We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlecroft

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlecroft
Save
You added Castlecroft to your Saves list
Ballengeich Rd., Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Stirling
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

A wonderful welcome from Laura, who was very informative about the area and local restaurants. Bedroom was clean and light and there was a superb breakfast in the morning, we have already booked a return trip, this time a little longer stay

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    33
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
263
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

As the title says, this was the best B & B I have stayed in and expect to return. The welcome from Laura and her mother was lovely and we had loads of chats over our four-night stay. Laura also brought us tea and biscuits to our room as we probably looked tired after our journey. There is a tray in the bedroom with tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water that was replenished each day. The bedroom was really well furnished and the en-suite, and indeed the whole property, was clean, bright and airy. There is a large, comfortable visitors' lounge with splendid views. Our bedroom was in an annex, near to the breakfast room and there is a patio with tubs of flowers and a table and chairs. There is a separate door to the annex that visitors can use if they wish or the front door. Location was excellent and we had quite a number of walks below the castle and to and from the town centre, rather than taking the car all the time. The breakfasts were excellent - fresh fruit salad was our choice although there was the usual range of cereals and yoghurts, followed by a really well-cooked and delicious cooked breakfast (the bacon done crisply to our taste was particularly good) and toast and tea or coffee (the bread was home-baked, by the way). All in all, we loved it! There was also a computer that guests could use, which I found handy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Very comfortable a short walk from town centre via a peaceful bush walk. Warm hospitality with beautiful breakfast. All facilities one would require.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We highly recommend Castlecroft. Its location, right under Stirling Castle and on the back walk along the hillside to town, is ideal. Laura is a charming and attentive hostess who bakes her own bread for breakfast and offers a variety of breakfast options -- all delicious. The rooms are comfortable with the little touches that make a B&B experience memorable. There is a large sitting room for guests with wonderful views on two sides, comfortable chairs, and a variety of guide books and information for touring. We stayed 3 nights and found Stirling (with Laura's help and suggestions) to be an excellent base for exploring the region. Laura's recommendations for dinner were all excellent. The 10-minute walk to town or up to the castle can be a bit steep in places, but the views from the path are worth the effort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This B&B was as good as the best we stayed in on a month long trip. Our hostess, Laura was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very modern and well furnished. The breakfast was excellent. With a location only a 10 minute walk from Stirling Castle it is very convenient. One of the other advantages is a very nice sitting room with fabulous views in two directions. It is a B&B we can recommend very strongly.

Room Tip: The ground floor is convenient to bring in bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed at Castlecroft five nights in May. Laura and her mother are the two finest hosts we have ever encountered. Wife is walking hadicapped,-Laura did all she could to help. A great welcoming. Wonderful room downstairs with a large patio leading to parking lot. Room was large, cheerful, and immaculate. Laura provided us with goodies every day, much more goodies than we have ever experienced, even bottles of water.
Michael, her assistant cleaned out room and bath spotlessly daily. Her breakfast was fantastic. Castlecroft is located at the base of Stirling Castle,-could be walked to by many. Perfect location for sightseeing in all directions.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have patio and lead to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Well I was there for around 4-5 days and I found the atmosphere quite welcoming.
the Place is spacious, neat and clean.

enjoyed my stay there and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Address: Ballengeich Rd., Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stirling
#1 Family Hotel in Stirling
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlecroft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.