We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Save
You added Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire to your Saves list
Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first time visiting Forest Holidays and we're not disappointed. The cabin was well laid out, clean and well equipped, especially good was the hot tub and the log burner, although the logs available were a little pricey!
We had good weather which made a difference and the forest surroundings were lovely, we saw many birds and were visited daily by a squirrel.
We took our dog, ideal place for dog walking!!

The only negative was the parking, the signage was not not good and after a few hours travelling we arrived to find our parking against our cabin had been taken by another visitor!

We have however booked again to visit Forest Holidays at Nottingham for next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your break at Keldy. I am please that you enjoyed your first Forest Holiday and I hope it will be the first of many. Sorry about the parking, I hope you managed to sort it out, I am sure that one of the team at the Forest Retreat would have come to the rescue. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    163
    75
    43
    21
See reviews for
240
223
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The weather was kind for November. The staff were kinder. A lovely break. The dogs were welcome. It was a shame the hot tub and decking overlooked the road and not the forest ands wildlife. It didn't spoil a lovely relaxing weekend

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday at Keldy and I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have visited Keldy with family and friends almost every year for many years now. My daughter was only 5 when we first went, she is 20 now but still asks when we're going again! For the first time this year I decided to use the cabins for 'team buiding' with colleagues. I wasnt sure how it would work, but it was perfect. Cooking, eating, drinking and walking together for just a couple of days, you really get to know people. No phone signal or WiFi was more of a bonus than a hinderance. Still be going back again soon with the family though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
You probably know Keldy as well as we do! It’s great to hear that you have been coming for so long and we feel privileged that you chose to bring your work colleagues here too. We look forward to seeing you on your next family break; make sure it’s completely work-free though!

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We visited Keldy this year for the first time after visiting the Cropton site for the last 4 years. Upon arrival in our Silver Birch cabin we noticed a big difference in the style of cabin. The Cropton cabins are single level where as the Keldy site have an upstairs. Having young kids we were a bit unsure about this as the first thing they wanted to do was head to the balcony at the top of the stairs to look over the cabin. Another couple of point where the cabin differs from Cropton was there was no Bath tub & no underfloor heating in the Keldy site silver birch but to be honest these are minor points that would not put us off returning.
The staff & customer service from check in to check out at Keldy was second to none. All staff were very friendly, enjoyed a chat & had good information to local events. They pointed in the direction of a good firework display down at Sinnington.
In our opinion the site at Keldy has more to offer with the play park & forest retreat. The layout of the cabins here was good with them been situated between the trees. Taking the dog with us we also enjoyed the wide range of walks at the keldy site.
So although we have enjoyed Cropton for the last 4 year we now feel the future for us is at Keldy and will be looking to book very soon to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, having stayed at Keldy for the first time after four years at Cropton. Of course we feel each location has its own unique charm and we’re delighted that you have enjoyed both. The team at Keldy will be particularly grateful for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back when you stay again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a really chilled out weekend , not far from attractions.We stayed in a gold cabin with a hot tub which was easy to use.The cabin was lovely and clean and the area was really quiet.No phone signal or wi fi so it felt like a real break.

Room Tip: Gold cabins are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Keldy. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay away from it all, and I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

me and my family have enjoyed our weekend at Keldy forest. we stayed in the Golden Oak cabin 18. which to be honest I felt slightly disappointed with the view from our cabin being the reception car park, i would not have expected this especially as I paid a lot of money for the Golden cabin. feeling slightly deflated and annoyed at the fact we had drove all this way to be stuck in a cabin not in the forest but the car park for the staff and visitors i decided to go inside an see what the cabin was like. having read many reviews about the cleanliness i was concerned .. HOWEVER i was very very surprised and happy the cabin itself was modern clean and spacious. to say it was a dog friendly cabin we didn't smell any dog or find any dog hair. the hot tub and the log fire were lovely and once the shop shut at 8pm it was peacefully quiet. the next day me and the family went for a lovely walk around the forest and after seeing that some cabins were quite close to one another and in all honestly apart from the disappointing view from our cabin after 8pm we were totally private and not overlooked or next to any other cabin at all. I will defiantly return to keldy but next time i would book my cabin in advance and go for a more private one with forest views.
also the indian takeaway was delicious we had it delivered to reception and i guess the bonus of being directly cross from it we could watch for the car coming down the hill.

Room Tip: choose your own cabin its not that bad if you end up in cabin 18 it was very clean order the indian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing family break with us and that you found some positives in the location of your cabin once night fell. All the cabins are carefully planned and everybody has different preferences, so it can be worth selecting a specific cabin when you book. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a long weekend at Keldy and thoroughly enjoyed it. Weather was great and love the bike trails, it's great to ride straight out of the lodge and up onto the fire roads. You still can't beat an evening under the stars enjoying a dip in the hot tub!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Keldy. I’m pleased you enjoyed the biking and your nights under the sky in the hot tub and I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our Keldy cabins are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.