We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberries of Pickering

Mulberries of Pickering
5 Bridge Street, Pickering YO18 8DT, England
+44 1751 473799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 59 Restaurants in Pickering
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Sandwiches, British, Family Fare, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mulberries became part of the NYMR in August 2014, and has quickly establised itself as a firm favourite in Pickering. Serving a wide range of light bites from soup and sandwiches to a bowl of wedges, as well as breakfast, home made cakes and scones and meals which can include lasagne, pie and mash and many other favourites. The menu changes daily, so make sure you ask to see the specials board. In the summer take advantage of the outdoor seating, where you can sit and watch the engines as they run round in the station. We are also licensed, so you can enjoy a glass of your favourite tipple.
South Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Mulberries seemed to us to have definite potential - we have a pleasant light lunch here and returned for tea and a scone. On both occasions the food was OK - but also on both occasions mistakes were made with our, really quite simple, orders. Down to carelessness as far as we could tell.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD GOOD SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We visited Mulberries twice during our Steam Train holiday although we have eaten there before this was the first time since the NYMR had taken the café over. The café is clean, service is very good, the waitress remembered us and our order the second day that we visited which was a nice touch. The quality and price of the food is very good and the staff are very friendly , Mulberries will certainly be our lunch stop on our next Steam Train holiday.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

I highly recommend the fruit scone with cream & local jam, and the gluten free Victoria sponge. My husband and I couldn't decide between the two so had half each. Eat on the terrace out back if you want to catch sight of the hourly steam train coming into station or if you have a dog (access via the station). Very good prices.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good service and reasonable food for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

It seems to depend what you order as to the quality of the food. The soups are undoubtedly excellent. However, my beef sandwich was dry and small and nearly £6. My daughter's Panini was delicious. The service was friendly and quick. Not sure about it being, "The best in Pickering."

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

A wet and dreary Good Friday saw us looking for somewhere for lunch. Mulberries was open and we managed to grab the last table. Totally missing the specials board we ordered tea for two and soup (1 x broccoli and stilton and 1 x mushroom). We were told on ordering thst there would be a wait for food so we were prepared. However the wait was nuch longer than we anticipated due to a large party of 8 ordering before us. We had finished our drinks before our food came. When it arrived it was worth the wait - hubby enjoyed his creamy broccoli/stilton and although my mushroom had a strange flavour it was nonetheless lovely. The soups came with a freshly baked crusty roll which was delicious. To finish we ordered fruit scone to share which was just perfect. Not too sweet and deliciously crispy with a soft inside.

All in all an enjoyable lunch and somewhere to return as very reasonably priced at around £13.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberries of Pickering also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mulberries of Pickering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberries of Pickering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.