We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cwmwennol Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cwmwennol Country House to your Saves list
Cwmwennol Country House
Swallowtree Woods, Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Runcorn
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Stay with my wife and dog for three days I must say its one of the best short breaks I've had for years.the staff are absolute diamonds,food out of the world,owners really excellent hosts, would recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Fantastic secluded location, but close enough to local amenities. Extremely welcoming and friendly people who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The unhurried atmosphere was noticeable as soon as we realised how relaxed we both were. The room was spotless and comfortable and the food was superb, both breakfast and especially our evening meal. All in all a wonderful experience that we are planning to repeat very soon. Many thanks to Vicki and Roy and all of their staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, the location is excellent very near to Saundersfoot beach, well a ten min walk, 2 mins in the car. The hotel is nice and the hosts and staff are helpful and friendly. The bedrooms were clean, bathrooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. Crisp white sheets and fluffy towels.
We booked dinner, bed and breakfast and could not fault the meals. Our family ranged from 15yrs to 83 yrs and the meals were really excellent. Everything was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. I see a lot of reviews for the breakfast which was also excellent but not many for the evening meals, i recommend booking half board or at least try the bar meals, they really are fab!
We saw badgers in the garden each night and a fox. There is a small paddock of 4 little goats outside and the owners have their own beautiful, friendly dogs who are allowed in the bar in the evening. They are lovely and have a gentle nature, we loved them. We will return here without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criccieth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great food, great welcome again from roy and vicki ,all the staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast is fab with lots of choice. The hotel is good value ,we will return again in the near future x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just spent a great weekend break here. The hotel is in a lovely part of the country and just a short walk to the Pembrokeshire coastal path. We were made to feel really welcome by the hosts, Vicki and Roy. Dog owners were not just tolerated but made really welcome. Obviously not allowed in the restaurant but a separate table was set for us in the bar so that we could eat with them. Room was fine, and the menu in the bar was very good and quality and quantity was fine. Two happy evenings spent in the bar in front of a log fire with our dogs, watching badgers feed outside. We will certainly be back again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I would never ever stay there again! Booked an executive room, expected it to be clean however there was a cream couch in the room with cushions and to be honest it was filthy! I was totally gutted!
We had booked and paid for 2 nights but only stayed one night!!
Went home totally disgruntled and had a hot shower!
I would not go back even it it was free!!!
My husband & I have a German shepherd who we put into kennels for the weekend and to be honest his kennel was cleaner than our room!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

When the stress of everyday life gets to you and you need somewhere unwind and relax. Cwmwennol certainly ticks all those boxes. To be greeting by such friendly owners and to be made feel so welcome is always very satisfying. The comfy rooms and welcoming bar really do give you a home from home feel. Food is always freshly cooked and breakfast are lovely. If you choose to stay in the hotel for an evening meal again you won't be disappointed. Hearty portions and delicious deserts. Then what better way to finish relaxing than sitting with a drink in the bar watching badgers in their own environment. Location makes it so easy to find, but still with that remote far away feel. I look forward to returning again soon. Thank you Cwmwennol

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cwmwennol Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwmwennol Country House

Address: Swallowtree Woods, Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel surrounded by beautiful woodland. Vicki and Roy welcome you to the Cwmwennol Country House which sits in the Swallowtree woods, gradually extending towards the shoreline and westwards towards Monkstone Point. If you fancy a stroll to the beach then take the path through the woods and you will be there in minutes. The bright and well-appointed rooms all have en-suite shower or bath, a television and a hospitality tray. The restaurant is non-smoking and has a wide selection of delicious meals on offer and, for the smaller appetite bar snacks. Whilst staying at the Cwmwennol Country House you will not be short of things to do with plenty of beaches to explore, the furthest being a thirty-minutes drive away. The Georgian town of Tenby has a beautiful harbour and is a must for anybody visiting the area. With three castles in the surrounding area Manorbeir, Pembroke and Carew you won't be short of fun things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cwmwennol Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cwmwennol Country Hotel
Cwmwennol Country House Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cwmwennol Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.