We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest & Vale, Pickering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Farnborough, Kent, Uk
1 review
“Forest & Vale, Pickering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sadly, our reason for our visit was a family funeral. However, the hotel was fine, the bed very comfortable and the staff all very friendly.
There was a wedding reception on in the evening and, although it was in full swing, we did not hear a thing when we went bed. In the morning, when we came down for breakfast, we would not have known that there had been a wedding the night before. Everything was cleared up, swept up and dusted down. Your staff must have worked all through the night. Congratulations.
Sally and David Sherwood-Stares.







  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    62
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
114
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Forest and Vale is easy to find on the main Road from Malton and is only 2 minutes walk from Pickering town centre. I spent 3 nights at the hotel with my wife on a Monday to Thursday short break. The hotel is clean and appears to have been recently refurbished but still retains character. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a large and pleasant garden. The room was a reasonable size with comfortable beds, clean and well maintained (as per rest of the hotel). The bathroom shower cubicle was a bit snug (I am 6'2) but OK.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. When booking they warned us that the twin we requested might be noisy (over kitchen) but the noise was not too intrusive and limited to breakfast / dinner time.
Breakfast was a standard cooked option with cereals etc. We did not eat a main evening meal at the hotel but the staff provided a good omelette when we requested a quick snack.
Pickering is a pleasant town and an excellent base for visiting east Yorks. If you like history this is a great place to visit. The town has a castle run by English Heritage, a Church with frescos dating to the middle ages (impressive) and a good museum. If you visit the church buy the guide, it is a bargain for £2. You can also take a train on the heritage North Yorks Moors railway to Whitby.
We found 2 good restaurants in town (I have posted review for Willowgate bistro) and plenty of decent places for tea and cakes

Room Tip: Recommend room at back looking onto garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Big thanks to Darren at the bar top lad just what you need!!! The stories the Service great. Also big thanks to Sara lovely girl sorted out everything we asked and the beans. Lol!!! puts in some hours too both of them. Maids the rooms were spot on. Thanks. Hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

lovely hotel in super position in the middle of Pickering.
Room was large , clean and well appointed.
All the staff were friendly and informative. Special mention here of Darren the barman, a real star.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Our second visit and the service was excellent from the start again. The room was superb overlooking the garden. A warm welcome guaranteed - the staff that served us from the reception to Darren the barman and Sara and the lovely lady that served us for breakfast this morning.
The food was lovely and all deserve a pat on the back for such an excellent service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have just had three nights away for my wife's birthday, from the moment we arrived we only had the best attention nothing was to much trouble from every member of the staff. I have stain in hotels all over the world and I can say that this was one of the best. We are looking forward to another short stay in June.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.