We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little touches make all the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Inn to your Saves list
The White Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little touches make all the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

White Swan Inn Pickering was excellent, staff very helpful and pleasant, food excellent, the little touches going that extra bit were appreciated. The Bothy is an excellent idea somewhere quiet to relax have afternoon, or just a drink and one of the chefs homemade biscuits which were wonderful much better than the packaged variety you usually get. We had afternoon tea and a packed lunch in our deal through Secret Escapes and these were excellent too. The only fault i could find was no hooks in the bathroom for the lovely white towelling dressing gowns provided which were wonderful after a shower. Parking very good. Vintage room was lovely very clean and again enjoyed the chefs homemade biscuits. Great location too for Whitby, Scarborough and Thorton-le-dale. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the main street of Pickering. Also some hideaway rooms just a short step away from h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    94
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
44
286
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 2 nights here through Secret Escapes based on good reviews, so we were initially disappointed when we arrived to find our choice of room not available. However, Sarah the receptionist sorted the problem and we were given the superior vintage room which was excellent, however, through no fault of the hotel the occupiers of the room above didn't appear to need any sleep and creaking floorboards, loud conversations from these guests prevented us getting any sleep -so not a good first night!
Fortunately we were then moved into a Hideaway room (our original choice) which was lovely and quiet. The hotel eased our disappointment by complimentary drinks. The staff were very friendly, the food good so overall well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Hideaway rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have always enjoyed visiting this area and chose this hotel for its proximity and luxurious accommodation. The hotel is easy to find in the centre of Pickering and there is plenty of parking close to the rooms. Our arrival nearly began with disaster. Our booking had been overlooked but the receptionist apologised and dealt with the situation swiftly. We had to move rooms on the last night but it was all done with the least amount of difficulty to ourselves and a complimentary bottle of wine helped ease the pain. The food in the restaurant is delicious and all the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The 'Bothy' is an added bonus, a private lounge for residents with a roaring fire, coffee and home baked biscuits. All in all, a great break.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife & I booked 2 nights For Easter for a short break 7 weeks after my wife had undergone surgery. We cannot fault the accommodation, food or staff, who were always cheerful & helpful. We will be going back & would recommend the Hotel to anyone wanting a base for the area, or just for an excellent meal, but booking for the restaurant in advance would be advisable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. Food was well presented and tasty. The breakfast was very good, bacon tasty and not fatty, good selection of cereals and fruit, and great to see jam and marmalade in proper jars and butter in a dish not in one of those silly packets you have trouble opening. Dining room pleasant and staff friendly and approachable. Parking easy at back of hotel and easy to get to. Hotel right in the centre of Pickering. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fantastic place ! Staff are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent, rooms very comfortable. Had a very relaxed, enjoyable stay. Will be returning. Used it as a base for North Yorkshire, ideal to visit Whitby, Scarborough and York.

Room Tip: We had a Hideaway room, fantastic shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an opportunity to spend the weekend away and had been looking forward to our break in The White Swan. We were not disappointed, we had a lovely warm welcome, we stayed in the Hideaway treat room, which was amazing, the bed was so comfortable and the whole room was a treat! Dinner was delicious and although we didnt use it, the Bothy was a lovely extra. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.