We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere that bit special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashfield House Luxury B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashfield House Luxury B&B
Save
You added Ashfield House Luxury B&B to your Saves list
36A Ruffa Lane, Pickering Y018 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Somewhere that bit special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

"Special" is the best way to describe Ashfield House Luxury B&B.
Not only is the impressive property be of 5* quality but the hosts themselves Debbie & Tommy can best be described as five star, friendly and gave a typically friendly Yorkshire welcome.
To be met with a welcoming cup of tea or coffee of your choice and very fresh home-made lemon cake was a real treat.
The quality of the accomodation is, as described, luxury, the bedroom was very spacious and the en-suite is extremely well appointed with a wonderfull shower cubicle but the "piste-de-resistance" has to be the residents lounge and conservatory, it really is gorgeous.
To set you up for the day Debbie provided an extremely satisfying, filling and extensive breakfast choice - check out the locally grown mushroom and cheese coissant, lovely - eaten in the conservatory while overlooking the wildlife garden.
A wonderful, restfull stay in exceptional surroundings, what more would you want.
So, go on give Ashfield House Luxury B&B a try, you certainly won`t be dissapointed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfieldebbie, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always so nice to get such positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfasts made with locally sourced ingredients, the secret to the lemon cake is down to the freshly laid eggs from our happy hens! it really does make a difference. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
136
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very warm welcome of tea and cake for our 3 night stay in July. This B&B is rightly advertised as luxury. Modern and very well appointed room and en-suite bathroom, with many thoughtful extras. An excellent breakfast served in the conservatory. An excellent location, 10 minutes walk to the town centre with a good choice of offerings for an evening meal. We visited the moors and Whitby one day, and Castle Howard the other. Pickering was an ideal gateway for both.
Debbie our host, and Ashfield House B&B, could not have been better for our visit to this part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfieldebbie, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you Murray for your kind words, we are so pleased you both enjoyed your time here and that you found our location just right, far away enough from the noise of the main road and busy town but close enough for an easy ten minute walk to the centre of everything! Hope you are enjoying your summer in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wow! What a treat! From the warm lemon cake and Yorkshire tea on arrival to the hand made chocolates on departure it was truly 5*. The accommodation is beautifully appointed, the food is excellent and it was a joy to sit in the conservatory dining room overlooking the garden. Debbie is a delightful host! What more could one ask?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfieldebbie, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you had a nice time here at Ashfield House and that you enjoyed the lemon cake and your breakfasts in the conservatory. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Ashfield Luxury Guest House 13/14 July. It is such a beautiful house, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The guest lounge and conservatory are places you want to relax in and the bedroom most comfortable with so many little extras. We were welcomed by Debbie with tea and lemon cake - what a lovely touch. It is luxury and worth that little extra. Will be going back in the future. The best B&B we have ever stayed at. Thank you Erica & Andy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you Erica and Andy for you kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your break here, and that you found everything so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We met up with friends @ Ashfield House for Jubilee weekend. We agree wholeheartedly with previous comments about this outstanding B & B. It was a pleasure to eat a high quality breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the wildlife garden. It was even more special to sit there in the early evening watching the deer on the adjoining land. Bedrooms & bathrooms are to a very high standard but it was the little extras such as the hand made chocolates that made all the difference. Thank you Debbie for your excellent hospitality & we look forward to visiting again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the conservatory is a lovely place to watch the local wildlife and to see the deer who often wander into the garden. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Beautifully appointed B&B with charming hostess Debbie. The rooms are very modern, spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet. The conservatory and guests' lounge are spacious and relaxing with great views of the wildlife-friendly, meadow type garden. It was lovely to watch the birds and squirrels as we enjoyed Debbie's delicious breakfasts.
Tommy and Debbie planned and built their B&B being mindful of the environment and the result is wonderfully comfortable for their guests with underfloor heating, double glazing and use of rainwater being just a few of the many measures Tommy has taken to ensure minimal environmental impact.
There is ample, easily accessible parking at Ashfield House and it is within easy walking distance of the town centre and the North Yorkshire Moors Railway Station.
From our first contact with Debbie when we booked accommodation online from Australia, she was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you Murray for your lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed staying at Ashfield House and that you were pleased with all of the environmental measures we took when designing the house. During Autumn, among other things, we intend to build a large pond in the wildflower meadow to encourage more wildlife, maybe the deer will stop for longer to drink!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Have just returned from a three night break at Ashfield House whch we found on the Internet
Site ' IKnow - Yorkshire'. And what a find, its everything you look and hope for when booking
a Break at a new location.
Everything is fantastic; the House, the Room, the Food, and Debbie could not have been a more
welcoming Host.
Thank you Debbie for a wonderful break - you have a 'Five Star Award' from us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you George and Joan for your lovely review and your 5* award! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashfield House Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House Luxury B&B

Address: 36A Ruffa Lane, Pickering Y018 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern detached stone built B&B. 8 minute walk into Pickering, private off street parking, two spacious double bedrooms, kingsize beds, large luxury en-suite shower rooms. Local handmade chocolates. Generous hospitality trays refilled daily including mineral water, fresh coffee and Yorkshire crisps. We have two stunning guest lounges one with a log burning stove, perfect to come back to after a day exploring the coast or countryside in the colder months and the other, tranquil conservatory to enjoy in the warmer days and evenings. Breakfast is served in the conservatory overlooking our wildflower meadow, this is a perfect place for seeing the many varieties of birds that flock to our garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Luxury B&B Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashfield House Luxury B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.