We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porsche Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White Swan Inn to your Saves list
The White Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Porsche Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Eight couples arrived on Friday afternoon for our W.O.T.Y weekend. We had been given our own secure parking for our prized card and most of us we situated in the Hideaway chalet rooms.
The chalets were very well equiped,clean warm with everything that we needed for our stay. We had been allowed to have exclusive use of our own lounge which we great. We dined in the Lounge on Saturday night and the attention we second to non. Our cars were allowed to stay on site until Sunday afternoon as we all went off the Whitby on the Train for the dayWe would differently recommend that you give this Hotel a visit, well worth the price.

Room Tip: If you require peace and quite try the Hideaway roooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to look after you all and also to have your lovely cars on our car-park. We would love to see you again - maybe you should make it an annual affair. We have some fabulous 'drivers' roads within a few miles of here - we can't keep Clarkson and his gang off them!

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    89
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
40
266
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Situated in the centre of Pickering this lovely old Inn gave us a very warm welcome and a much appreciated complimentry cup of tea or coffee and delicious fudge. Our room in the main hotel was well equiped and very comfortable. Throughout our four night stay we were well looked after by the friendly and hard working staff and enjoyed hearty well cooked food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is really good for my troops to know their hard work is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our third stay at the White Swan earlier this year, a friend's birthday celebration was coming up and he decided to book the venue for his wife, himself and my wife and me, as he did'nt believe me when I said that it was probably the best restaurant we had eaten in, apart from the sumptious accommodation in the building itself. Our friends were quite astounded, and even better for us, we qualified for a free bottle of bubbly waiting for us in our room for recommending the establishment! The staff are most polite and professional, and have a great sense of humour, which they probably needed when I sugessted to my boss and his wife that they stay, which they did, and my boss inadvertently set fire to his table in the restaurant.The breakfasts are quite exquisite, the scrambled egg is out of this world according to my wife, and we will be returning before the year end hopefully to be spoilt again. A marvellous place to stay, and one of the dearer ones to say the least, but when you see what you get for your money, it is indeed money well spent.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the main building each time, which (personally) we preferred as opposed to the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your brilliant review. We look forward to your 4th visit. Keep recommending us please! I wish everyone was as proactive as you. Maybe check out our Winter Warmer offer on the web site if you want to come before the end of the year.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We returned to the White Swan after having had an amazing stay here last year. Whilst some things are still fantastic we did have a few little problems. We had booked on a two night antique trail offer- in a Hideaway Room. This offer included a bottle of wine on arrival- which we had to go to reception and ask for. The receptionist dd not seem to know about this offer ... The room was as expected- as we had stayed in the same type of room before- beautiful with a really comfortable bed and lovely soft bed linen, towels, bathrobes etc, Dinner the first evening was lovely as was breakfast the following morning- everything well cooked and presented. After a day out at the coast we returned for our second evening meal. I have to say that my meal was most disappointing. The mussels were very chewy (overcooked) and of a weird texture. I did mention this and received a refund for the mussels on the final bill but it did spoil my meal as I had selected the mussels as a main course option. Also the water that we ordered with our meal was never brought to our table- minor I know but still a niggle. Breakfast on our last morning was beautiful again but the orange juice and coffee we ordered were not brought to our table- 3 people who arrived after us received theirs but we had to ask the waitress again for ours. After checking out I also realised that we had been overcharged for a bottle of wine by £20.00- the wrong wine had been charged to our table so I had to call the hotel to ask this to be rectified. The hotel isn't cheap and although the staff are very friendly and the rooms are beautiful I was not completely happy with this stay- one mistake can be excused but when it is 3 or 4 it begins to become a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your brilliant feedback and I completely agree that in isolation these things are fairly minor but together they are at best irritating. We will discuss your review at our Monday meeting and ensure that the reception team know all about the special offers - this was the first antique trail package that we sold but still... Apologies about the other issues and I hope that you are satisfied with the way that we handled the refunds etc. Please don't let this put you off a return visit as we really value your custom.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just had a weekend stay here. Know the area like the back of my hand but had never stayed in this hotel. I have been missing out all these years. It's very atmospheric from the moment you arrive, you get the vibe that these people want you to have a great time and look after you. And in that way it's so different. All the staff we met this weekend were just so downright friendly, but also professional and knowledgeable. Made us feel very at home. Can't understand why more places are like this. I don't work in this trade but if I did, I'd make it the first rule. We will definately be returning, probably quite soon! Our room was lovely and cosy, the rest of the hotel is great, the snug and bar area and Black Sheep bitter being a particular highlight. The breakfast again was out of this world. Can't comment on the very popular looking evening dinner set up, as we had other arrangements that were the original reason for our trip. But next time, we'll be doing dinner there as well. It looked very popular. Gorgeous, gorgeous place, made me proud to be a Yorkshireman. Not that I have issues there in the first place......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks a million for your great review and very pleased that you have finally discovered the White Swan. Hospitality is all about the team enjoying looking after people and my team really do enjoy what they do. There is no secret to it but I too am amazed that others don't see the importance. Glad we have reinvigourated your Yorkshireness too - that is no bad thing. 7 gold medals and all that!!!

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great welcome, good room, love the shabby chic look and feel. The food is outstanding so you must book as we saw many turned away at the door. We had a room fronting onto the street and as the weather was hot and there is no aircon (not that it was expected) we had the windows open - great until you wished to sleep as the 'pub' next door was not quiet. Will we visit again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Rooms on street can experience noise from the neighbouring pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. Glad you liked the White Swan. The pub down the hill is sometimes but not often a niggle but they don't seem to care too much about anyone but themselves - however we only have three rooms at the front and eighteen elsewhere so make sure you ask for a quiet room on your next visit.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed here a few times now and absolutely love it! So lovely to get away and the thought that goes into the service and whole experience is wonderful, eg the complimentary drink when you arrive, the home made biscuits in the room, the staff who are so pleasant and nice and always smile and say hello when they pass you, the gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom, the lovely thick clean towels, and the dressing gowns in the wardrobe! It is all such a luxurious experience. We have stayed in room 10 in the main hotel twice now - the bed is huge and very comfy! We want one ourselves so we can fit our 3 cats on the bed with us!! The food is excellent, we recommend the steak, chips are to die for, and the yorkshire breakfast is very good.
Thank you all - we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. Glad you liked room 10. Interestingly, we have some really good customers who bring their cat with them and also like room 10. It is a cat but it behaves just like a dog - going for walkies and all!. When they arrive at the back door the cat is so used to building that it runs upstairs and sits outside the room until we arrive with the cases.

Do come and see us again soon and if you are serious about the bed, then we can get one for you and I would be happy to pass on the trade discount. Just give me the nod.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.