We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Guest House.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lanterns Guesthouse

The Lanterns Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lanterns Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Lanterns Guesthouse
milford terrace, Saundersfoot sa699el, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Guest House.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just returned home having stayed at this lovely guest house with our two grandchildren,we cannot understand some of the negative comments in other reviews.
We stayed in room 4 - this was a family room,1 double bed,and two single beds. The room was beautifully decorated and well furnished,it was much larger than most other family rooms we have stayed in and we were pleasantly surprised.The large en-suite was spotlessly clean and well equiped.
Couldnt find fault with the location as its right in the heart of Saundersfoot only minutes walk to the beach,and near resturants and pubs which are all very family friendly.
Steve and Vivien made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.We will certainly be returning in the near future,thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a fantastic family room very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd999, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We had been very confused by a bad review of this room only a few days before your stay. Your review has put our minds at rest, thank you . We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lanterns and feel we must pay a compliment to your Grand children and their behaviour. It was a delight to have you all stay and glad you enjoyed your visit to Manor House (even in the rain)
We look forward to welcoming you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed for 3 days and I have to say The Lanterns was a joy. The Lanterns is situated in an ideal location with its' own parking a minute's walk from the seafront which is ideal if you want to enjoy the beach and still be close to your accommodation. You are close to the shops and all amenities without the noise from the traffic.

We had Room 2 at the front of the house which gives you a view out to sea. The room was spotlessly clean and comes with tea and coffee making facilities which is very welcome after a couple of hours driving. The bathroom again was spotlessly clean and after a long day out walking a wonderful power shower!

Breakfast is more than ample with cereal, fresh fruit and juice, toast and a full cooked breakfast. Vivien and Steve were on hand without being intrusive with a wealth of local information. The breakfast timings suited us a treat as we wanted to be up and out enjoying the scenery.

I can't recommend The Lanterns enough and will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd999, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure meeting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the lanterns for 2 nights. If you saundersfoot. your great grandma's house for a few nights with very old fashion room etc it will suit you fine. Rooms seriously need an upgrade. You can only have breakfast between 08-30 - 09-00 which i thought was poor etc if your a family trying to sort the children etc. Breakfast was actually ok if you make it on time. Location was
excellent bang in the heart of saundersfoot which was good and a short drive to tenby folly farm and oakwood park. I would certainly go back to saundersfoot just not here im afraid.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd999, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are very puzzled by your comments regarding the room.
Room four where you stayed was redecorated last year and the carpet was renewed at the same time. Having booked online you would have seen a number of photos of the room you were booking prior to selection, so we are unsure why you would have booked a room you disliked so much. Regarding breakfast timing, we can see this may not suit everyone so we are reviewing this
for the future. We also noticed you marked The Lanterns very low for value. Having paid less than £90 per night for a very large room with a double and two single beds, large en suite bathroom and breakfast during school holidays we cannot agree it is poor value. In fact we are confident it was the cheapest in Saundersfoot .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at The Lanterns and are completely shocked at some of the negative responses...

We had a lovely stay! Steve and Vivien were very welcoming and we felt we could ask them anything we required (not that we needed to!).

The Lanterns has a PRIME location in Saundersfoot... a very short, downhill walk to the town and beach... perfect for anyone and everyone!

The facilities were lovely... shower/hair wash available in shower... nice, hot, powerful shower... handwash at sink... tub of cotton buds/cotton wool etc.... towels provided ('most' hotels have now stopped changing towels on a daily basis to be more "eco-friendly" so why are people complaining? Get used to it!)... comfortable bed (I'm 6ft7 and was immediately offered a different room if the bed foot was an issue - if that's not "great service" then I don't know what is!)... all working lights (apart from one in the main room light but it didn't matter to us in the slightest!)... room and en-suite were clean... hair-dryer available on request...

Breakfast... well... we loved it! Are people really that picky about butter and toast?! If you noticed the butter wasn't real butter... why didn't you ask?! If you wanted brown bread toast but didn't ask for it, you've only got yourself to blame! We had a nice mix of white and granary... I'm sure some brown would have been obtained if we had asked for it...! Why don't people simply "ask" about breakfast when they arrive?! The quality of the ingredients were beautiful and cooked to perfection... empty plates proved that!

People's unattainably high expectations nowadays are simply astonishing!

ONE thing we would have liked to have had access to... wireless Internet. A very simple addition that would put the cherry on the cake for people's stays.

Steve & Vivien... we had a lovely stay and would definitely return! Keep up the great work...

Room Tip: Room 6 is ideal for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd999, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we were so sorry that the fireworks were cancelled due to the weather. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport south wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 26th September to the 29th.. What can we say!! We were made to feel very welcome and relaxed, on arrival Steve helped us up with our bags very nice touch (thank you Steve). We were in room 7 twin room as it was myself and my mother it was very nice peaceful and comfortable and spotlessly clean.. Breakfast was all fresh hot and plentiful. the rates are very good and everything is on the door step and excellent parking. Thankyou so much both can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd999, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was lovely to see you both again, and look forward to your return soon, Vivien & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

i have stayed here on a few different occasions and each time the service has been outstanding, Very welcoming and friendly owners you instantly feel at home. I would Highly Recommend this hotel for both families and couples. I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd999, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks. Regards Vivien and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and every time has been an absolute pleasure. I cannot think of anything that has ever been missing from trips here and I have not stayed in another guest house that has such a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. As soon as I arrived, I was welcomed in and it has always felt like I have been coming home rather than beginning my holiday.

The location is absolutely fantastic, a 2 minute walk and you are at the sea and Saundersfoot is a beautiful little village right on the doorstep of The Lanterns.

The rooms are spacious and and always very clean with excellent bathrooms. It's always nice to be able to get back and turn on the TV, even when on holiday. The rooms tend to feel very open and I find I very quickly drift off to sleep, sometimes for a lot longer than I plan!

The parking facilities feel secure and there is plenty of space for cars which for me is a necessity.

Steve and Vivian are excellent hosts and will always do what they can to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. They are very knowledgeable on the area so they can advise you on what is worth visiting if you have a little extra free time. It always seems like I don't have enough time for everything and as soon as I leave I start planning another visit!

Overall, a trip to Wales would not be complete without a visit to Saundersfoot and a stay at The Lanterns!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have a better view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd999, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. It was lovely to see you again, and look forward to your return soon. Regards Steve and Vivien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lanterns Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanterns Guesthouse

Address: milford terrace, Saundersfoot sa699el, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanterns Guesthouse is situated in the centre of Saundersfoot village just 100yrds from the blue flag beaches,harbour, restaurants and bars. All rooms are en suite. WTB three star graded. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Lanterns Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanterns Guesthouse Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lanterns Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.