We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Good and my word it is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Inn to your Saves list
The White Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Looks Good and my word it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have two elderly dogs so it is always a must that they can accompany us (were not quite over the hill, yet). We had a courtyard room which was brilliant for our girls. We enjoyed being able to take them in the bar whilst we studied the menu. The meal, attentive staff were first class, as was breakfast which was very nicely presented. A most pleasant and relaxing stay, we will endeavour to be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your brilliant review. Do come back with your lovely dogs anytime.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    89
    32
    15
    6
See reviews for
40
266
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

fantastic room double bath and shower under floor heating,, dogs allowed ,could go on and on about room, wonderful romantic retreat(even for oldies like us) not the cheapest but then again not the most expensive, food is wonderful in restaurant, lovely breakfast and have deals if you like on facebook will go back when we get a chance

Room Tip: go for court yard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your great review. Don't leave it too long before we see you again and thanks for mentioning that we do some great deals via the web site or Facebook.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visited Dec 2011 for 30th wedding anniversary, Feb 2012 for a birthday and again in Dec 2012 for 31st wedding anniversary.
I've said it all before in the review a year ago, and the quality is still maintained. Stayed in a courtyard room (15), as they are modern, very well equipped and quiet even if, with advancing years, it is a little difficult to get out of the bath without the assistance of the tube dispensing the water, which consequently is becoming loose, (Honest, it was loose before we arrived!)

You can't really fault this place, the accommodation, food, wine list and staff attention and service are all excellent.

We will be back in May for my birthday, notice the intervals are becoming shorter!

Highly recommended without reservation for those wanting a relaxed break and have the ability to relax and enjoy whilst they are there.

Happy Christmas and New Year to all at The White Swan.

See you in May.

Neil and Sheila Snowden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Snowdon

Thank you for another kind review. Happy New Year to you too and see you in May. We will make sure there is a liveried (blind) flunky to assist you in and out of the bath or perhaps just make sure the tap is rigid.

Best wishes

Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

So I shall keep it short. Food good staff friendly, service slow, Manager seemed more interested in flirting with the receptionist. Basically waited ages for order to be taken when approached he manager he said yeah, I'll be there in a sec 10 mins later still no show I went to find him still at reception flirting with the receptionist. Asked to speak with the owner in the morning who was 'far too busy, sorry'

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sir

The manager who let you down is now working elsewhere.

I apologise profusely for the effect that his actions or lack of them had on your stay and if you could get in touch then I would gladly try and make amends.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found the restaurant meal outstanding and for a smart and civilised stay this would take some beating.There is a small bar area and a room with a bow window to look out on the main street but it is the restaurant with its flagstones and open fire which attracts.If you were looking to be over critical you could say that the old coach entry is very narrow for bigger cars.Welcoming and helpful service and a particularly wide choice of wines.Bedrooms are good if you pay above the standard rate. The whole experience is highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Peter

Thank you for your kind review. Hospitality is all about attention to detail coupled with a smile or two. Glad you liked the experience and come back soon.

Regards

Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at the White Swan on Saturday night having spent the previous night at the Wensleydale Heifer on a two day munch through Yorkshire.
The lovely warm welcome on arrival was perpetuated throughout our stay by all members of staff.
Stayed in one of the Hideaway rooms which are well appointed, squeaky clean and have what must rank as the most amusing visitors book I've ever read. A masterclass in how to instil mirth into the mundane.
Dinner and breakfast were both of an excellent standard using locally sourced produce.
A nice selection of real ales in the cosey snug, an eclectic wine list fit for all tastes and pockets.
We're already booked in for a couple of nights in March. Bring it on !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Carebearbunch

Thank you for your 'Cracking' review. I guess if everybody booked their next visit on departure like you then we wouldn't need to do any marketing. You are therefore designated as Cracking Guests. Thank you so much and see you in March.

Regards

Victor victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful overnight stay at The White Swan Hotel, Pickering - a group of friends coming together to celebrate a birthday. What a great experience. We'd read the reviews, and chose it primarily for its food. Everything, including the food, was exceptional. From the outset, The White Swan had a great 'feel' to it. The staff in reception were welcoming, warm and very attentive, spending time to take us to our rooms (in the courtyard - fantastic!). The bar was cosy and, as we waited for everyone to arrive, we enjoyed the banter with the locals. We were invited to have our own dining room, and this made it all the more special. The menu was imaginative, the food was excellent, and the wine, decently-priced and of good quality. The staff were great - relaxed, friendly, attentive, and charming. Nothing was too much trouble. This was a rare and inspired find, and it was unanimous that we'd be back - for TWO nights next time.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are a great idea. They have their own parking bays, and there's a little hin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thanks for your really brilliant review. Keep your eye on our web site (or this one) as we are doing some great deals between now and Easter. Do come again soon.

Regards

Victor victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.