We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in Every Aspect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Brides Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St Brides Spa Hotel to your Saves list
St Brides Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NH, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in Every Aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What an absolutely stunning hotel. My wife and I had a short, special 1 night break, away from our 3 and 5 year olds and really could not have hoped for a more perfect place.

From the welcoming and friendly staff to the sensational panoramic views this hotel is superb. Our room was a "Good with balcony and seaview" and whilst not facing the harbour (the ultimate view I would say) still gave us a breathtaking sweep of the ocean to wake upto and enjoy from both the bed and the balcony itself. The "Good room" was quite small but beautifully decorated and presented, with a wonderfully comfortable bed.

We dined in the resturant on the evening and the food was fantastic as was the attentive service. Also the views from the restuarnt/bar etc are stunning at night with the lights of the harbour and town twinkiling below.

The spa, in particular the hydrotherapy pool with its infinity aspect is simply stunning - just be aware that you book a 90 minute slot for this rather than have unlimited use. whilst this might not suit some it actually enhances the spa experience as the whole complex (inc: sauna / Steam rooms etc) is only ever host to 10 people at any one time.

All in all this is a fantastic hotel in every way - As a romantic getaway it certainly takes some beating.

We can not wait to return !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I am so pleased to read your feedback and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at St Brides. The view is something we never tire of and I am glad to hear that you agree with us! We pride ourselves on delivering consistently high standards of service and I am delighted that the team made your stay so special.

Our guests believe our rates offer fantastic value for money - especially out of season where we include complimentary dinner included in our rates. Keep an eye on our website for our special value added offers and always book direct with us!

We hope to see you again soon at St Brides.

Hwyl fawr,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    118
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
88
413
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in this hotel. The room was lovely with beautiful views of the beach and sea. We stayed for 3 nights and ate in the restaurant. The meals were excellent. All staff were friendly and helpful. Saundersfoot is a gorgeous spot and unspoiled. The hotel is excellent and we will return.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, I have passed your kind words along to the team. Here at St Brides we pride ourselves on delivering consistently high standards of service and I am delighted that the team made your return stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to St Brides again soon.

Hwyl fawr,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I spent a full day here fort birthday. Absolute bliss! Attentive but not intrusive staff. The aroma is wonderful and refreshments constantly available. I had lunch in the gallery which was faultless! My only disappointment was that the salt mist room was out of action.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I am delighted to hear that your birthday celebrations with us were a success and that you enjoyed yourself. I am sorry that our salt infusion room was unavailable during your visit, but pleased this did not detract from your overall enjoyment of the day.

Your kind words have been shared with the whole team who hope to welcome you back soon.

Hwyl fawr,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Amazing place to visit/stay! My husband surprised me with a Spa day, Meal at the cliff restaurant and an overnight stay at St Brides Hotel!! I was really excited as I had in the past walked along the beach in Saundersfoot hoping that one day I would be lucky enough to enjoy a day in the 'Infity pool' / Spa and maybe be lucky enough to try the food! Well I was...... and I have to say it was even better than I had expected!!! Everything from the spa to the food to the room to the staff was 'spot on'. They made me feel like a princess for the weekend and we have booked a return visit in the new year!! One very happy lady xx

Room Tip: One with a sea view = perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experiences of St Brides. I am pleased to hear that your stay lived up to the expectations you had and I have passed your kind words along to the team. Here at St Brides we pride ourselves on delivering consistently high standards of service and I am delighted that the team made your stay so special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to St Brides soon.

Hwyl fawr,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lunch and dinner and afternoon tea at this fantastic hotel has always been of the highest standard from bar staff to all dinning room staff and with one of the most panoramic views you could wish for, a real treat. As locals we have never stayed at the St Brides Spa Hotel but with the calm comfortable atmosphere can only image what it must be like to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an appreciative review, I have passed along your kind words to the team. Here at St Brides we pride ourselves on delivering consistently high standards of service and I am delighted to hear that you find this again and again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to St Brides again soon.

Hwyl fawr,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked in for two nights when we decided to attend the Red Bull Cliff Diving Championships.
As it was just a few weeks following major surgery, I was temporarily disabled. The room we were allocated was obviously for disabled people and the bathroom was very well equipped accordingly.
We made use of the infinity pool which, along with the views from the dining room, proved to be the highlight of our stay. Hotel staff were both efficient and friendly. Breakfast was varied and delicious.
Only downside was WiFi - very slow at best and spasmodic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at St Brides. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Those divers in the Red Bull championship were spectacular athletes diving from those heights. Rather them than me that's for sure!

Your feedback regarding our wi-fi has been investigated and rectified, so thank you for mentioning that.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and see you again soon.

Hwyl fawr,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcoming reception . Taken upto room 215 ("best room" ) by the receptionist and shown around the room.
Tastefully appointed with seating area.
Two sets of French doors opened out into a balcony with small table and two chairs.
Amazing view of the harbour/beach/sea/town.
King bed (which was 2 x 3 ft beds zipped together - what made this bed feel so comfortable was the 2 thick mattress toppers as well as 2 padded mattress protectors along with good quality cotton bedding.
We asked for a were given extra pillows by housekeeping.
Tea/coffee making equipment with (proper) carton of milk in the fridge along with complimentary water( which wasn't replaced after one night - we were there for 3).
Dressing table in room with not only a mirror but electric sockets for hair dryer - well done! Oh hair dryer,iron and ironing board as well.
Free wifi with excellent signal throughout hotel.
Super bathroom with separate bath and large shower - the shower itself wasn't brilliant / pressure not great and water temperature a bit erratic .
Robes/slippers provided along with the usual toiletries.
Double sink. Good quality towels.

Restsurants
The Galley overlooking the terrace and the beach offers a informal dining experience - reasonable menu with ok prices.
Good choice of wines by the glass including a rather yummy Pinot noir!.

The Cliff restaurant which is situated adjacent to the Galley is more formal a la carte. .
Interesting menu - excellent food and wine. (It was pointed out to us the wines not available before we chose - brownie point here!).
Intimate dining by candlelight somewhat spoiled by a large party of noisy business group.
As happens time and time again, as soon as the main course dishes were removed we were asked if we would like dessert and coffee - although we asked for at least a 20 minute rest, we were asked again 4 times by 3 different waiting staff !!!.
We ended up just having coffee as we felt too much pressure was put on us to have pud..
Although overall we enjoyed our meal, what we felt was totally unacceptable was that from 9.30 pm onwards as diners left the restaurant, the staff were laying the tables for breakfast including the table immediately next to ours - talk about bring made to feel they want you out!!!
We also thought the tables were too close together for private conversation.

Breakfast

Taken in either of the two restsurants depending how busy they are.
Cooked breakfast to order - excellent - much better than a hot buffet style.
Cereal,juices,fresh and dried fruit,yoghurts.
Disappointing bread and pastry selection.

Spa

Thermal hydro pool is outside in the form of a very very small infinity pool - perfect setting with the sea in the background.
As it is so small the hotel requests the facility is pre booked to avoid overcrowding.
Although it was a pleasant experience it is far from bring the best hydro pool I've used.
The spa area itself was small but adequate with steam room and sauna.
Plenty of towels,robes.
Ladies shower provided shampoo,conditioner and shower wash but body lotion would have been most welcome too!
I had 2 treatments - a pedicure and a facial. My husband had a massage and a pedicure.
2 relaxing areas again quite small with limited reclining chairs/beds.

Overall we had a most relaxing and pleasant stay and left feeling very relaxed.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review. We welcome feedback as we believe it constantly helps us improve our standards.

I am delighted to read through so many positive aspects of your feedback and am pleased that we were able to make your stay memorable. The points you raise regarding feeling pressurised in the restaurant at dinner have been discussed with my Food and Beverage Manager as that is certainly not our usual standard. Guests come to St Brides to relax and unwind, not to feel rushed - so thank you for this feedback.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to St Brides again in the future and thanks again for staying.

Hwyl fawr,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Brides Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Brides Spa Hotel

Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Brides Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination spa hotel with 46 rooms, 20 with sea view and balcony. Cliff top restaurant and marine spa with thermal suite and infinity edge vitality pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your St Brides Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Brides Hotel Saundersfoot
St Brides Saundersfoot
St Brides Spa Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Brides Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.