We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malin House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Malin House to your Saves list
Malin House
St Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I review based on expectations, and based on what I expected of Malin House and in this price range I am quite happy to give 5 Stars. If your going expecting a 5 Star Ritz hotel you won't get it, but if you want a reasonably priced, well run BB in a good location with spacious rooms, extremely family friendly and with some great 'extras' thrown in this is it.
We had a 4 night stay in a family suite which was very roomy - the kids had a room with twin beds, a dining area and a kitchenette (sink, fridge, microwave, kettle, implements, etc), we had an adjoining room with double bed and the bathroom. both had TV's and the beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean and light and not hot or stuffy. Just up the hill from town but its just as easy to jump in the car and there are countless great attractions within a few miles. Nice garden for the very young ones.
We used the pool a lot which isn't so small when you're in it, very warm, bath like! (could do with more ventilation in there, the Chlorine fumes were a bit strong for me, taking goggles next time). The hottub was also popular.
The hotel has plenty of lounge areas and car parking was never a problem as it goes around the building and then some, those with bigger vehicles may need to manoeuvre a bit. Breakfast was great, although seemed to curiously vary slightly in content daily, no matter all done to order and as requested. The girls serving were lovely and bright. Wifi is available but in a small area, the code is on the wall at reception.
If your the sort of family that likes to fill up on a good breakfast, make a quick cool bag picnic lunch to take (in your well equipped kitchenette!, buy stuff from Spa in town) and head off for a day of activity or beach, then come back and head out for a meal and a drink in the evening on foot this is the perfect base, yes it is a bit dated in few places and odd few things have maybe seen better days but nothing that detracts from the hotels fulfilling this function perfectly. Would stay again, absolutely.

My tip is go around to Amroth Beach (10-15 minutes), its not overcrowded, free car park in village, plenty of amenities, toilets by beach. Has boulder/pebble dunes with good stretch of sand to the sea, easy access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    33
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
70
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Myself and my husband really enjoyed our honeymoon last year at malin so we decided to go there again this year for our 1st wedding anniversary and wasn't disappointed. we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome from Jan and Chris, and was offered coffee as soon as we arrived.
myself and my husband would and have recommended the malin to friends as it is a great place with lovely people.....every evening we would sit in the conservatory and have drinks with both jan an chris and there daughter Lucy.......Lucy was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble such a lovely girl she melted my heart once again!!! we both cant wait to go back there as we wouldn't stay anywhere else, its like home from home. we enjoyed using the pool, the hot tub and relaxing in the lounges.
malin house is a lovely place, very quirky and very family orientated. it is a well run establishment and you can tell everyone works as a team.....at breakfast time the waitresses kayleigh and (cant remember the other girls name sorry) were both very attentive and nothing was to much. so overall a fantastic holiday, we will both be going back again very very soon .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Only stayed for one night but had a lovely time. The owners and son were very welcoming, pot of tea on arrival is a lovely touch. It is very quirky with lots of family photos and knickknacks in the lounges. It has great facilities with indoor pool, outdoor hot tub and lots of outdoor equipment for little ones. As they do not have a licence you are free to take your own drinks in the communal areas which makes for a friendly meeting place. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we have stayed many times just having bed and not breakfast but service is always good with offer of tea or coffee on arrival, the only thing is the walk up the hill after an evening out ha ha. its clean and value for money and pool is perfect if its too wet to go out. just beware the steps are slippery . Liz and Andy Preece

Room Tip: over looking garden on either 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

10 of us have just had a great little break here and will definitely be returning. From the welcome on arrival to the relaxed atmosphere it couldn't have been better. Staff were accommodating to our needs and very tolerating of all of our children - this is the perfect place to take them. The rooms were of a good size and well set up with everything we needed - the fridge and microwave was a definite added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I contacted Malin House from Abu Dhabi to enquire about their facilities as we were travelling with our 2 daughters and granddaughter. Sam couldn't have been more accommodating. Malin House do not take credit/debit card details via Internet, but Sam reserved the rooms for us on agreement that I phone them with payment details when we arrived in UK.
On arrival, the welcome was second to none, the rooms are clean,comfortable and well equipped. We were concerned that there could be noise at night (I am a light sleeper), but there was none of it.
Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked to order, and plentiful. The area is beautiful, and even the walk back up the hill after dinner wasn't so daunting with such lovely scenery around! Just wish we'd been able to stay longer to enjoy all the facilities on offer.
I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and would definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel situated up a steep hill, lovely friendly welcome with tea or coffee, they have an indoor pool and great gardens with sunbeds, tables and chairs etc, lots of outdoor toys for young children. Owners were lovely and made you feel at home.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Pool table and large conservatory, you were allowed to bring your own wine etc which was nice and had a fridge in our room, only had one wine glass but Chris was kind enough to find us another.
We never booked breakfast with our trip but had breakfast one day, food was ok but a bit on the small side, would go back and stay here, great value for money :)

Room Tip: Maybe not suitable if you have a disability because of the hill, but local taxi's are cheap and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin House

Address: St Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Malin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Saundersfoot
Malin House Saundersfoot, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.