We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Woodlands Hotel to your Saves list
The Woodlands Hotel
St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Have just returned home after spending two nights at this lovely Hotel. Mark, Nicole & Staff were so helpful and friendly. Our room had lovely sea views. The bed was very comfy, the en-suite was spacious and most importantly everywhere was sparkling clean. The equipment in the room all worked well ( Hairdryer, Kettle TV etc) We enjoyed our breakfasts in the pretty dining room. The garden was very inviting and we really liked playing frisby with the dogs!!
We are returning to Saundersfoot in October and look forward to staying at Woodlands again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Mark Nicole, the dogs and the cat. Were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The B&B is very clean and so comfortable.Room had everything we needed, anything extra u need, Nicole would supply. A short walk to the beach, via the lane opposite. Is ideal for families. Very close to the village via the beach or main road. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we will deffinately be returning..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Loved the spacious bedroom with sea view, and really comfortable beds slept better than at home, breakfast was delicious served piping hot, the decor in the hotel is beautiful. The atmosphere is friendly, and there is plenty of information of places to see, visit, and a timetable of the tides. The Woodlands is a short walk away from the beach (10 mins walking slowly) which stretches for miles at low tide, and is really beautiful. I would definitely revisit this Hotel again. The only thing I liked least was the steep walk up St Brides Hill (which isn't far) from the town and harbour (but then that shows how unfit I am!!)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We have stayed here many times. The standard has always been high and the hosts, Nicole and Mark, are attentive, friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast is well worth staying there for, great choice , traditional English ( Welsh ) or cereals, or both .and all freshly prepared to your own taste.
Rooms are very comfortable, clean and valeted daily.
There is a lovely garden at the rear where you can sit and rest at will. You have your own keys to enter and exit the hotel as you wish.
All in all a very relaxing environment
O.K , it is at the top of a steep road, but what better way to help digest the hearty meals served down in the town, than an uphill stroll followed by a drink at the extremely well stocked ( and served ) bar at The Woodlands.
I do and have, recommend this hotel to many people, and am well aware of the many who regularly return there year on year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed for four nights with Mark and Nicole and had 2 single rooms plus a triple room with wonderful views. The location of the hotel is marvelous for walking on the beaches, the forests and cliff tops. We had the most wonderful time in Winter - the beaches were deserted and one could walk for miles along the spectacular coastline without seeing anyone. There is so much to see and do in the area - it is a brilliant base for exploring. The hotel is very good value for money and the owners are friendly, professional and helpful. The food was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We booked a superior double room - but when we arrived were show a small standard room with washand basin in room. The "en suite" was a converted broom cupboard - if you'd sat on the toilet - your knees would be in the shower. This was unacceptable so had to pay more for a family room on the top floor with a decent bathroom. The website blurb says "A warm welcome awaits you at the Woodllands Hotel" - I've had a better welcome from the Stazi police !. There are notices up everywhere - you must not do this or that - too many rules and regulations to list here. Breakfast on the whole was good apart from the cheap chipolatas and cheap tea bag (only 1 per pot) - needed to ask for another to get any taste.
I got the inpression that the proprietors' hearts weren't really in this venture - just going through the motions. Agree with prev comment - preponderance of fake flowers everywhere just made the place look tacky.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biscarrosse52, Owner at The Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Whilst we welcome fair comments, good and bad, which give us important feedback and help to maintain high standards, the above review is not only inaccurate but untrue.
The Woodlands hotel is classified by Visit Wales, who are the official grading authority, as a 2 Stars Hotel and as such the hotel is inspected annually. The main criteria of being star rated is that ALL ROOMS HAVE TO BE ENSUITE. Therefore the reviewer is not telling the truth.

The comparison with the ‘’Stazi police’’ is slanderous and calls into question the objectivity of this review as the ‘’Stazi police’’ were an organisation responsible for the murder, torture and incarceration of thousands of people.

Upon their arrival, the guests were shown to a superior double room as booked, not a standard room. Again their comment is untrue. This room measures 17ft by 12ft with a large bay window with partial sea view. It cannot be described as small by any standards. The wash basin is located between the wardrobe and the shower/toilet unit. In an ideal world the ensuite facilities would be in a larger space but to describe it as a converted broom cupboard is not only inaccurate but again untrue. The description of the space between the toilet and the shower unit might be true if you were about 8ft tall but the reviewer was of a far more modest stature.
After the guest complained, they were indeed shown a family room which contains both a superkingsize bed and a single. They were charged an extra £4 per night for this room

The criticism, that there are notices up everywhere with ‘rules and regulations’, is exaggerated to say the least. Yes, there are the regulatory instructions REQUIRED BY LAW AND GRADING REGULATIONS regarding fire safety/exits as well as check out times and meal times.

We are somewhat bemused about the comments regarding ‘’cheap tea bags’. We agree that we do not normally use Earl Grey but take issue with such household brands as Tetley or Thyphoo being described as such. Incidentally, we always have other varieties available if guests request them
Not everyone likes strong tea and as a general rule, we use one bag for a small tea pot which is normally to the taste of the majority of people. If it is not, you only need to ask and more will be provided, which obviously happened on this occasion.

Finally we come to the comment that the reviewer got the impression that we were going through the motions and that our hearts were not in the venture. We pride ourselves on making our guests welcome. For newcomers to the area we will, IF THEY WISH TO LISTEN, give them a detail introduction to the village and the area covering everything from the best pubs/restaurants to the most suitable walks. This seems to have been much appreciated by the majority of our guests, but was not in the case of the reviewer.

The large number of regular customers, which accounts for more than 55% of our business is perhaps testament to our commitment and the views expressed by the majority on Trip Advisor is a much fairer reflection of our establishment than this inaccurate and insulting review. We are now considering an action for libel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Hotel

Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small guest accommodation 450 yards from beach and village centre, all rooms en suite, superior rooms are larger with sea view, standard rooms overlook the garden. Free off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot
The Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.