hill | Pickering, Pickering YO18 8AA, England
+44 1751 472687
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 58 Restaurants in Pickering
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: British
Description: Traditional Fish & Chips & more... 2014 Winner of The Potato Councils Choice Chips Award for North Yorkshire and Ryedale Mercury Fish and Chip Shop of The Year 2012!
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional Fish & Chips & more... 2014 Winner of The Potato Councils Choice Chips Award for North Yorkshire and Ryedale Mercury Fish and Chip Shop of The Year 2012!
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Fish and Chip Shop in the World ... no exaggeration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is definitely the BEST fish and chips in the world. fabulous batter, perfectly cooked fish and delicious tasty chips! (shocked at other reviews) I have travelled all over the UK and this is by FAR the best tasting fish and chips and excellent value for money. this was my 3rd visit. will be visiting again next time I'm in North Yorkshire.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The fish and chips were delicious, melt in your fish and chunky chips. A must for anyone!
The service was friendly, quick and it is value for money. You can choose different size portions, but the small and meduim would be enough for most!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not the best fish and chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

After discovering the other fish and chip shop's in Pickering had closed for the night we went for this one-it seemed busy, a sign the local's liked it, we were not impressed, everything was excessively greasy and the chips were soggy and of a poor standard, I would not reccomend this to anyone looking for fish and chips in Pickering.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wath upon Dearne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

not the best best despite being voted best fish and chips 2012. very expensive. fish not very fresh .chips not cooked.peas like bullets.eastgate fisheries far better

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great chips in Pickering!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Popped in for a bag of chips during our stay in Pickering. Definitely the best chips we`ve had for a very long time. So much so, later in the week we returned with an extra large family order. We tried many things on the menu, sausage, spam fritter, fish cake, Cheese 'fry its' and a few other bits and bobs, including curry sauce (there were 2 versions.) All were very good, and no complaints from any of us. Has always been busy when we were there or drived passed to, so business seems good, which is a good sign at least most of the time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne S, Owner at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your great review, so glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potter Hill Fish Shop also viewed

 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Potter Hill Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potter Hill Fish Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.