We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out after 2 hours.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Merlewood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merlewood Hotel to your Saves list
Merlewood Hotel
St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Checked out after 2 hours.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very dated, reminded me of some sort of institution, hospital or care home, except they have more character. Looked clean but smelt stale, especially the bed linen. Planned stay 1 night over the Easter weekend, left after 2 hours because it was so depressing. Much better places to stay for the premium rate this hotel charged.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Spent 144 GBP for 2 nights. The rooms are old fashioned. The pool included in the price was closed. Will never go there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Hi just back from 3 night stay there, hotel staff to be commended, nothing was too much trouble.
Little nuances such as previous night requests, (ice water on table - white wine chilled- extra rack of toast in morning ect. ) were repeated with no prompting. Staff so polite.
Misread time of evening meal first night , and pantered down about a hour and three quarters late, (dining room emptying)peronal intervention by deputy manager (Russell - your a saint) and no worries meal was freshly cooked and served and incident laughed off, not made to fell guilty at all.
Was driven to distraction first night by a dripping shower, reported next morning on way out .On return maintenance (late pm) had checked it out and a plumber was required ! Obviously not going to be repaired until Monday am (after leaving) drip now a continual flow so unacceptable. Personal intervention by the owner and a out of hours plumber was called and repair effected within hours - how great was that !
Ok quick summary, food great (good variation and good size portions) reccommend the home made soups, service good, staff very friendly,great sea views from dining room and bar - fresh towels and room cleaned daily well - plenty of hot water - rooms well heated and warm - outdoor pool there (too cold to try whilst there) Resort only about 300 - 400 yards away down a steep slope but at least one stop returning on the ascent to catch breath Resort though small very adequate, offerring all you'd expect and more..nice beach
Ok few cribs, my double bed was lumpy (maybe I was just unlucky) and no remote controls on colur tv's throughout hotel but hey it was a lean and a click away huh ?
Some evidence of work in progress of updating their fire sensors and alarm system buttons..but think this should be completed in near future
Over all a great little hotel and excellent value, has a great character about it..recommend to all..give it a go.

oh say hi to staff there for me..

I'll be back :O)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

First things first ..... the staff were fantastic (we had 4 kids 6m - 7yrs in our group) and couldn't have been any more helpful. The relaxed atmosphere towards children was a huge bonus and the hotel was full of families returning time and time again, a great advert in itself. However, this is a 2 star hotel and the bedrooms are sorely in need of modernisation/decoration. Probably a 3.5 out of 5

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

The hotel gave my wife and me a very comfortable break. The car park capacity is more than adequate and the appearance of the hotel as one drives in is welcoming. Check-in was organised and friendly. Our room was of a reasonable size and all furniture was uniform and well-matched with plenty of storage and hanging space. Bathroom had a walk-in wet room shower which always gave hot water. Size of bathroom was very good and in an extremely clean condition, as was the bedroom also. Choice at breakfast was good and items always freshly cooked. We did not try the formal evening meal but ate a bar meal on two evenings. The menu for the bar meals is good and we found our choices very satisfactory for size, taste and value for money. The bar offers a fine vierw over part of the beach and water.

All the staff whom we met were friendly but not over intrusive. Our only disappointment was that the bedroom's TV. set was rather dated and lacked a remote control facility.

We would not hesitate to stay here on any future visit to the area. The hotel is sited a fair distance up a very steep hill on the road to Tenby but a judicious use of the local bus services meant that we never had to walk it! Local buses will, it seems, wherever it is safe to do so, drop and pick up passengers to meet their requirements.

The total impression given by the hotel is one of being clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed as a family for two nights in this hotel. It was clean and tid but clearly in need of a major investment. The hotel was well run and the staff were without exception warm and friendly. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was well prepared and plentiful. All rooms and community areas were kept to a good standard of cleanliness. The bar was reasonable and the service good. Now for the negative ... the Hotel requires updating to bring into the 'modern era'. What do I mean? Well there is no Sky (if only in the Bar) nor WiFi these are now considered standard in most places I have stayed even in the UK! A room could also be set aside for a small Gym area ... and the pool is open to the elements ... perhaps a retractable cover of some form would help so that it could be used all year. Entertainment was limited. On or visit it seemed that the Hotel was populated by aged coachtrippers ... nothing wrong with that ... but that appears to be the market it is targeted at. Would I use it again. Well yes as it was good VFM and all the staff were friendly and that in itself helps the traveller to enjoy their stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I actually live very near the Merlewood Hotel and selected it as the venue for a weekend event I was organising for colleagues who were coming from around the UK. The location is great tucked down a side road but with magnificent views over Saundersfoot and its lovely beach. The staff were welcoming and accommodating for all our various demands. Anyone who has been to the Merlewood recently will know that since the previous reviews were posted that the Hotel has undergone something of a transformation. Many bedrooms particularly downstairs have had new bathrooms with walk in wet room type showers etc-very handy for people with mobility issues. There is new flooring, new furniture-it all looks fab and stylish. For a 2 star hotel it is really extremely good value with service and facilities beyond those one would normally expect for a hotel in this rating. I can honestly say that we all had a very enjoyable weekend there, well done Merlewood. I would like to add that we are a group of people who are all tourism professionals.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlewood Hotel

Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Merlewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlewood Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlewood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.