We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Figaro's Restaurant

Figaro's Restaurant
2 Birdgate, Pickering, England
01751-47-77-33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 58 Restaurants in Pickering
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Italian restaurant
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Everything was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best way to describe our experience was that everything was average. Food, service and price. They did make children feel welcome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    64
    13
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely the worst Italian in the Ryedale area!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Tonight myself and a friend decided to eat at figaro's due to the excellent food we had there in the past (around 3 or 4 years ago) but we were thoroughly disappointed with the whole evening! This was due to the poor service and the poor food.

The waitress was very young but was left at the front of house on her own, at first we were happy as she took our orders and provided our drinks. First of all we ordered a bruschetta de Brie starter to share, described as toasted bruschetta with a walnut and Brie topping. However when the dish came we were served with soggy garlic bread with poor quality Brie... Very disappointing. We were appalled that they tried to give us garlic bread without asking first if it was okay!!

Secondly our mains came, whilst I had carbonara my friend had the meatballs. The first problem arose when the waitress asked if we would like Parmesan and black pepper we said yes to both but she only returned with the Parmesan. The second problem was the pasta's were served with pasta, despite the menu stating that they would be served with linguine! Finally when we ate the food both dishes could only be described as bland and poorly cooked. The carbonara in particular, even the ham in the meal was fatty and undesirable!! Neither of us managed to eat even half of the food!

This establishment used to be a wonderful place to eat however it has gone extremely down hill! After talking to friends and family many others have spoken of the Italian being very poor quality.

Please do not waste your time nor money here!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Utterlly vile”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I have lived in pickerng all my life. I have been away to university and eaten at alot of different places and been to italy. It used to be delicious here but the new owners/chef are disgraceful. We ordered brushetta de brie and it appeared at our table only to be soft garlic bread topped with soggy brie. My meatballs were bland and overcooked and my friends carbonara.... Well lets say dolmio do a better job and they are shocking.

The worst pasta weve ever eaten .... Do not waste your money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Booked table for 2 on sat pm. Started off well ordered drinks n starters came, garlic bread and mozzarella was too greasy couldn't eat it. Fillet steak arrived far too overcooked n chewy n gristle not fillet shape more like top side beef very tough. Called waiter n had both meals taken away for fresh steak cooking was told 5 minutes. After 20 minutes with no service of free drinks just told not long now 2nd steak arrived, again overcooked n tough n not round fillet shape! Told not edible waiter was young n didn't know what to do or say! I suggested speak to manager as we wanted to leave meals n get bill! Waiter came back n said sorry but will not pay for either meal n if want try eat some! I ate few mouthfuls of my pasta but left it as wanted to eat together! Got bill n charged for my pasta £10!! Not happy n waiter said oh no only steak deducted from bill!!!!!! Another table cane over as leaving n said did you have to send food back too. We had to send back two risotto! We will not be returning as management very poor as was food quality!!!! Shame as I live locally!!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a good meal here - the service was excellent and the food freshly made. Good value and the wines were also excellent - all Italian and carefully chosen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figaro's Restaurant also viewed

 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Figaro's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Figaro's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.