We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added High Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   High Street | Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 51 Pickering B&B and Inns
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been coming to High Farm for over ten years. Ruth and Steve's hospitality could not be better. Welcomed around teatime and invited to the relaxing sitting room with the open coal fire, a pot of tea was presented together with toasted teacakes, scones and cake. In the house, there are 3 bedrooms, 2 large and one medium-sized, all tastefully furnished with mostly antique, quality furniture. Bedding is good quality and a good night's sleep can be had, although the curtains let through some light on a sunny Summer morning. Tea-making facilities are in the room together with biscuits, a few sweets and a bowl of fruit The pretty gardens are good for a peaceful meander and there are 4 lovely cats to stroke. Breakfast is comprehensive and of good quality with lots of choice. As an alternative to the bedrooms, there are cottages next to the house, suitable for couples and families. To avoid drinking and driving, the New Inn and Great Yorkshire Brewery are 5 minutes walk away and the pub has an excellent choice of its own beers and meals are available in the bar and the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponteland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our first visit to High Farm and we shall definitely come again. We had a very warm welcome from the owners, who seem to have thought of everything we might need. The accommodation and food is excellent, and the farm is situated in stunning countryside with wonderful views ; very peaceful.
Anne & John Brown

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our first trip here and won't be our last.Stunning views all around.Bedrooms very,very nice,clean with everything you could wish for.Excellent breakfasts and Ruth always on hand with the tea pot! Didn't really want to come home.Ruth and Stephen are lovely people and we were made to feel like part of the family.

Room Tip: All rooms are great,We had number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

High Farm is a beautiful place to begin exploring the North Yorkshire Moors, Whitby, Pickering and the surrounding areas. We timed our trip perfectly to coincide with daffodils, sunny weather and baby lambs scampering around the field across the road. Children especially will love how close you can get to nature here.

The Bed and Breakfast itself was comfortable, beautifully appointed and the service was excellent. We were welcomed with fresh cakes and a massive pot of tea (which my mum loved!) in front of the coal fire, which was lit even though it was still mild outside. We were made to feel very at home. The owners Ruth and Stephen are kind and friendly people who provide an excellent service! A few of the reviews say that 'nothing is too much trouble' for them and we certainly felt that way too.

The room was clean and comfortable having everything we needed. At breakfast you had so much choice - fruit, yoghurt, cereal and then a cooked breakfast with whatever combination of traditional (or vegetarian breakfast foods you liked off the menu). Naturally we chose to have everything available - when your on holiday why not?? So we can say with good authority that everything on the menu was tasty and good quality food.

All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: You can also book holiday cottages here for bigger families :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittinbourne GB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our first visit to High Farm and will definitely not be our last ( hopefully). We were made so welcome by Ruth and Stephen ,the owners, Tea and delicious cakes in front of a roaring coal and log fire as soon as we arrived and from then on our 5 night stay was made perfect by the excellent service, the breakfasts and the comforts of a beautiful room. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly Ruth and we were made to feel special. The cats were lovely too and one of them made our day by being on the windowsill of our room as we pulled the curtains on our first morning.We would highly recommend High Farm B&B
for peace and quiet and A1 service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Stowmarket
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Four of us stayed at High Farm at the end of October- what a lovely welcome we had! roaring fire ( such a treat - we only have radiators at home) home made cakes and tea. nothing was too much trouble, comfy beds, wonderful breakfasts , good pub just down the road - what more could you want? We will definitely hope to be staying with Ruth and Stephen again!

Room Tip: The bedroom we had was a bit larger than the one my brother-in - law had. but both rooms had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second visit to High Farm and again it was excellent. I felt the need to tell veryone how good it is.We were greeted by the Lovely Ruth and a delicious plateful of homemade cakes.The rooms are cosy and well kept and spotless. Ruth does make sure you have everthing you need and nothing is too much trouble. Her breakfasts are yummy and again you can have what you want. We stay at High Farm for the Pickering War Weekend, which is always excellent, and Ruth & family make sure we have all the comforts of home.I really can't praise them enough. Look forward to next year.

Room Tip: Choose room no 1 it is spacious and has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: High Street | Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the friendly atmosphere of this elegant Victorian country house, surrounded by beautiful gardens filled with many varieties of trees, shrubs and roses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your High Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Farm Bed And Breakfast Pickering, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.