We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bunch of Grapes

The Bunch of Grapes
Ynysangharad Road | CF37 4DA, Pontypridd, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bunch of Grapes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 72 Restaurants in Pontypridd
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Bunch of Grapes at Ynysangharad Road Pontypridd backs onto one of the last few remnants of the Glamorganshire Canal which was constructed in 1792. Built circa 1800 to satisfy the thirst of the hot forge masters who were making all the heavy anchor chains for the British Navy and all the passing canal workers on their way with to Cardiff with full loads of Coal and Iron Ore, business was brisk with male dominated ale consumption. This trend continued to well into the mid 1900's. It is rumoured that when Isombard Kingdom Brunel came to visit the Chainworks he was so impressed with what he saw and on securing the deal to supply him he celebrated with an ale in the Bunch of Grapes. Now tastefully and sympathetically refurbished the Bunch of Grapes offers a warm relaxed atmosphere both in the public bar and the restaurant where the emphasis is on quality, locally sourced foods, ales and ciders. The Bunch of Grapes at Ynysangharad Road Pontypridd backs onto one of the last few remnants of the Glamorganshire Canal which was constructed in 1792. Built circa 1800 to satisfy the thirst of the hot forge masters who were making all the heavy anchor chains for the British Navy and all the passing canal workers on their way with to Cardiff with full loads of Coal and Iron Ore, business was brisk with male dominated ale consumption. This trend continued to well into the mid 1900's. It is rumoured that when Isombard Kingdom Brunel came to visit the Chainworks he was so impressed with what he saw and on securing the deal to supply him he celebrated with an ale in the Bunch of Grapes. Now tastefully and sympathetically refurbished the Bunch of Grapes offers a warm relaxed atmosphere both in the public bar and the restaurant where the emphasis is on quality, locally sourced foods, ales and ciders. The Bunch of Grapes at Ynysangharad Road Pontypridd backs onto one of the last few remnants of the Glamorganshire Canal which was constructed in 1792. Built circa 1800 to satisfy the thirst of the hot forge masters who were making all the heavy anchor chains for the British Navy and all the passing canal workers on their way with to Cardiff with full loads of Coal and Iron Ore, business was brisk with male dominated ale consumption. This trend continued to well into the mid 1900's. It is rumoured that when Isombard Kingdom Brunel came to visit the Chainworks he was so impressed with what he saw and on securing the deal to supply him he celebrated with an ale in the Bunch of Grapes. Now tastefully and sympathetically refurbished the Bunch of Grapes offers a warm relaxed atmosphere both in the public bar and the restaurant where the emphasis is on quality, locally sourced foods, ales and ciders. Built circa 1800, locally sourced food, ales and beers. Public abr and restaurant. Family friendly.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Used to be so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This place could be great if it had a few more waiting staff. I can't relax and enjoy a meal when the sole waitress is rushed off her feet. Food was ok but wasn't garnished very well and the sticky toffee pud was not sticky! I am banning myself until things hopefully improve.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    74
    36
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great ales, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Love this place...ale drinking is superb and I loved the flight of ales they offer. Food is always amazing there - including oysters, one of my faves!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Excellent service and the food is faultless and absolutely amazing.
A gastronomic experience definately worth trying

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, Gwent
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good Food service lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visited for my birthday last weekend , a group of eight , with a couple of fussy eaters. The menu was supplemented by a specials board where it was difficult to make out the starters from the main courses. We had drinks in the bar first where the non drivers sampled the Otley brewery range of beers , which went down a treat throughout the evening. I chose the mussels in cider which were tasty but a bit flabby and the rabbit, which was very dry, lots of meat with too little sauce. My husband chose the fillet steak from the specials board but was given plain steak and chips from the full menu. Probably because three other people had ordered the same. He decided not to send it back as he would have been waiting for his food after everyone else had started .The cost of his dessert was refunded as recompense. The puddings were delightful and at no time were we rushed, in act we were the last to leave after having coffee and a night cap at 11.45.
They do have a problem with service and tend to let the customer "just get on with it". We weren't told our table was ready, we were not talked through the specials, we were not offered coffee. However, the staff were not rude. The bill worked out at roughly £30 per head including a bottle of wine costing £37 (beers were not added to the bill)
The restaurant has a nice atmostphere and makes a change from the usual valley's style pubs that pile as much on your plate as they can. A nice evening out with friends without having to travel into Cardiff or up to Abergavenny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very Poor Quality Of Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were invited here as part of a group of 9 people for a birthday party, about Christmas time. We had heard that it was a good place to eat. Were given menu options beforehand, with a choice of eating from an open menu with some unusual foods (I thought I would try the rabbit) or from the very good Christmas menu (my wife went for this option). You had to ring your order through a few days before arriving. Starters £3 - £6.50, mains £13 - £26, desserts about £5. Bottle of wine £15 - stupidly expensive

When we arrived the small car park was full so we had to park on the road about 100 yards away. The resteraunt was very busy with at least 1 large party and several other smaller parties. We ordered some drinks in the bar (several interesting real ales available) and we were ushered through to our table shortly after.

Our party consisted of 4 couples and 1 child. When we arrived at our table we only had 8 places. The organiser told the waitress that she had made several phone calls to ensure our booking was correct and give orders etc. However the waitress strongly, and rather rudely, disputed this. After some unnecesarry arguing another chair was brought and place set at the table for the child.

After this initial exchange the level of service plumetted and although our food was quite good (I enjoyed my first taste of rabbit), nobody came to ask if our food was ok or if we needed any thing else. Those who ordered from the Christmas menu were meant to have coffees as part of their menu but these were never offered nor brought.

There were just 2 waitresses on duty when we visited, no where near enough to service the number of tables and diners. They were stressed, rushed and lacked interaction with our needs. At any resteraunt I expect the price of the meal to reflect not just the quality of food but also the quality of service.

The Bunch of Grapes fell woefully short of the service that should have been available for the prices of their meals. Although the food was good, the overall experience ruined what should have been a celebration. A memorable evening for all the wrong reasons.

In the interests of fairness, the organiser from our party did contact the Bunch of Grapes to complain and was offered a free meal for two to compensate. They have not yet been for this so I cannot comment if there has been any improvement.

I would never recommend this resteraunt to anybody. It is expensive and so would expect a level of service they appear not able to deliver.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bunch of Grapes also viewed

Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 

Been to The Bunch of Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bunch of Grapes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.