We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. Before we even arrived the hotel called to reconfirm our booking. On arrival the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

We had two rooms booked for a weekend away and one of the rooms was upgraded to the top suite, a pleasant surprise that made the weekend even better. Both rooms were very nice and clean, as were the public areas of the hotel.

The location is just a few minutes walk from the centre of Pickering, and within easy access of the Steam Railway station. If you are planning a trip to see the railway and Whitby, I would recommend stopping in Pickering instead of Whitby - the location is quieter and this hotel is better than any we saw in Whitby, but you're not too far away to take a trip to the seaside.

We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food, but the dining area looked spacious and the menu looked good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for the friendly staff, the large clean rooms and the location

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    62
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
114
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here Dec30 and New Years eve.The food was was very good and new years eve menu was fantastic.A bit pricey but you expect that on New Years eve.The service was first class second to none.Enjoyed it that much have booked again for the wifes birthday

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We went here on New Years Day for a meal in the evening. We had tried to get in the White Swan but it was fully booked and they suggested here. We both had pate and haddock. Both courses very nice. The staff were very courteous and the decor is lovely. Only 2 other parties were in the bar - table of 4 having a bar meal same as ourselves and a party of 4 that then were taken through to the restaurant. Would go again as food good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We were staying in Pickering the weekend before Christmas, thought we might have trouble find places to eat that time of year, we booked a table at the Forest of Vale, when we arrived there was only another party of six in, this should have told use something! the menu was very short not a lot of choice, the restaurant menu had much the same choices as the bar menu but inc. coffee and chocs.
The food was very avarage, nothing special, we had soup and a pate and both of us had loin of pork, the port was not freshly cooked and covered in gravy! I ordered apple crumble when it arrived it was just apples and custard (£5.50) no sign of any crumble, I sent it back, and a refund was given.
Very disappointing for our Xmas treat!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

Nothing was to much trouble and my 5 year old was treated like a princess all the time we were there when a bird flew in the window they were quick to sort every thing out can't wait for my next stay all so thanks to all the staff for making my mum and dads party full of wonderful memory

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwall, Malvern,United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Four of us met for Sunday lunch at the Forest and Vale Hotel at Pickering. Despite the foggy miserable day, the staff were chatty and cheerful and made us feel very welcome. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. We had all three courses and enjoyed everything. The starters and puds in particular were superb. It was very reasonably priced with a set price for three courses and coffee. Tip for the ladies - visit the restrooms to see the wallpaper - very tactile! Overall, this hotel was an excellent choice for a meal and we heartily recommend it. Will try staying overnight if we get the chance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Warm welcome and attentive staff for a recent family meal. Good quality Sunday lunch style cuisine - the best roast potatoes I have ever tasted!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.