We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Save
You added Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire to your Saves list
Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just got back from 3nts relaxing break staying in number 11 cabin silver birch 2 ,

It was our first time to cropton cabins and we were very impressed with everything it offered for a chilled out lazy 3 days.

The cabin we stayed in you just could not fault at all,
From the warm underfloor heating to the decor in all the rooms, and the kitchen had everything
you needed to cook your own meals.

Sitting in the hot tub under the nights sky with a few drinks with friends was amazing as it was minus 3 but so refreshing.

This place is less than 1 hour from were we live in middlesbrough with whitby, helmsley, scarborough, pickering ect makeing this site a perfect location for us.

All 4 of us had a great time and will certainly be going back,
We recommend anybody thinking of having a relaxing break to go for it.

Thanks to all the staff well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Cropton. I am pleased you had a fantastic time on our site and enjoyed the nearby attractions on your doorstep. I will ensure your review is seen by the staff at Cropton. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    54
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
89
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forget, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A lovely setting with nicely constructed lodges. Polite and friendly staff.

This could be 100% smashing, but sadly, some items, which could be quickly, easily and cheaply be attended to were missing.

When arriving in the dark.it was very difficult to identify which cabin was ours. We were given a site plan, but could not see any other signing, which, when there is no light and with heavy rain, the small sign on the cabin was nearly invisible.

There was no booklet in the cabin, so fathoming the ovens and trying to find the "sky films" was an adventure. We never found the films.

There was no roasting tray, I had tighten the pan handles, the gas lighter did not work for the oven, tea pot too small for 4 mugs of tea and there were quite a few cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. We ordered and paid for towels, but we only realised they were not there after the reception area has closed. Apparently, this was our fault for not telling the person who came round to see if we were settled in. We wondered about moaning to the staff about these things, but decided to maintain the ambiance of our relaxing break instead. But, as you may agree, all these items could be easily fixed.....

In some circumstances, the lack of the information booklet in our cabin could be quite serious, as there was no information on the location of a payphone for emergencies (no mobile communication anywhere). Because we are old and boring, we went out to look for one in the dark. There is indeed a payphone near to, but not visible from, the reception area, but if urgency is of the essence, perhaps there might not be time to go hunting.

The cabins were comfortable and those of our party who used the tot tubs liked them.

Compared to similar accommodation nearby, the value was excellent, but with the sorting out of a few glitches, could be superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your winter stay at Cropton. I am pleased that you had a good stay; however disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We really appreciate your feedback and will ensure that this is passed onto the General Manager.

I do hope that you come back to Cropton to stay with us or another one of our sites and we will ensure it is a fantastic Forest Holidays experience for you and your family.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this campsite at least half a dozen times and love it. We always live on our van so don't use toilet block but fully serviced pitches are excellent. The forest walks are never ending and our dogs love it. Miles and miles of off lead walks to explore. Have always found the staff very friendly and helpful and guys like Zac totally get what the outdoor escape is all about to people like us. Spent three weeks chilling there over Christmas and new year and intend to do the same again this December and January.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Cropton. I am pleased you had a fantastic time on our site and enjoyed the beautiful forest on your doorstep. I will ensure your review is seen by the staff at Cropton. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Visited Cropton Cabins these weekend and stayed in a silver birch cabin for 6 people and 3 dogs. On arrival the cabin wasn't quite ready so we did the short 1 mile walk through the forest which killed the time in between. The cabin itself was very well presented, nice and clean. Great size with 1 large ensuite bedroom and 2 decent single bed rooms, although the single beds were quite uncomfortable. The lounge and kitchen area is well laid out and great for socialising etc. The outside area is again,great size with the good hot tub which had a nice view of the forest. With the trip happening at the end of January and upto 10 inches of snow falling on our first night we were thinking the under floor heating throughout the cabin would be a god send but unfortunately this didn't work properly and really spoilt the stay. The double bedroom with ensuite was heated but that was it. The lounge,kitchen and 2 other bedrooms were unbearably cold,especially on a night. The other big disappointment this weekend was the reaction of the site staff and the customer service given. On arrival we were told one of the team would visit us around 4pm to make sure we were ok,show us how the heating,hot tub etc worked, he never arrived. We then had to walk p the hill to the site office ourselves at 6pm to ask if anyone was coming as we had a few questions about the heating and the tv wasn't working. We walked back down with one of the site team who said we needed to turn all the various thermostats up and the heating would kick in within 3/4 hours. He also retuned the tv and said if we had any further problems then just to ask. As we didn't have hardly any heating for the first night, we then asked the guys to visit us again to check the heating was working which they did and said yes it was all fine. After returning from a long walk, looking forward to a nice warm cabin, we returned to an ice cold floor. After trying to get things working again ourselves, it still didn't work,except in the double room which was like a sauna! The third day of our stay, we again informed the site office that the heating was still an issue, so much so some of our friend couldn't sleep due to the cold. They informed us they would check again whilst they were out. Once they did this they said it was all working again!? At this point we were fed up and just excepted the fact that we were going to be cold. We felt there was no real effort or enthusiasm from the site team to sort the issue and that we were actually in the wrong for bringing it up. It really did tarnish what could've been an excellent weekend break. The only silver lining to the heating problem was when we were checking out, the receptionist did ask us if the heating issue had been resolved to which we said no and he offered us a 10% discount on our next stay, however we felt this could've been dealt with a lot sooner!

Overall, a great site, location was fantastic with lots of great walks for groups and dogs, it's just a shame the heating problem wasn't dealt with very quickly or efficiently!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your winter stay at Cropton. I am pleased that you had a good stay; however disappointed that you had problems with your heating which were not resolved during your stay. I will feed this back to the site to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

I do hope that you come back to Cropton to stay with us or another one of our sites and we will ensure it is a fantastic Forest Holidays experience for you and your family.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Cropton Lodges from 14th January to 18th January 2013.
We could not have picked a more beautiful time to stay at the Lodges, as made beautifully picturesque by the snow which had fallen the previous night. It was like our very own winter wonderland.
We had set off early in anticipation for bad travel but arrived early at Cropton. We had believed we would not be able to get into our Cabin until 1600 but pretty much got straight in over a hour early.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were giving a map and showed where and how to get to our lodge. We had pre-booked Cabin 14 this was set more in to the forest. We had been asked by a member of staff if we minded if he popped in each morning to take our electricity meter reading and were offered free pizza in compensation...who would say no to free pizza?! hahaa!
The lodge was reasonably clean but we had to wash a few of the dishes and benches. The lodge itself was absolutely beautiful, very warm and cosy. The hot tub was boiling and ready for use.
On the first night there was a power cut due to the snow falling on the electricity cables on the moors. The staff came around with candles and re assured us the power would be back on within a 3-4 hours fingers crossed.
Due to our lodge being set back into the woods this seemed to be more appealing to the wild life which included countless squirrels, pheasants, 3 deers lots of beautiful birds and 3 feral cats. Take some nuts and cheese ..they liked cheese :D
Since number 14 is more set into the woods this makes it more private whilst being on the decking area and in the hot tub.
There are endless amount of long and short walks from Cropton Site and would definitely recommend this to everyone!

Room Tip: Lodge number 14 was set more in to the forest. This seemed to be more appealing to the wild life whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Cropton. I am delighted to hear that you had such an amazing winter wonderland break. I will ensure that the team at Cropton receive your feedback.

We would love to welcome you back to Cropton or one of our other eight idyllic sites. Please look on our website for the latest availability and offers.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived 1hour early and the staff were accommodating and let us go to our cabin as it was ready. No 33, silver birch. AMAZING!!!

One double bedroom with en suite, another bedroom with two single beds and another large bathroom. Large front room, flat screen TV, good size kitchen with a dinning table, and under floor heating. large patio outside with seating. (Too cold to use this time of year!!) and of course, the amazing hot tub!! Which was fantastic.

There were food offers and coupons that the staff gave us on arrivals, eg buy 1 pizza 2 half price (from the retreat, (reception))

We took the chance to go on the dusk walk, with the ranger A.J, this was fantastic, he knows this stuff. And was happy to answer all our questions, thank you!!!

The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.

This holiday was a last minute break, it was extremely worth it- would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Cropton. I am delighted to hear that you had such an amazing break. I will ensure that the team at Cropton receive your feedback, particularly our Forest Ranger.

We would love to welcome you back to Cropton or one of our other eight idyllic sites. Please look on our website for the latest availability and offers.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having read some off putting reviews before leaving, I must say, I wasn't sure I'd done the right thing by booking a weekend break at cropton cabins.

On arrival, staff were very friendly & helpful and even let us check in an hour early, as our cabin was ready.

We stayed in a golden oak no.39. Although the cabin was a bit tired & dated, it was practical (with two bathrooms - one shower room downstairs & an en-suite with a lovely deep sunken bath), ideal for a family of five.

The kitchen area, complete with dining table & chairs, was spacious & practical. Only downside was the cooker, which due to wear & tear, the temperature & compartment markers had worn off, making it dificult to tell which part of the oven had been selected & at what temperature.
This was easily resolved though as we used a torch to make out the numbers & 'played with' the other dial until we'd selected the right setting.

We had a visit from the ranger soon after we had unloaded our car. He pointed out the problem with the oven but we told him it was fine & that we would manage!

We did point out that we did not have a nintendo Wii, which should have been in our cabin as stated on the website. He informed us that due to a number of thefts, these were to be collected from reception but to be quick, as there weren't enough to go around!

We decided that we wouldn't bother & that the children spend enough time at home 'gaming', after all, this was a family holiday.

Hot tub was fantastic & enjoyed by all - especially at night when we could look up at the sky & see the vivid stars due to the absence of light pollution. We were even lucky enough to see two shooting stars!

The fire was an added bonus, although, I would recommend taking your own kindling & logs & also essential groceries as the on-site shop is expensive.

If you get chance, go to Whitby & visit the Abbey & St.Mary's church - the churchyard that inspired Bram Stoker to write Dracular (there are 199 steps to climb).

Also a trip to the beautiful city of York, with it's famous Shambles street & quirky shops. The sunday market is worth a visit too.

Overall we all enjoyed our relaxing break with Forest Holidays but that is exactly what it is. We are regular centerparcs visitors, so if you're expecting this to be similar - DON'T.

On the plus side we had great days out as a family and chilled out in the evenings whithout spending a fortune. I'm glad we tried it & at half the price of CP you should too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.