We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lanterns Guesthouse

The Lanterns Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lanterns Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Lanterns Guesthouse
milford terrace, Saundersfoot sa699el, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights from the 21st sept 2011. Two double rooms, our room was the family room at the front, our son and his girlfriend a front double in the attic. We had no trouble with noise from outside. Our room was large and spacious, the other a little on the compact side but adequate. Both rooms were clean but basic. Only a single bath towel each and no hand towel or hand soap. Our towels were not changed during our stay. We did have to ask for a hairdryer on arrival but it was explained that many went missing out of the rooms so I felt it fair. Limited coffee/teabags in the room but more were readily supplied on request. We felt the guest house could have done with 'airing' but were lucky enough to have an air freshener spray in our car which we used. On entering the breakfast room in the basement you are hit with the smell of cooking fats. The room's well lit but would benefit from a good ventilation system. It is part of the family home but poses no problem. Breakfast is adequate though I was disappointed at the quality of some of the food. Cheap tasteless sausages and a cheap margarine! Yuk! With just a little attention to detail this could be a really lovely guest house. Would we recommend this guest house to our friends? No. Would we return here? No!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buntyman, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
As a three star guest house and cheapest in the village, we are confused as to your description of our rooms being basic. You had a flat screen freeview tv, tea/coffee facilities, soap,large bath sheets and I appoligise for no hand towels, which should of been present. Iron and hair dryers are available on request as you are aware of. In keepingwith wtb guidelines, towels are changed every three days,unless otherwise requested.
We use Richmond sausages and I Cant believe its not butter spread. If you had expressed a dislike for these products, alternatives could have been supplied. Unfoutunately you expressed only satistfaction to us thoughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We spent the day at Folly Farm and decided to come and stay in Saundersfoot on a whim, one of the locals recommended The Lanterns, so we came up from the beach and were greeted by one of the very friendly owners. At the amazing price of £95 for a family room and breakfast, we took it right away. We were shown around the room and fell in love with it. The beds were very comfy and the room had tea and coffee facilities, and was equipped with a flat-screen tv with freeview. The en-suite was spacious and equipped with full toiletries, and the room was stylish and had a large bay window. Breakfast in the basement was very enjoyable, a selection of cereals, juices and a full english breakfast; very filling! The whole place is very homey and the owners are really friendly and full of stories! The parking came in very handy, and only about 5 mins walk to the beach. We'd definately reccomend it if you're around Saundersfoot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Even on arrival at The Lanterns from the word go we felt very very welcome, Steve, Viv and their two lovely sons made us feel very at home and answered any questions or queries we had about the area and what there was to see and do there.
The rooms were lovely, very very clean and beautifully decorated including the ensuite bathrooms too. The rooms were fully fitted with everything we needed for our stay.
The Breakfasts were delicous and served at just the right time in the morning too, Exactely what was needed before a busy day exploring such a beautifull area.
The Lanterns guest house Saundersfoot prooved to be the perfect place for us to stay during our visit to Saundersfoot, It's central location was ideal!
I know I will be returning to The Lanterns again and I know of alot of people who will be too..
I can not recommend this well run and very helpfull guest house any more, I really can't!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011 via mobile

had a wonderful few days break steve and vivian excellent hosts , the room was so comfortable and clean, the cooked breakfast was lovely but a bit small for me lol but im greedy ,2 minutes walk from the town ,there was no noise at all even with the bank holiday

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Great location 2 minutes from the beach, restaurants and pubs. Great breakfasts and the hosts really do go the extra mile on service. If you're going to Saundersfoot check out The Lanterns for excellent location, service, value and friendliness.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buntyman, Owner at The Lanterns Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for the review, it is lovely when someone takes the time to post after an enjoyable stay. It was lovely to see you again and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Lanterns is in a superb location close the beach. Excellent for travelling in the area. Steve and Vivien made the whole family so welcome and it felt like home from home. They are also very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. My family and I will definitely be visiting The Lanterns again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This bed and breakfast was lovely it was homely and welcoming. It is in an amazing stot in wales with everything you need around the corner (including a gorgeous beach). The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfy, the on suite bathroom was very nice to. The breakfast in the morning… Well I couldn’t resist it was delicious and lots of choice to. Overall a comfy welcoming experience and I would love to come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lanterns Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanterns Guesthouse

Address: milford terrace, Saundersfoot sa699el, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lanterns Guesthouse is situated in the centre of Saundersfoot village just 100yrds from the blue flag beaches,harbour, restaurants and bars. All rooms are en suite. WTB three star graded. Ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Lanterns Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanterns Guesthouse Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lanterns Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.