We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocklands Lodges fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocklands Lodges

Save Saved
You added Rocklands Lodges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocklands Lodges
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Cawthorne Lane | Wrelton, Pickering YO18 8HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
North Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rocklands Lodges fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We completely enjoyed our stay! Fantastic, what can I say...down to the detail, some tea bags & sugar for a cuppa as soon as you arrive, shower gel, soap, fairy liquid, tea towel, scourer and dish cloth. Bedding & towels were spotless, bed, pillows & sofa all very comfortable! Power shower was great! We took our two dogs & it was lovely to not feel second class with pets! Very welcoming! We also enjoyed the fish & chip van that visited on Tuesday evening at 7.30. Lovely chutneys and jams on sale in reception. Very friendly owners with a wealth of information about the area. We will be visiting again! Thank you! ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Lodge/cabin very clean and well apponted, owners extremely welcoming. Local pub (the Buck Inn was great also good food and good beer.

Room Tip: no. 10 cabin was very quiet and just right. Others seem similiar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

How anyone could not like Rocklands is totally beyond me! My husband and I and our 22 month old have just returned from a lovely weekend there. We booked at the very last minute for the May bank holiday weekend due to cancelling our camping trip because of the very low temperatures forecast! We are so glad we have found this beautiful place. We booked the only lodge they had left which was a studio and paid £120 for two nights. The usual price being £190. A great deal we thought. The studio was cozy and warm and with lovely furnishings. The shower was lovely and hot and the bed was perfectly comfy and the kitchen was very well equipped. We sat outside on both evenings even thought it was cold, and enjoyed the peace and quiet. We honestly could not hear a sound apart from all the lovely birds who came to visit. Our little boy liked the rabbits and guinea pigs and he used some of the play equipment. Yes as others have said some of it was a little tired but it was still all in perfectly good working order and our little boy didn't care! We do hope to return at some point and would probably book a one bedroom lodge, purely for the seperate room. Thank you Rocklands for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My partner and I booked for 2 nights for my birthday. We got a special 2 night deal for 99 pounds. We stayed in No 5 which is a studio sized lodge and ample room for two people. The studio lodges are semi detached but have private balconies and although the other studio was occupied we never heard our neighbours. The site although of a small size seemed to be fully occupied but was never noisy it was very tranquil.

The lodge owners provide beautiful crisp clean linen and quality white fluffy towels. The lodges are well kept. There are ample kitchen utensils should you wish to cook and the kitchen has a gas oven, hob, toaster and microwave. There is a hair dryer ironing board and iron. The beds are comfortable and the pillows lovely and soft but more pillows are available on request. All the lodges are centrally heated and as the weather was glorious we only needed this for an hour each night when it got a little chilly. The bathroom has a large shower cubicle which was perfect. The balcony has table and chairs and each balcony is ramped with a gate should you take your dog this can prevent them from straying.

We ate in one night and the other at The Feathers in Helmsley a short drive away.

We would like to thank the owners Mr and Mrs Watson for a lovely stay and also for the card they left for my birthday. We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: For a relaxing peaceful break for people who appreciate the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Came here for 2 nights for mine and the other halfs anniversary we needed a stress free relaxing break somewhere That was an home from home and boy did we get that. We stayed in a studio lodge got a great last minute deal and enjoyed every min of it. Was really easy to find and was lovely and quiet the walks were fab and we popped to the seaside half hours drive away at most to scarborough which even though quite chilly was a nice break. We cooked some lovely meals in the lodge and couldn't have asked for anything more we got everything we needed crockery pans etc. a clean tea towel cloth and sponge the place was spotless the bed was super comfy. We got some lovely heart chocs spread on the bed when we arrived. The show was a luxury power shower and you could control the heating yourself it had also been put on for us so the lodge was nice and snug when we arrived. Never had a problem with the tv could get all channels. Was a fab break we really enjoyed it. Will be def returning and hoping our crazy labrador behaves himself next time he can join us ( he was jumping around in the car and crying like a fool so we had to turn back round and take himto my mums to baby sit him lol )
None the less fab time run by lovelyfriendly people :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Me and my Girlfriend arrived Thursday 26th Jan for four nights stay in the Studio Lodge. We were happy to find that our modern lodge in its Woodland surrounding was spacious,warm and had everything we needed for a comfortable & peaceful stay,
I think the location is ideal for those seeking to explore the surrounding area,its 10 minutes from Pickering by car,
For anyone looking for a peaceful retreat then i would recommend Rocklands Lodge. I think we shall return there soon ,next time in the spring or summer as many of the local attractions are closed in winter.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Thanks once again for a great visit. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, as were the 2 little dogs. The lodge was just as we remembered - warm, cosy and well designed. Everything we can ask for on our escape to the country ;o)

We would certainly recommend you to all our friends and be back ourselves (hopefully very soon)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocklands Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklands Lodges

Address: Cawthorne Lane | Wrelton, Pickering YO18 8HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty lodging in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocklands Lodges 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique complex of just 14 luxury self catering wooden lodges, nestled amidst pine trees and set within a beautiful wooden glen. Accommodation consists of Studio Lodge, One Bedroom Lodges and 2 Bedroom Family Lodges. This is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a relaxing holiday. Weekend and midweek breaks available. Pet friendly with a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Rocklands Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocklands Hotel Pickering
Rocklands Lodges Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocklands Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.