We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed clean hotel convenient for North Yorkshire Moors Railway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well appointed clean hotel convenient for North Yorkshire Moors Railway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here one night during a recent gala weekend at the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. Large car park meant no problems parking car up for two days and the railway was just five minutes walk away. Bedroom was spotless and right at the rear of the hotel well away from main road so no external noise. Small garden area if you want to relax during good weather. Bed really comfortable so excellent night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was good - reasonable choice of cereals, juices, etc. Only slight black mark was the guy in charge of breakfast who could not understand why we would want to come and travel on the railway and then misheard my request for poached egg delivering a fried egg. Couldn't be bothered to complain as possibly be subject to more ridicule as time was pressing and we just needed to get away. Suggest some customer service training and a reminder as to who helps pay his wages would no go amiss! Like another contributor was disappointed to find hotel shut up at 11pm and no chance of a drink from the bar.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the main road although double glazing probably means near road rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    67
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
138
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We picked this hotel primarily as we wanted to arrange a trip on the North Yorkshire steam railway to Pickering.
The hotel met all our needs with a clean comfortable room and a nice breakfast. It was an exective double in the new wing which was roomy with a comfortable place to sit.
Top marks because they supply a free bottle of water in the room which many hotels charge for.
Most people staying there were at the more mature end but it didnt feel particularly old fashioned, just traditional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a party of 17 family members, staying for a weekend.We had such a fantastic time it ended too soon. After all the family get togethers for the past 12 years for a weekend away, this was by far the BEST we have ever had.The rooms were decorated to a high standard and the beds were sooo comfortable.
The food was top rate and the Manager and the staff could not have given us better service , nothing was too much trouble for them. I will certainly recommend this , and look forward to coming back.
A great big Thank you to all, FIRST CLASS!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent a very pleasant night here yesterday, booked at short notice. The whole experience, from enquiring and booking by phone to checking out, was friendly and professional. We had a standard double room overlooking the garden: whilst not huge it was spotless, warm and well decorated, bathroom was good and the bed was really comfortable. It was quiet at night with virtually no noise from other rooms or outside. We ate out of the hotel in the evening, but took a drink in the cosy bar when we got back. Breakfast was good. Service throughout our short stay was exemplary. Ample parking and excellent location for the town.

'Hip' hotel this isn't. But its traditional comforts and friendly service have much to commend them. We were impressed and would definitely stay here again. Hopefully for longer than just one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

At very short notice we had to visit North Yorkshire which is a very long way from us. We asked the people we had to visit if they knew of any hotels in the area and they mentioned this one although they had no experience of it personally. We phoned the hotel and they let us have the accommodation we required straight away, when we arrived the following day we found very friendly staff and rooms of an even better quality than we were expecting. We had an evening meal in the dining room and were amazed at the choice of starters and mains, much more comprehensive than some five star hotels we have stayed at, the meals were excellent and good value for money.
The bedrooms were immaculate and the beds very comfortable, After a good night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent breakfast again with a wide variety of choice.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful and we were sorry we were only staying for such a short time, but we will definitely return when we are next in Yorkshire as it would make a good base for exploring this wonderful county.

Room Tip: The main section of the hotel gives you a real feeling of being in a grand country house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

An excellent place to eat in a great area to visit. The food is home-cooked and the portions are enormous. The dining room has good views of the busy,bustling little market town. The High Street is well worth a visit . There are lots of locally owned shops and few of the regular chains. A good bar and friendly staff. We will definitely return for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

One night stay only but the hotel ticked most of the boxes that you would want it to. The ground floor room in one of the various annexes was clean, well appointed and the bed super comfy. The black marks which were reasonably minor were a security chain that wouldn't actually work as it was wrongly fitted, and the shower holder was loosely fitted to the wall and needed sorting out. One slight surprise was that when we returned to the hotel just after 11 pm the bar was closed and in darkness, and looked like it had been a little while. At what wasn't a very late hour we did expect to have been able to get a drink before turning in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.