We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blueberry restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blueberry Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blueberry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blueberry Hotel
6-8 Market Street, Pontypridd CF372ST, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Pontypridd
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Blueberry restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I used to eat he regularly about 2 years and more ago and took a special friend tonight with the expectation of a great menu and good food. I was very disappointed to find 3 flat screen TVs in the restaurant and loud music. The menu has also changed from a pretty good menu to burgers and pizzas other upmarket fast food. Nothing wrong with that, just not what I wanted or was expecting. Also, no waitress service any more :-(. Ended up with ham, egg and chips - nothing wrong with that, either, but just not anything approaching gourmet. I probably won't be back even though they do still make the best chips in the area....

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
26
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pontypridd
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

nice place to go for food now menu as altoured went on sper of moment will go again i had food on tuesday i will try it on weekend to see if food is still good if going you must try the staeks with pepper sauce caesar salad and my wife had spaghetti carbonara

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is by far the best thing about Pontypridd !!! staff so friendly and accommodating. They defo do not have enought staff and at times the staff looked under pressure, a bit faulty towers the person who checks you in will also serve you at the bar and bring room service. Decor is funky and modern and the food was great both times I had dinner in the hotel. We had room 5 and I didnt sleep for the three nights, the windows are pretty old fashioned so nothing to block the street noise. I didnt mind as we were out late most nights but if you want a tranquil escape request a room at the back of the hotel. Most of the information in the booklet in the room was incorrect as you cant get room service at any time, has to be when food is served in the bar and no complimentary welsh cakes or water in the fridge as stated. All in all the little details didnt matter as the staff made up for the small faults. If I'm ever back will defo stay again just not in room 5 and will bring my sleeping tablets .......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the white rooms on the top floor, room nice bed very comfy, bed linen had holes in it but clean.
If you expect to sleep then go somewhere else as the noise from the night club(Lounge) and in the street until 3am in morning is very load, even with earplugs on most weekend nights, they are also digging the road up outside that starts at 8am.
Breakfast on 1st morning- no Tomatoes, then no bacon, then chef having trouble with poached eggs, so we forgo breakfast that morning, much better day 2.
We will never, never stay in a Boutique Hotel ever again, the decor in reception/lounge/bar/restaurant area like a designer with a migraine, a complete mix of different countries and eras.
The outside of the property had not been decorated for at least 20 years.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were going to an Olympic Games event at Cardiff Millennium Stadium, but the availability and especially price of city hotels was budget blowing. So we chose to stay outside the city and travel in by train- the valleys are well served. Blueberry Hotel in Pontypridd was a real find. At 69GBP plus 14GBP for breakfast for two it was less than half waht we would have paid in the city. It's a funky decorated bar-Italianish restaurant in the town centre with rooms above, and our room was suprisingly well appointed, lovely bathroom and most comfortable bed. Definitely exceeded expectations. Almost the only comment I would make about the room is that the information folder was quite dog-eared and thin on detail- it sort of let the room down, strangely.

It was a room over the street and there was quite a bit of late night chatter and noise until well after midnight. It seems that he first floor of Blueberry is a Night Club but it is only open on Fridays and Saturdays so that wasn't an issue for us. However, noisy street cleaning at 6.45am was a rude awakening.

The biggest issue was finding the hotel. It's in a pedestrianised street, currently being relaid with paving (Aug 2012) and so we had to abandon the car in a public parking area and find it on foot. The hotel will arrange overnight parking behind another club/restaurant but that wasn't too easy to find either! It's about a 5 minute walk to the train station so that bit was really useful to get into Cardiff for a big match.

All in all, good value for money, very comfortable, and friendly staff. Pontypridd doesn't seem a place to linger long in, but it served our purpose well.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room at the back or side, rather than over the street. YOu may want to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have not stayed as guests in the hotel but we regularly eat there as the food is excellent - in fact their steaks are by far the best in the Pontypridd area. The staff are friendly and professional, the menu offers a range of options, is reasonably priced and well presented. We would have no hesitation in recommending Blueberry's to anyone looking for a good meal in Pontypridd.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business and have already made sure it is on the gold starred list of hotels we will regularly use in our company. I stayed in the twin room which disappointed me when I had to book it but on arrival, all my fears were proven extremely wrong. The room was fantastic. The twin beds were 3/4 beds (so almost a double) and so unbelievably comfortable. The food in the restaurant was absolutely perfect and breakfast was not only speedy, but nothing was too much trouble and I agree with the reviewer who said it was clear the staff enjoy their jobs. They made us very welcome without being intrusive - a VERY important balance! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blueberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Hotel

Address: 6-8 Market Street, Pontypridd CF372ST, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blueberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blueberry Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blueberry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.