We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlecroft

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlecroft
Ballengeich Rd., Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Stirling
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

With all of the positive comments already made it is hard to write a review. We stayed for four nights and Laura made our stay a very pleasant one. We were given a lot of local information - where to eat, quickest way into town, local attractions etc, and this information was invaluable. I wish we could have stayed longer, but Laura was already booked, so we had to make do with four nights. If and when we are in the area again I will be on the phone to Laura to ask if she has my vacancies. Thank you for everything :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
232
23
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Agree with all the positive comments by other reviewers. Our highlight was a picnic dinner of cheeses, crackers, dips etc + a bottle of wine from the Sainsbury's around the corner (ask Laura for directions) eaten on the deck in the lovely Scottish sunshine. Laura provided plates, knives etc and refused to let us wash our dishes after the meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely time at Castlecroft. Our whole family were over for a family wedding in Callander so we occupied all five bedrooms and had sole use of the large lounge/patio area. Laura and her mum made us so welcome and nothing was too much bother for them. The beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms were well stocked with coffee, a large variety of teas, biscuits, chocolates, bottled water, towels, toiletries, tissues - Laura has thought of everything. The breakfast was amazing with a large selection of cereals, fruit salad, yogurts, juices and a cooked breakfast made to order. The poached eggs were very popular with our family and granny loved the porridge and prunes! It's the sort of place you would want to have time to relax in and enjoy the view and gardens and to take the 10 min walk to the castle or town. We had our evening meal at the nearby River House Restaurant which was excellent. Laura had beautiful arrangements of fresh flowers in the hall and lounge. The lilies became a talking point but I'll not go into that. I hope I have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: If you are a couple opt for one of the downstairs rooms with the patio opening onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in one of the rooms on the top floor. It was very homely, comfortable and warm. Laura was fantastic at making us feel at home. The breakfast was the cherry on the cake :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent four nights at Castlecroft at the beginning of July with friends from Florida. Laura gave us a very warm welcome and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. It was just like being at home. The location was amazing, only a 10 minute walk from Stirling Castle. Laura ensured that we had clean towels every day, the beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were very clean. Breakfast was amazing and we could have as much as we wanted. If we could give Laura 10 out of 10 we certainly would. We stayed in five B & B's during our recent holiday and Castlecroft was by far the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Castlecroft B&B on the night of July 28th. We were greeted by Laura and her Mum with a very warm welcome. We were in room 6, which had a patio door that opened onto a beautiful patio. It felt like our very own oasis. The reviews say the B&B is near the castle and they weren't kidding! You only need to look up and you can see the castle! There is a foot path along the back of the castle right from the back of the B&B which is only a 10 minute walk into town. Laura was so helpful with directions and suggestions. Our room was beautiful and clean. It appears to have been newly redecorated with all modern amenities. Laura did not leave a thing untended. Breakfast was excellent, made to order, hot and fresh. If you go away hungry that's your fault. I wish we could have stayed longer, next time we will stay a few more nights. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us Laura!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent three nights here out of 12 during our UK honeymoon. This was our favorite of six different venues. The location, the view, the rooms, the service were superior. I am thankful that the owner shares the wonderful gift that is this home with the rest of the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Address: Ballengeich Rd., Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stirling
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stirling
#1 Family Hotel in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlecroft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castlecroft to your Saves list