We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm cosy perfection in yorkshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Inn to your Saves list
The White Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“warm cosy perfection in yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed here for one night and was very impressed.We chose a 'traditional inn suite' which whilst a bit pricey was lovely,warm and cosy.Our dog went with us and the hotel is very dog friendly.Really liked the bar and lounge area downstairs with lovely log fires(lit!)and the nosh was tres bon.Also happy to say that the white swan -unlike unfortunately man other country inns - had not been done up and turned into a contemporary 'floorboard and blackboard' joint -fine for the city but,please,not in the countryside!All in all i was very impressed and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    94
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
44
286
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

the white swan inn is a lovely hotel we had the offer where you get your evening meals included! The rooms are very clean and trendy! and the staff where very friendly and helpful! The meals we had where five star lots of choice on the menu!! the area of pickering is a lovely little village. We went on the steam train which was a great day out!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lampeter
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Although the hotel sits in a beautiful location and the staff are very friendly, this hotel does not meet the standard it claims for itself.

The Hotel was well aware that my husband was recovering from a illness that had hospitalised him for four weeks, so realising that they put us in a room on the top floor up a narrow twisty staircase. The diminutive lady behind the receiption showed us to our room and half way up queried whether we needed help with our luggage.

A lot was claimed about the standard of the restaurant. It is unfortunatly expensive, in our first evening dinner the starters were £9 and the main £19, as for cheese and biscuits lots of biscuits and the smallest amount of cheese on a plate I have ever seen, it would be too small to fit into the smallest of mouse traps. Whilst the food is presented well and it looks good it is either not cooked very well (raw mushrooms for breakfast) or in one case reheated.

This is a Hotel that nearly makes it but not quite and in the end it leaves you very disappointed that it does not achieve the level that it clearly has the aspiration for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

The rooms were incredible (ones out back in courtyard) and we loved the cookies that we got each day. The room itself was clean, spacious and very functional. It felt like you could relax in the room without it feeling too much like being stuck in another hotel room.

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful when booking via e-mail and also once at the hotel. The deal we got helped with the costs, so overall felt it was relavtively good value.

The games room for residents also to rear of hotel is also a nice touch and I am sure some guests will fine very useful.

The resturant was okay, nothing special but I would not let you deter you from staying. Breakfast was fine.

We will be staying here again and certainly be popping into watch Pickering Town FC.

Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We've stayed at the White Swan on a few occasions. Having read the mixed reports on Tripadvisor I thought I'd add our own view.

I agree with previous reviews that the hotel is slightly at risk of unquestioningly believing its own publicity: it's good, but it's not that good, would be my own conclusion. First, the rooms: well the ones we've stayed in are fine, but a little on the small side (for the price), and rooms at the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy at night (not the hotel's fault, admittedly).

Now, the restaurant: the hotel makes a great feature of its restaurant, and indeed it's a pleasant place to eat, but... to be honest the food is good but not outstanding - much store is placed in the locally sourced ingredients, meat in particular, but it's how you prepare those ingredients that surely counts. I've also some sympathy with a previous reviewer who found the dining room deathly quiet. Have to say that breakfast was good though.

Do be aware that, if you stay at the White Swan, there are plenty of dining options if you choose not to eat in the hotel: including the excellent Spice 4 U Indian restaurant (whose food is much better than its name!), just a five minute walk away.

My advice is to get on the White Swan mailing list and receive their special offer mailings - or keep looking on their website for late availability. At those discounted prices the hotel and restaurant are good value - not sure otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Thought it was lovely. Rooms were cute and all was clean and friendly. We didn't eat in the evening but regret that now. Breakfast was amazing though. Really felt comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed in one of the hotel's contemporary rooms which have been constructed next to the rear car park and feature underfloor heating, flat screen TV, and comfortable bathrooms. The decor is contemporary but the stone floors and woollen rugs give a traditional feel. This was an expensive short break but it was for a special occasion and the food in the restaurant was excellent at dinner and breakfast. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.