We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Save
You added Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire to your Saves list
Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A group of us stayed on this site from 6-10/5/13, in tents, we were near the re-developement works so the ground was a bit lumpy for tents, the staff did say we could re-locate after the busy Bank Holiday weekend and were very helpful, but we decided to stay put. The site is very peaceful and quiet with forest walkks all around and is very close for the North Yorks Moors and Whitby and Scarborough, with York being about three quarters of an hour drive away. One complaint that I have read on other reviews PLEASE can the staff check the Mens toilets for cleanliness and TOILET PAPER more often, I took a roll with me just in case !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Camping in the Forest. I am pleased that you enjoyed a peaceful break and I will bring your review and feedback to the attention of the team at Cropton.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    54
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
90
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have visited here the last three years each time staying in a Silver Birch Cabin. The first time we visited we stayed in March & the second two times we opted for November. What better way to start the day than sitting it the hot tub with the frost on the ground watching the wildlife waking up.. The cabins them self are done to a really good standard and are very well heated with under floor heating through out. During the day there are some activities you can book on to or hire a bike.. Although these are quite expensive.. Think bike hire was nearly £60 for one day for a family of 4... As we take our small children & dog they love the walks through the forest.. of which there are many. We like to walk through to the Keldy site and have a drink at their retreat before heading back or down to the pub in the village. Once night starts to fall the kids again love looking out at the wildlife in the heated cabin. For me another dip in the hot tub is required..
On the last occasion we went we did have a couple of small problems but the helpful / friendly staff were really good and things were sorted very quickly.

One thing i would recommend is that you take a good torch and don't bother taking your mobile as there is very little service.

This November 2013 we have decided to book again but this time we have opted to stay at the slightly larger site of Keldy to see how it compares with Cropton so keep an eye out for the review on that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay once again. I think the hot tub was the key to your holiday - perfect for relaxing! We look forward to your visit to Keldy in November and I am sure you will have another rewarding and relaxing break.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I recently stayed here for a 3 night weekend with some friends. The cabins are located brilliantly within the Forest and are surrounded with some great walks and bike trails. There are activities available on site which can be booked on arrival and bike hire is also available though I did think £18 per day was a little excessive.
The cabins were very well built and extremely sturdy and very well heated via underfloor heating. However, they were a little rough around the edges and in need of some maintenance. Things such as splatter marks on walls, rough grouting around the bath, some damp and mould in a wardrobe. Dont get me wrong I enjoyed my stay, just I would not class them as luxury. Some maintenance time needs to be planned. They appeared older than their 4 years.
The staff were brilliant though and when we reported 2 very minor things they were on site to fix and deal with within 20 mins. They are really really nice too and cook up a great steak pasty in the forest retreat cafe.

Room Tip: rooms do get very hot so maybe take a fan!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at Cropton forest. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your break, particularly that steak pasty. You’ll be pleased to hear that we do have a refurbishment programme underway at the moment to refresh the cabins. I hope we’ll see you again at Cropton, or indeed one of our other forest locations in the UK soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Set in beautiful woodlands and the best cabins with hot tubs. Staff were really nice and helpful especially the brilliant welcome talk by AJ. Have booked to go to the sister site in Keldy in the new year. Would highly recommend for couples, mates and anyone who just wants to wind down. Nicky, Merseyside

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your weekend break at Cropton. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it and that the team at Cropton looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you to Keldy when you visit, where I am sure you will have an equally relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've been to spiers house twice and we loved it the campsite was clean all round the staff was great. The walks and cycle tracks in the forest are priceless. We will be returning again this year.its best to book early to make sure you get a plot as they do get taken fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great time. Cropton is a beautiful location with long forest walks on your doorstep. We hope to see you back again; why not stay in one of our luxury cabins complete with your own private hot tub?

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Me my partner and out 20 month old daughter stayed in a silver birch cabin at cropton for 4 nights starting the 4th of february 2013. we have stayed in a few cabins and this one was by far the best, the cabin was clean, modern, spacious and realy warm with the under floor heating we had to open the windows most of the time as it was getting too hot. we werent complaining as it was beginning of febuary and was realy cold and snowing. We orderd a pizza to our cabin from the forest retreat which was lovely and reasonable pricing to our local take aways. However one thing we didnt like was when we first arrived we were told there was going to be an electrician coming round to check sockets ect and if we had a certain time we would like them to come round in our 4 day stay could we let them know which we were fine with. so the next day we went out into the local town and when we returned we noticed the telly had been plugged out and all appliances were off so we assumed they had been in the cabin without our permission when all our personal belongins were in there which we wernt happy with. My partner was going to complain but i told him to leave it as i didnt want it to ruin our break. The hot tub was perfect and realy big could fit 6 to 8 people in it and the big glass window ment we could have half an hour in the hot tub aswell as been ble to see our daughter playing and watching telly. We couldnt get signal on our phones so if we wanted to phone someone we drove into the nearest town and we could not get wifi in our cabin but you can go to the forest retreat and get the wifi code (its a slow connection). Another down fall to the place was its sort of in the middle of no where and nothing to do, perfect for people that want to get away and just do nothing. but we have a toddler and would of liked to do more. On the mornings my partner was getting in the hot tub and all the wildlife were coming realy close on our decking so we got amazing photos. Overall We loved our 4 day stay here it was a lovely break from reality and we will deffinatly be returning again, we have reccomended it to everyone we know.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent break with us at Cropton. I am pleased that you enjoyed your few days away from it all. I appreciate your feedback about the electricians, there was a bit of a breakdown in communication there and we should have agreed a convenient time with you. It’s great to hear you would recommend us and I hope you will be back yourselves in the future too.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay at cropton forest which we started on 4th February. We booked this holiday for my birthday as a relaxing holiday were we could walk round the local area with the dogs and relax in the cabin taking in the views and making use of the hot tub.

We arrived on the Monday and were given our chosen cabin which was number 26. All was fine up to Tuesday evening when my partner went to get a shower and there was no hot water, we presumed it maybe just taking its time to heat and therefore he got a quick cold shower.

On Wednesday morning the hot water was still not working and at about 1100 I went to the forest retreat to report the problem.

A assistant came down to the cabin and checked the boiler and he had to reset it. He was unsure why it had errored and asked if we had a power cut, we hadnt suffered a power cut. He showed us how to reset it and asked us to inform him if we had to reset it again.

After one hour we had to reset the boiler again as there was no hot water. I popped to the retreat to inform the assistant and he said he would come along again. By the time i arrived back the boiler had gone again. When the assistant arrived he informed us he was going to call a plumber out as he believed the boiler was faulty.

Approximately three hours later he returned to tell us the plumber couldn't make it that evening. He explained we could use the camping showers if we wished to get a warm shower. He also promised a plumber would be coming from Scotland the next day to get it fixed and he or someone else would inform us of a time in the morning.

As an emergency measure he requested someone get us some heaters to try to keep warm in the wintery conditions. When the heaters did arrive we had to unpack them (they were brand new) and in doing so found out we needed a screwdriver in order to fix the legs to the heater to make it safe to use. Again we had to pop to the forest retreat in order to ask for a screwdriver to fix the legs to the heater. Should this have really been left for us to do?

The next day between 1000-1200 we went out walking however whilst out we do not believe anyone had been to update us on a time the plumber was coming.

At 1400 my partner went to the forest retreat to return the screwdriver we had used the previous night. Whilst there he asked for a update regarding the plumber and the same assistant from the day before who had been really good and friendly previously just said the plumber was on his way from Scotland. At this point he was no were near as helpful as he had been previously and didnt give any indication of time and didnt seem very interested in the situation.

By 1700 we started to lose our patience so therefore I went to the forest retreat yet again.

The young assitant on duty had no idea we were awaiting for a plumber to arrive, he was really sympethtic and understanding. Another assistant named Zak called the plumber who were only at the Scottish border on there way back to Scarborough (as this is were they live) and the plumber had no idea about the situation and was told to ring someone else. The other person did not answer. The retreat was closing at 6 and Zak said if he had any news before it closed he would come to the cabin to update us. We recieved no update and no plumber turned up.

This is the second time we have been to Cropton for a four night stay. Previously we left after one night due to our dog been ill therefore in no way was it Croptons fault. However in order to claim the cost of the holiday from the pet insurance we needed a letter to say we had left early. The manager at the time was really unhelpful and after weeks of asking Cropton for help we had to escalate it to head office as last resort and a letter was provided.

After this incident we said we would never return again to Cropton but decided to give it another go due to it just been a customer service incident that wasnt a complaint as such.

After these two experiences we have totally lost confidence in Cropton forest and forest holidays as a whole as there head office customer service is just as bad, we just feel so let down.

This has totally wrecked our holiday and my birthday. The cabin has been cold in rooms and we haven't had full use of the hot tub due to it been cold indoors and having to get cold showers.

We have been unable to relax as we never knew if someone was going to turn up. It has got to the point we are angry we spent money on the holiday and we have not got what we paid for and therefore the money has been wasted.

On top of this we had other separate bad experiences. We was told someone was going to come on Monday evening for a welcome talk within a hour of checking in. No one arrived and my partner went to the retreat to ask about cooker. When the assistant arrived I asked if anyone was coming and he said we wasnt on the list for one. If he hadnt come to look at the cooker we would not have known no one was coming and would of been waiting around for someone.

Also on Wednesday two gentleman from a electrical company knocked on the door and said "oh doesnt matter thought u was out". These later returned when we was out and enteted the cabin whilst we was there without our permission. We would of allowed this but just would of been nice to be told.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent stay with us at Cropton. I am most concerned to hear of your experience, particularly as you were giving us a second chance after the problems following your first visit.

Please email us directly at customerservice@forestholidays.co.uk and we will give your complaint the attention it deserves.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.