We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Mill
Save
You added Old Mill to your Saves list
The Old Mill | Craigforth, Stirling Fk9 4uh, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 58 Stirling B&B and Inns
Hopedale, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Return Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have only been to Scotland twice and both times stayed at The Old Mill. We traveled with 2 other couples and had a great tiime. The views, surrounding and grounds are beautiful. So much history close by. The accommodations are warm, clean and inviting. The gourmet food is top notch. The caretakers are wonderful and offer great suggestions for things to do if you ask. Highly recommended…

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I traveled with friends to Scotland for the first time and are so grateful we stayed at the Old Mill. Trisha and Bryan are the quintessential hosts. We were treated to five star meals, engaging stories and they welcomed us like family. Our lovely room had a spectacular view of Stirling castle. The house is warm, peaceful and full of old world charm. The location of the Mill is perfect to visit Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling and several historic sites including the Wallace Monument, however at the end of the day we found ourselves just wanting to come back to the Mill! It is truly a very special place. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We just completed our third visit to the Old Mill and plan to return as often as we can. The location is perfect, an easy journey from Edinburgh or Glasgow airports. The views are sublime: the Wallace monument in one direction and Stirling castle in the other, with hills and fields that are simply breathtaking. The caretakers offerered wonderful suggestions for outings and prepared top-notch gourmet meals. We don't fish, but we have seen some of the amazing catches from this spot on the river Forth....a must for anyone who does fish! I cannot say enough about The Old Mill and it's owners, Tricia and Bryan. The place is absolutely gorgeous. Don't think twice about booking your Scottish country holiday here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

So easily accessed from the motorway but once there, and that is in a matter of minutes, it is so quiet and peaceful. The rooms are of a very good standard, being spacious comfortable and well equipped. However what is outstanding is the welcome and the food. We chose to dine in on both evenings of our stay and were provided with imaginative meals beautifully presented. Although not the purpose of this visit as a fisherman the access to the Forth and Teith would be an obvious bonus. Thanks to Tricia and Brian. We will be back to this home from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After driving 400 miles, I was so relieved that this lovely B&B was so easy to find. It's located right by the river with lovely views, well worth a walk along the river. Patricia and her family really make you feel welcome in their home and really look after you. I had the en suit room and it was clean, comfortable, quiet and spacious. Breakfast was amazing, perfect start to the day. Very good place to stay if you want to travel as it's close the amazing Loch Lomond & The Trossachs.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay Patricia, I hope to come back soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for two days there, and it was wonderful.... the owner, patricia, is a great and so kind women .Rooms are beautiful and clean. Breakfast delicious. A quiet place. We loved it, we warmly recommend to try it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Old Mill, was beautiful, the owner went out of her way to make us feel at home! She was extremely helpful before and during our trip! I can't wait to go back! Thanks for the wonderful stay! The rooms were immaculate, breakfast yummy and the endless patience of the owner, particularly with my toddler who was running round causing havoc everywhere!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill

Address: The Old Mill | Craigforth, Stirling Fk9 4uh, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted Old mill built in1697 a unique property. One en- suite room other two rooms share a large bathroom with bath and walk in shower, their is also a sauna in this bathroom. Breakfast is served in morning room and dinner is available on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mill Stirling, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.