We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Park Hotel to your Saves list
Heritage Park Hotel
Coed Cae Road | Trehafod, Pontypridd CF37 2NP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pontypridd
Pembrokeshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights due to the lack of other accommodation in the area. Car is a must if you need to travel around the area, although there are good train and bus routes, I did not find any to get me to this destination. First impression was - this looks good. Entrance was dark, but supposedly atmospheric. Reception staff were friendly. No lift, all rooms are up stairs - not disabled friendly. Corridors desperately in need of a fresh lick of paint. Room was Ok, cannot say it was over clean. Curtains not fitted properly, and when closed, room was still quite well lit. Bed was lumpy, pillows need replacing as they were flat and thin. Breakfast was Ok, juice was warm as it had been out for a while, nice selection of cereals, hot food selection in warming pans, resulting in stewed taste. Bar food - not a great variety, had the beer battered fish, chips and mushy peas. What a disappointment - the batter far outweighed the fish content, mushy peas were tinned, chips were OK. That meal put me off for eating there for the rest of my stay. Would only return if I had to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    44
    23
    11
See reviews for
29
54
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was nicely located, everything was clean and everyone was friendly. not much more you could ask for. Food very good value and plenty of it. wasnt left hungry.
Would stay here again and recommend to others visiting this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My daughters wedding reception was here last Saturday with 180 guests.
Could not fault the Food, the Service, the Staff or the Rooms.
The Bars were well stocked and more than enough staff to cope.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a Wedding Venue.
Very good value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is a real dump, in need of a complete refurb!. The corridors leading to the rooms are so scruffy and rough you just feel the place closing in on you. The room was very basic but clean enough to stay one night if you had no choice! Even the breakfast was stale luke warm after being left in mini banmarie's all morning. My advice would be to give this place a miss, We were glad to check out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my family in March 2013.... Firstly the hotel is reasonably good value at around £60 per night including breakfast, the staff are friendly especially the waiter who was attentive in the restaurant area... However, the place is extremely tired and needs some investment to bring it inline and attract more and repeat custom... Not sure when the hotel was built but the interior is dark maroon with dark furniture giving a dated feel... Although the room was fairly clean it was tatty and the bar toilets were pretty awful and needed replacing.... Food in the restaurant was not too bad but I ordered my starter which was described as North Atlantic scallops with pancetta on a bed of celeriac purée.. What I got was one scallop cut into three bits on a bed of mush with some soggy back bacon on top, one mouthful and it was gone!!
Bed was comfortable but not sure if we will be back unless the place has a scrub and refurb....

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed here occasionally for the last 10 years and I'm very sorry to say that I've watched this hotel go downhill.

It has a lot going for it - a nice restaurant, good bar area, small health club and swimming pool, friendly and helpful staff but it desperately needs overhauling.

The decor is very tired, the bedrooms are old-fashioned and in places it could do with a thorough cleaning.

On the positive side, it is very good value for money and the evening meal was excellent. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. There is free Wi-Fi in the bar area (and some of the bedrooms) and plenty of room to park. The swimming pool is nice and a good place to relax.

There isn't a lot of choice in this part of the world but they do need to smarten it up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel provided really good value for money - we had a triple room for £60 a night , with full breakfast. The room was clean, corridors a bit tired and the pool and jacuzzi provided a nice relaxation opportunity. Drinks were usual hotel prices. The staff at the hotel were really friendly and it was a perfect location for visiting the area, including the mining museum next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Park Hotel

Address: Coed Cae Road | Trehafod, Pontypridd CF37 2NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the beginning of the famous and beautiful Rhondda Fawr and Fach Valleys and only a few miles from the town centre of Pontypridd, our Hotel is an ideal base, whether it be Business or Pleasure we are centrally located. The local Train Station Trehafod will provide links to Cardiff and Swansea whilst by car we are only 20 minutes from The Brecon Beacons National Park. We offer all of our guests Free WIFI, Free Car parking and Free use of our Pulse Fitness Centre, with a Pool, Steam-room and Gym, Lounge Bar offering Beers, Wines & Spirits. The Loft Restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner or for a more casual meal try our "Home from Home" dishes in our Lounge Bar. Our Management team who, together with the staff, constantly strive to ensure that guests are made to feel comfortable during their visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Park Pontypridd
Heritage Park Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.