We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Inn

Save Saved
You added The White Swan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pickering
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I booked this trip for my fathers 70th birthday , after staying myself a while ago . the reception staff have been great at organising every detail for me . Nothing was too much trouble, thanks they had a lovely time .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
You are very welcome. Thank you for your review and come back soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    80
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
36
227
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The others are right about this place, it is excellent. Its the team that run the place that are good in particular. We stayed for two nights last week, and they could not have been more welcoming, and helpful, but most importantly offering their time and effort to make our stay comfortable, without being asked. The Bothy is a great space at the back of the hotel with a woodburner, lots of seating, a great place to sit with a tray of tea after a day out walking and pretend to read the paper, or equally, as we did, sit up with a tray of drinks until the small hours. Various local farms supply with hotel with meat and other ingredients, and the good local choices are scattered all over the menu. We only ate dinner in on the first night, but it was simple, nicely presented and good flavours, good wine list too. The bedrooms in the hotel are smaller, not so new and possibly noisier. The rooms at the back off the carpark are great, bigger, quiet and away from the road. Its a pleasure to stay in a hotel room which isnt trying too hard, and simply offers good quality basics. A kettle with coffee, tea and biscuits, hairdryer that works, make up mirror in the bathroom. Wifi. New, comfortable beds with crisp white sheets. Newly done bathrooms with white suites and white tiles, good lighting and lots of hot water. There is a lot to like at the White Swan, will definitely be back. Pickering itself is not a destination in itself exactly, but well placed for other attractions within half an hour's drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon and maybe we can persuade you that Pickering could be considered a destination in itself even if the fact the White Swan is here isn't enough!. We have the NYM steam railway in town that can whisk you off as far as Whitby, there are amazing walks from here into the hills, there is a wonderful museum of rural life, unique wall paintings in the church and lots more. Turner stayed here, Hockney painted down the road, Whistler painted on the wall in the Memorial Hall. Haste ye back and we can show you!

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent one night at the White Swan and would not fail to recommend his hotel. The accomodation was in the excellent "hideaway rooms". These rooms are spacious and combine all modern creature comforts with local featues eg flagstone floors with underfloor heating and lots of rugs. There is a large and comfortable private lounge for guests only as well the delightful public bars with open fireplaces and a real contry pub ambiance. This was the real Yorkshire Moors! The evening meal and breakfast were both excellent. the service was friendly and attentive throughout and we shall definitely be back,

Room Tip: book the more moder Hideaway rooms located in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your custom and your five star review. The Daily Telegraph recently described the White Swan as 'God's own Country pub'. They got this wrong - l haven't noticed him offering to pay the mortgage so I can confirm it still belongs to us. So do come and see us again as soon as possible, tell all your friends, and help us spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a two night break including dinner. The room was a 'vintage roomy'. It contained all the expected facilities but nothing special. A dressing table with mirror would have been good but room was probably a problem. The lighting is very dim. Breakfast was very good and tasted wonderful. On the 1st night we chose starters of red risotto and pigeon breast. excellent. Fish cakes. lovely. Mains of lamb and steak and kidney pie. Beautiful. 1st choice of pudding had all gone so ice cream and lemon tart. No rum could be detected in the rum and raison ice cream. The caramelisation of tart lovely but pastry too wet. 2nd night starters of mussells which were excellent. Mains of hake which should have been served with creamed potatoes but was mustard mash. Fish and chips for the other main. No problem there. No almonds were served on the broccoli contrary to the menu. We did not order pudding. Waiters were difficult to catch and service was slow. We arrived at 7.30 for drinks, order taken 7.55 but were not seated until 8.25pm. Table booked for 8pm. They were busy on this night and were serving a private party in the other room but at these prices there should not be slip ups. All staff were extremely friendly and chef did send apologies for the mustard mash. Accepted. If i had wanted mustard mash I would have ordered the pork which stated mustard on the menu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your review. I note that you aren't in the habit of marking anyone too highly so an 'average' score from you is probably on the low side of how others might have marked us for similar comments. Glad you liked our food and I apologise if you found our service too slow at times. I do hope that you will come and see us again.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the White Swan for a mid week break on a DDB rate, we were put in a great room at the back of the hotel which was lovely although a little on the warm side even though it was October! There is a very nice club house with access to a tv and drinks, would have been good if there was a pool table. We had 2 evening meals and breakfast both days and the food was faultless and a great selection of local produce and wine. The staff were great and very helpful. If this place had a spa it would be perfection, but would defiantly go back as it is.

Room Tip: Stay in a room in the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review and I'm glad you found the food faultless and the service excellent. I do hope that you will return and see us again soon and if you do then please mention that you would like a cooler room.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband & I stayed here 9th & 10th November for our anniversary. We had one of the Hideaways which was lovely,plenty of room,warm (it was a very cold weekend). I don't think I've ever seen such a big bath and the shower had plenty of room,too. We had dinner on our first night which was excellent as was breakfast. Sunday breakfast was a bit slow but it was busy & hubby decided to have a kipper, but I love to have a leisurely breakfast anyway, so it didn't bother me. The staff are very,very nice.As I wrote in the visitors book- this White Swan is no Ugly Duckling! Could be our regular anniversary stay as it is so near to Whitby, which we love.

Room Tip: The Hideaways are at the back so away from High Street noise and pub next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your five star review and we would love you to make us your anniversary bolt hole but please don't feel you have to leave us for a whole year! You were very wise to get married a day or two before Remembrance Day - I'll bet Mr 'Penny' never forgets. Thanks again for your custom and your review. (Sunday breakfast can get a bit busy if everyone comes down at once as everything is cooked to order - as I am allergic to hot buffets - thanks for being understanding)

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A group of 7 of us shared a wonderful weekend at the White Swan Inn. The accommodation was outstanding and the service was second to none. All the staff were so helpful and could not do enough for us.
The Bothy, a room set aside for guests in the annex, was great as we could enjoy a relaxed day using that facility and extend our evenings without disturbing the other guests.
The food, as usual, was excellent.
I would recommend the White Swan Inn without any hesitation.

Room Tip: The hideaway rooms are more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
A massive thank you for your review. The Bothy was designed exactly with parties like yours in mind so it is brilliant when a plan comes together. We major on shooting parties during the week in the winter and we are really keen to offer small groups the same kind of hospitality at any time. Why don't you all come back with your bikes or walking boots next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.