We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Heritage Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Park Hotel
Coed Cae Road | Trehafod, Pontypridd CF37 2NP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Pontypridd
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for work, had a twin room with plenty of space. Was dubious at first about the heating due to it being a small oil filled radiator heater, but had to turn it down as it soon got the room boiling.

Very clean hotel. I didn't use the onsite health spa. The breakfast was excellent, but you need to get down fairly early. Evening meals are a good deal, and can especially recomend the gammon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    37
    20
    9
See reviews for
26
46
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good points: Room was comfortable, warm and acceptably clean. Food was well priced and was as described in the menu. Good selection of drinks. Staff were very friendly and approachable.

Bad points: Bathroom could do with a deep clean and grouting attention. My bedroom had non-functioning lights above the bed. Limited selection of breakfast buffet items (eggs, bacon, tomatoes and beans is all there was available) some 40-mins before the buffet was due to end.

Summary - Good value 3 star hotel, well situated for business/pleasure in The Rhondda Valleys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us. I am glad you were happy with your room and food selection during your visit to the Loft Restaurant.
We do advertise that we serve a buffet breakfast which includes cereal, selection of juices, toast, fruits and hot breakfast which always has 6 hot choices available (with more that could be requested). However during busy periods of breakfast the buffet can go down quite fast and we do always try and make sure that this does not happen. We do not overfill the buffet as we want the food to remain as freshly cooked as possible. I can only apologise that you had to wait.
Thank you again for you comments and hope to see you visiting the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This Hotel is attractive and draws you to it as it did us.
We booked in for one night, dinner bed and breakfast.
First impression clean.
Dinner was very good, food was excelle
nt.
The room was clean, well furnished, no complaints,
Breakfast was self service with all you would want to eat.
So how did they do? they did very well but we like to talk to staff and this is our only observation ( not a complaint ), the staff were a little reserved, apart from the guy who booked us in who said enough that was needed to welcome us but we like to talk more than this, in the morning a staff member was catching up on paper work and when we walked in she never looked up to say good morning as we would have but it didnt spoil anything because we will go there again.

Room Tip: 201 has only a roof window.we changed tp 214.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for you comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received good service from all the staff here, as this is their main aim. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel on Valentine's Evening 2013. Having looked at local places to spend Valentines and finding the prices (as always for valentines) extortionate, I decided to think out of the box and remembered coming to the Heritage Park Hotel for a function back some 5/6 years ago and being thoroughly impressed.

Upon checking the website and finding they were offering a 3 course meal and overnight stay including breakfast and use of spa facilities for a mere £75 per couple (less than half the price most places were offering) I booked up straight away.

I hoped this hotel and restaurant still lived up to my good memories - suffice to stay it definitely did. After a friendly welcome at reception, we quickly checked into our room; which was clean, spacious and modern with ample tea/coffee etc.

The main attraction at this hotel is by far the restaurant, our food was absolutely exquisite; with my partner saying it was the best meal out he had ever had and we dine out most weekends.

Breakfast in the morning had plenty of choice, the food was hot and very tasty.

The reason I gave this four stars, was due to our disappointment that the sauna and steam room were out of order (something we had both been looking forward to enjoying). Sadly we found this out for ourselves after undressing into our bathing clothes and entering the pool area. The receptionist has to buzz you into the spa area and it would have been helpful if she had advised us that the facilities were out of order. Something I pointed out to the receptionist upon our departure.

There is no doubt we will be returning to the restaurant for a meal and at such affordable prices would be happy to stay at this 3 star hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 and were on the opposite side to the generator others have complained about so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I am so pleased that you attended our Valentines Evening this year, and took up our offer of an overnight stay as well! It was a success, and I am glad that you were able to be part of it. Our Head Chef, Alin, will definatley be pleased with your partners comment!
I can only apologise for the facilities in the Pulse Health and Leisure Club being out of use, due to a fault on the system which affected both the Sauna & Steam Room.
I am glad you will be returning to the Hotel again, especially our Loft Restaurant as both the Kitchen and Restaurant Team continuously strive to ensure all our Guests have an enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and was very pleased with the whole experience. Rooms were clean, comfy and well appointed with a decent shower. This isn't a 5* hotel but it doesn't advertise itself as one. Staff are friendly and helpful and rooms are great value. Breakfast was perfectly good and nicely set out in the conservatory.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I am very pleased to see that you had a great stay during your attendance of a wedding at the Hotel. It is very nice to hear such feedback and I shall pass you comments to the staff.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I BOOKED THIS ON A KGB DEAL AND READING SOME OF THE OTHER REVIEWS I WAS WONDERING WHAT WE WOULD GET .
We had room 106 what a lovely room a basic room but clean and warm. The bathroom a bit small but clean and water was hot and allamenities toiletries and hairdryer
The staff were lovely and couldnt do enough for you.
the spa and pool clean .
We had a 3 course meal and both myself and husband enjoyed it thouroughly could have had a little more choice but would recomend to dine here. would go back.
Its not in the centre of town but next to heratige center well worth a visit

Room Tip: room 106 ground floor near pool bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had chance to use all of the Hotels facilties, including the Pulse Health & Leisure Club and the Loft Restaurant.
I am pleased that you acknowledged that the staff strive to ensure that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.
We hope to welcome you back to stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, including a few long-term stays and I keep coming back. The hotel is located in Trehafod, between Porth and Pontypridd, ideal if you are visiting family or friends in the area, or traveling for business, but potential guests should understand it is not in the town center of Pontypridd.

The hotel is basic but stylishly decorated throughout, including clean and light rooms with modern interior. There is a basic exercise room and a decently sized swimming pool, bar and restaurant. I have only dined in the restaurant itself for breakfast, which was a buffet of the usual fry-up one can expect at hotels, nothing to complain about. I have however ordered room-service dinners on many occasions, and both the cheese and bacon beefburger with chips and the vegetarian fajitas are highly recommended, and worth coming back for alone!

The receptionists and night porters are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are decently priced and I can't think of anything to complain about. If you are visiting the area, it really is the best option. I have given the hotel 3/5 as I'm comparing to any other hotel, but in its class its definitely a 5/5.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you have continuously enjoyed your stays with us, in particular the food at our Loft Restaurant!
Our staff strive to ensure you are provided with excellent service and I will pass on your acknowledgements.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Park Hotel

Address: Coed Cae Road | Trehafod, Pontypridd CF37 2NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the beginning of the famous and beautiful Rhondda Fawr and Fach Valleys and only a few miles from the town centre of Pontypridd, our Hotel is an ideal base, whether it be Business or Pleasure we are centrally located. The local Train Station Trehafod will provide links to Cardiff and Swansea whilst by car we are only 20 minutes from The Brecon Beacons National Park. We offer all of our guests Free WIFI, Free Car parking and Free use of our Pulse Fitness Centre, with a Pool, Steam-room and Gym, Lounge Bar offering Beers, Wines & Spirits. The Loft Restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner or for a more casual meal try our "Home from Home" dishes in our Lounge Bar. Our Management team who, together with the staff, constantly strive to ensure that guests are made to feel comfortable during their visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Park Pontypridd
Heritage Park Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.