We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironman weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Woodlands Hotel to your Saves list
The Woodlands Hotel
St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ironman weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the Ironman event with 3 of us competing. The guys really went the extra mile to give us the breakfast we needed in the run up to the event, got up at 5 am on race day and even dropped us to Tenby at 5:30 am, great people and a pleasure to meet, well done guys and thanks for everything!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Mark & Nicole were the perfect hosts. Really comfortable 6 day break.Their attention to detail is faultless.The breakfasts were perfect. Pleasant short walk past harbour to town. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel - the ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked Room 4 with a large bay window & partial seaview, spacious, light & well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Room at the back was rather small but comfy and quiet and really quite adequate. Breakfast was excellent.

Parking was a bit of a faff if the place is full and only really works if you go precisely where you are told - staff were obviously well versed at precision directing!

It is a bit of a walk down (and then back up) a steepish hill if you want to walk into town for dinner. Would likely cause a problem if you had fitness or mobility issues.

I would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I have just arrived home from a week-long stay at Woodlands. We really had a lovely time and couldn't find fault with anything!

We stayed in the smaller room at the back of the hotel, which was a perfectly adequate size for our stay, with plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space. The room and its en-suite were spotless and thoroughly cleaned every morning.

Regarding the food; the breakfasts were very nice and we also ate once in the evening. Our evening meal was extremely reasonably priced and the quality of the food was comparable to the best local restaurants.

The location is excellent, two minutes down the steps to Glen beach and the cliff path, two minutes downs the hill to Saundersfoot harbour, town and beach, and dependent on the tide, 20 minutes to Monkstone. When we stay again, I think we will probably go for a superior room at the top of the hotel for what must be a lovely view.

Finally, we were made to feel extremely welcome and would like to thank our hosts for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nicole sells herself short as she gives advice where to eat in Saundersfoot. We had a wonderful evening meal, as good if not better than any in the town. Her breakfast is wonderful, cooked just as you want it and you really feel at home. The bedroom was very comfortable, I overslept one morning! I am not particularly active and the hill to the town looked daunting at first but actually made me feel good when I made it back in the evening, only a 5 minute walk, even for me.. It is a good hotel for sightseeing as it is well located just on the Tenby side of Saundersfoot. Nicole and Mark are such welcoming and happy people, nothing would have phased them. Thank you for making my first visit to Pembrokeshire so very enjoyable. Linda Parry

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face the road but are not particularly noisy and you get a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

To be honest, it wasn't the most beautiful hotel but it meets the clean and comfortable criteria. Rooms are small and the toilets are of reasonable size. My friend and I slept well and we had a good breakfast. The good location is a plus point for the hotel. The host was very nice and helpful throughout the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

nicole and mark were the perfect hosts .the room was excellent and very clean and the bathroom was'nt short of anything,there were plenty of towel,s and shampoo for the 3 of us.The room had a lovely view of the gower coast and saundersfoot bay.Me and my wife and daughter all slept very well.The breakfast was excellent, a good selection of cereals.The garden at the rear of the property was lovely and the dog's and cat made my daughter's day.Would stay here again.I would not hesitate to recommend.Thank you Nicole and Mark.David Sian and Sara Edwards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Hotel

Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small guest accommodation 450 yards from beach and village centre, all rooms en suite, superior rooms are larger with sea view, standard rooms overlook the garden. Free off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot
The Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.