We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING AREA AND FANTASTIC FOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brynffynon Hotel

Brynffynon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pontypridd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brynffynon Hotel
Save
You added Brynffynon Hotel to your Saves list
Llanwynno, Pontypridd CF37 3PH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Pontypridd B&B and Inns
Porthcawl
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“STUNNING AREA AND FANTASTIC FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I first visited this pub more than 50 years ago with my girl friend who is now my Wife, as we have not lived in the area for 35 years we last visited 15 years ago until our visit yesterday 4-12-2012, the hotel though modernized still has the same rustic appeal for us and set in a natural woodland setting, the only two buildings for miles are the Hotel and Church. Both my Wife and I were very pleased with the Vegetarian selection and high quality of the food served, as mentioned the portions are very large and as we had payed for the two course option we did struggle with the desert, it might be better to order one meal and then see how full you are, we have re-booked for the 18th of this month and will do this, three things stopped me awarding an excellent rating was! It was very cold as the fires were not alight even though the restaurant was half full, we had to put our coats back on, and the waitress did not serve the french fries that were ordered, the house red wine was served very chilled! so these points should be addressed if the owners read this review, the bill for four was a very reasonable £48.00 for four two course meals and drinks, I would have no hesitation of recommending this hotel as a great place to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is somewhere to relax after taking a walk in the beautiful countryside surrounding this pub and restaurant. A warm welcome and log fires will encourage you to have another beer in this CAMRA pub with always a good selection of cask ales well served.
The lunches and evening meals are of good quality, and portions are quite big !!
TIP.... a ham salad roll and a bowl of chips (hand cut) is enough for both me and my partner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family and i live in Porth and decided to walk through the forestry and call in for some well earned drinks and a meal (there were six of us in all) it's not very often we can enjoy a day off together as we all work, etc so we were really looking forward to it. We checked opening times on the pubs official website before setting off and arrived at 1.30pm to find the doors locked and curtains drawn! (the pub is supposed to open at midday!) There was somebody at home as there were lights on upstairs and a car was parked at the rear, but they ignored our phone calls and knocks on the door . . .

After sitting for a few minutes to get our breath back on the decked area to the side of the pub (which was covered in empty glasses, wine coolers, etc) we headed back home - hungry and thirsty!

If the opening hours have changed, please, PLEASE up-date your website - or get rid of it!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynffynonLlanwonno, Owner at Brynffynon Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We are very sorry for this, we have now updated our website with the new opening times and the people living upstairs are renting the accommodation and have no access to the telephone to answer it I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We frequently find ourselves here..during the week for a quiet pint..or on Sunday, for lunch...or rambling for a ham salad roll and numerous pints..or a family occassion..or for the beer and cider fesitival....or 'Open Mic Night'.. 'it ticks all boxes at all times. You have to drive, or cycle or walk..it is off the beaten track..you can have rooms there too ( we have not stayed as we live close ). The food is always excellent, portions very generous..all the staff are warm, welcoming, cheerful and chatty..as are the locals. Kids ,dogs, dirty boots all welcome...real ale, cider...there's even a piano and guitar handy for impromptu ..sing songs. We love it, never disappointed...a treasure to the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have been to the Brynffynon on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed, the food is cooked to perfection with lots of it, really large portions. I recently took 14 members of my family for Mothers Day lunch this turned out to be the best Sunday lunch we have ever tried, their gooseberry crumble is to die for!! and the service is second to none

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Brynffynon Hotel is a beautiful building in a truly stunning setting, next to St. Gwynno's Church in Llanwonno and over looking the Cynon Valley. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was fantastic and the beer was excellent. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable with magnificent views. My family and I were in Wales for my grandparents' diamond wedding anniversary and our stay at the Brynffynon helped to make a wonderful weekend just that little bit more special. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Called in for a meal here a few months ago and really enjoyed it. Had to go to pontypridd again a couple of day`s ago, and decided to try this Hotel again, as we enjoyed our previous meal, and we were not disappointed. We had home made soup, salmon, and gammon steak, all cooked to perfection. We will definately be back for more when were next in pontypridd.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brynffynon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynffynon Hotel

Address: Llanwynno, Pontypridd CF37 3PH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pontypridd
Also Known As:
Brynffynon Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brynffynon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.