We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickering Castle

Pickering Castle
Castle Road, Pickering YO18 7BA, England
44-1751-474989
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Attractions in Pickering
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a great way to spend a morning or an afternoon in Pickering and just a short walk from the town centre. My teenage son and 3 year old daughter both enjoyed it, exploring the ruins and plenty of open space to run around. There are tables to sit and have a picnic and the shop sells drinks and also local ice cream. From the highest point yo get sme great views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    50
    25
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“KIDS CRAFT DAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

great day for the kids learning all things crafty - the ladies who were teaching were very knowledgeable and incredibly helpful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon hull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

when we went there was a tent and a party for kiddies on with music and fairy hunts and dancing - all included for free. excellent value for money but not much castle left just wallls

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit - the kids loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We visited Pickering Castle on the way home from our holiday in North Yorkshire. Although it doesn't appear to be anything special, once inside it's really entertaining and worth the money. The kids really enjoyed looking around all the ruins, exploring the hidden rooms and climbing the steep steps. The shop is well worth a visit as you can buy viking hats etc - great for role playing! We wish we'd taken a picnic with us now as it would have been perfect. Really easy to find and a lovely way to end our holiday!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great view from the top of the Keep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The best thing about the castle is the view from the top of the Keep over the countryside. There are very few rooms that can be entered (best buidling is the chapel) and towers that can be climbed. No walls to walk along. It's worth a visit for an hour or two if you're in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickering Castle also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pickering Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickering Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.